We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad with exceptional staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
Ranked #118 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights mid-December and loved the atmosphere, our room, and all the staff at Riad La Porte Rouge.

We had a different breakfast included every morning packed full of choice of which we had the choice of eating on the roof terrace, in the lounge or wherever we chose. The staff were lovely and very helpful, where the owner Karen gave us a thorough tour through the map of Marrakech and ideas of what to do on our arrival. She even gave us a lift one night to a restaurant free of charge on her way home to save us a taxi!

The food at the hotel was delicious, however most nights we did stay in the main square, about a 15min walk from the Riad, to eat from the night market food stalls as we were on a bit of a budget. Marrakech itself was interesting and the souks lovely to get lost in.

If we visit marrakech again we will definitely reconsider this riad again- the price was very reasonable for what we got and the atmosphere a perfect setting for Moroccan culture and cuisine. It was also lovely and peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of the streets so we felt very safe and secure here. Definitely recommending to friends!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RebekkahUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Riad la porte rouge is a beautifully presented riad based ten minutes walk from the main square. Karen and her staff made us feel instantly welcome and share some excellent advice to get the best ot of the city. They also went out of their way to help us when one of our trips was cancelled. The breakfasts were delicious and there is a beautiful terrace to take them on. I would certainly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyenvacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you very much for your so kind review

I wish you a merry christmas

warm greetings

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I enjoyed our stay at this Riad very much. The staff was kind, attentive, helpful and multi-lingual. We arrived late at night and they still made food for us and took the time to introduce us to what they had to offer. The staff made every effort to make sure we had a good time. They were able to answer many questions we had about excursions, and went out of their way to ensure that we were satisfied.
Our room was lovely, and on the top floor where there is also a jacuzzi. Our room was clean and quiet, being next to the 'little mosque' was just fine even with the call to prayer.
The Riad is away from the center, but frankly I was glad to have a respite and also be able to have a look at a different kind of neighborhood in the city. We like walking very much though, and travelers with less freedom might find this to be a drawback. Another note on that point: the Riad did not have an elevator but it did have a room on it's first floor.
I'd stay again, if I returned to Marrakech, and I would recommend this place to friends and family. I only wish that when we'd asked specifically for walking directions from the train station, they'd accommodated us rather than warning us off because of the distance. We did walk (yes I knew it would be several kms), we then had a little trouble finding the place - locals were kind enough to help.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primerstar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This seems to be the only Riad out in the south east of the Madina. If you don't mind a 10/15 minute walk into the market and square (or forking out for a taxi each time), then it is a GREAT place to stay. We walked in quite a few times, coming back at 10pm or so, and never had any problems - although negotiating the traffic on a small street with no sidewalks is an interesting challenge! The Riad itself is delightful - comfortable, great character, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crods01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech, and staying at Riad La Porte Rouge (we stayed for 7 nights) has made this one of our most favourite and memorable holidays...
This is all thanks to Karen, Adil, Saeed, Mustafa, Karima, Malika, and Max the Riad's cat!

As soon as we stepped inside, we received a friendly welcome, along with Moroccan tea and pastries. We were so impressed by the stunning furnishings, complimented throughout with warm, rich colours. Our room on the first floor was quiet, private and spacious.

The breakfast each morning is delicious and different everyday. The menu has a great selection of Moroccan dishes, even their couscous is homemade at the Riad. The meals we had were tasty and plentiful, and hard to resist! We loved spending time relaxing on the rooftop terrace or on one of the comfy lounges in the courtyard, sipping a cocktail.

Karen is absolutely wonderful, and she arranged for us to join a group day tour to Ourika Valley, which was a great experience (we recommend to book the excursions at the Riad). I also had a body massage (I booked it one day before), which was so relaxing after a day at the souks.
The staff are true stars!! They are so genuine, professional and friendly. We enjoyed chatting with all of them, and nothing was too much to ask. On our last night, Mustafa even arranged a delicious surprise meal, requested by my partner - best tagine ever!

We highly recommend Riad La Porte Rouge to anyone visiting Marrakech. We felt at home instantly and our expectations were exceeded in every way... words cannot describe!

We really enjoyed our time, and would love to visit again.

Jayne & Niro,
London UK

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneEarleMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent seven nights here and are already planning a trip back! That is how charming this Riad is. In summary:

- Very friendly staff who are always on hand to help, whether it is to provide a drink or explain the excursions available.

- Extremely clean.

- Large comfortable air conditioned rooms.

- Large comfortable bed.

- Stunning dinners! We recommend the beef tagine (the best food we had all week by far). We felt the meals and drinks were also very good value.

- Fab breakfasts. They varied slightly each day, including pancakes, crepe, cake, custard, fruit. Plus each day you have bread, preserves, juice etc.

- Lots of seating on the terrace and inside, for sunbathing or relaxing in the shade. There is also a hot tub and massages are available.

- And there is the resident cat, Max! Ensure you keep a little of the beef for him!

Porte Rouge is away from all the hustle and bustle of the main square and souks. For us, this was a very good thing. It's about 10 minutes to a small square (where Kosybar is conveniently located) and another 10 minutes up to the souks. We went everywhere on foot, but we would recommend getting taxis for those who don't like having to avoid mopeds and cyclists.

We highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v28kab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This place is the perfect place to stay if you are thinking about a trip to Marrakech. My boyfriend and I stayed here 5 nights and fell in love with it. The decor is beautiful and the staff are absolutely amazing. They are unbelievably helpful and on the second day in Marrakech my boyfriend proposed. The staff put together a lovely tray with rose petals, olives and wine and made the night even more incredible. Karen, Saeed, Mustafa and the girls (and not forgetting Max the cat) always went the extra mile and we HIGHLY recommend that you stay at this beautiful Riad.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I'm so glad that you keep a good memory of our Riad , you were so romantic ....

I hope your boyfriend gets better.

karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#85 of 500 in Marrakech
706 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#44 of 500 in Marrakech
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#169 of 500 in Marrakech
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#150 of 500 in Marrakech
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#117 of 500 in Marrakech
322 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#40 of 500 in Marrakech
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £39 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing