We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Moroccan experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
Ranked #119 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My boyfriend and I were very impressed with this beautiful riad. Upon arrival, we were given refreshing mint tea and mini cakes and there were fresh oranges waiting for us in our room and rose petals scattered everywhere! The riad is tucked away in a quiet spot, but be aware that it is very close to a mosque so you may be woken rather early by the call to prayer. We did not find this to be a problem at all and enjoyed hearing it. My only very small gripes about the room are that, firstly, we did not get fresh towels every day and as it wasn’t very warm they were damp for most of our stay. Secondly, we were on the ground floor, right off the courtyard, which did mean there was a bit of noise from other guests and we felt that we could perhaps be overheard in the bathroom, but this is to be expected when staying in a traditional riad!

We found the staff to be incredibly helpful, friendly and always available. They organised our transfers for us, which ran like clockwork. We had bed and breakfast, which was served whenever and wherever we asked for it. It was different every day and truly delicious. You are able to eat in the dining room/lounge, in the central courtyard or up on the roof terrace, which is a lovely suntrap. We ate one evening meal in the riad, which was all homemade and authentic Moroccan cuisine.

The only possible downside of Riad la Porte Rouge is the location. It is a little way from the central medina and this does mean a bit of a walk. There are basically no pavements and you walk past numerous stall holders who will hassle to try and sell you things and I did find this a little bothersome. Also, the temperature during our visit was just about perfect, but I can imagine that this walk would not be enjoyable in the height of summer.

Overall, I would recommend Riad la Porte Rouge to anyway who would like to stay somewhere traditionally Moroccan, with wonderful staff and delicious breakfasts!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms may be a little quieter than those on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pebbles_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we keep a very worm and friendly of your stay among us, your interest in Marrakech medina and Morocco too, we considered your critical for towels, I ensure for you sir that our housemaid change it everyday .we feel happy that you enjoyed your stay in Marrakech and we thank you for having appreciated all our reactivity, we did to you as we truly were concerned by this situation and your comfort.

Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was the first stay for my friend and I in Marrakesh. The staff were all wonderful and helped us find a guide, arranged massages and cooked us wonderful meals. The rooms were beautiful with a lot of special touches we didn't find in other riads--happy hour and hair dryers! I enjoyed La Porte Rouge immensely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in Marrakech for 6 Nights and spent the last three nights in this Riad (because it was fully booked for all nights). It's a treasure- beautifully decorated, quiet and perfect to relax after a busy day on the Djemaa el Fna and in the Souks. The staff is so friendly and gives you a feeling of being "home". If you like you can also order dinner. They cook it by themselves with all fresh ingredients. The rooms are just like 1001 nights- all oriental with a good eye for details. Also loved the breakfast on the top roof terrace with fresh homemade cake which they serve whenever you like. So if you want to sleep in you don't need to hurry to a breakfast buffet. They even have a jaccuzzi on the terrace! We totally recommend this Riad and will come back!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

In the crazy busy city of Marrakech, Riad La Porte Rouge is a breath of fresh air as soon as you walk in the doors. We only stayed here one night but were overall very satisfied with the riad. The staff was extremely helpful in helping us arrange taxis, finding a nice hammam, and providing other useful information. If you are considering ordering the dinner here definitely go for it...delicious! The only downside was our bathroom didnt have hot water for very long, but it was a big deal for us and I wouldn't let it deter you from considering this riad.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I have just had the fantastic experience of staying at the Riad La Porte Rouge for 7 nights. From the very outset of making the booking, Karen, the Riad's owner was just superb. Due to the length of our stay we had complementary airport transfers all taken care of by the Riad.
Upon arrival we were made to feel most welcome with mint tea and a selection of sweet Moroccan pastries as well as an informative introduction to Marrakech by Karen who gave us a very good account of where to go and the places to see complete with Map.
Our room, whilst small was great and the décor was very authentic. On day two we were given a complementary room upgrade due to some early morning check in's and check out's that disturbed us but only slightly. It was obvious that Karen wanted to ensure we were made most welcome.
The rooms are all decorated in a very Moroccan way and none of the rooms will disappoint.
Breakfast was very good and each morning the breakfast changed slightly and there was ample on offer to set you up for the day.
The open top sun balcony offered a relaxing area that we took full advantage off and comes complete with a Jacuzzi that is just what the doctor ordered after a day traipsing around the city.
The ambiance of the Riad is one that puts you at ease a long with the smell of amber wafting through the premises.
In my opinion you can not go wrong with this Riad and it is clear that Karen and her staff put an awful lot of effort into ensuring your time is enjoyed.
The location in my opinion was ideal but I appreciate it will not be to all. The Riad is located at the south east corner of the Medina close to the Royal Palace and approximately 20 minutes walk from the main square. For me it enabled me to escape the hustle and frantic pace of the tourist trap area's.

If you are looking for an authentic, well run Riad to spend your time in whilst in Marrakesh, then look no further and I would recommend this hotel to you all.

Merci Karen

Room Tip: Whilst the Narjisse room is delightful, be warned it is very compact, a fact that the owner will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N-WALES-TRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Riad la Porte Rouge was a perfect place for our first night in Morocco. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, coming out to meet us on the roadside, and showing us where to park our hire car nearby, and gaving us a map, directions and advice on how to handle the city. This beautiful riad was an oasis of calm, and the food was delicious, from Moroccan tea and biscuits on arrival, to our drinks on the terrace and then a tasty tagine in the evening. The location was ideal for us as we were heading south over the mountains the next morning... after breakfast on the terrace of course!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparadisaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laporterouge, Gérant at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you very much and hope to see you next time soon.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

La Porte Rouge is a lovely riad and everything you will read about in the other reviews is true. The service is truly excellent and no expense has been spared in the decor and furniture. Truly sumptuous and everywhere you look there are things of interest.

The food as many others have written is superb, from the over the top breakfasts through to the amazing beef targine with prunes and apricots. Our best meals during our stay were at the riad itself.

We stayed in the Warda room which was the most romantic room we have ever stayed in. It was my wife's 50th birthday and it was perfect. Even though it was not requested fresh flowers and a card were provided in the room! What a lovely touch!

Some tips that you may find useful:
* When you arrive you will be given some tea and given a map as well as shown rotes to get to various places. Make sure that you pay attention as you want to keep referring to this when out and about.
* Especially when you first arrive you will find people stopping you and offering advice on how to get to locations. Do your best to ignore anyone doing this as they are looking to hustle tourists and make money. Often they will misdirect you on purpose to get you more lost so that they can then 'help' you. Just ignore anyone doing this. We had this happen on day one but not again.
* Carry small change with you as everyone from taxi drivers through to traders never seem to have any!
* Never take a taxi ride before agreeing the price as they dont switch on the meters and our experience was that they will always try to over charge. During the day you should not have to pay more than 30 dirams to go to most locations and 50 at night . There are roughly 10 dirams to a euro.
* It is a 10min walk to the small square and a further 5mins or so to the main square. For those of you interested in drinking alcohol Kosy Bar in the small square serves wine at 70 dirams for a large glass (only 40 in the riad) and just on the other side of the small square to the right is the Tanjia bar that has an all day "happy hour" where you can get two glasses of wine for 65 dirams. Both bars have terraces with panoramic views.
* Finally, a lot of people are a bit nervous walking on busy streets with no pavements. We learned that the safest way to do this was the opposite of what we were taught as kids. Walk with your back to the traffic in single file and then vehicles can see you in front of them as you go around corners.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boysinc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#86 of 500 in Marrakech
706 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#44 of 500 in Marrakech
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#168 of 500 in Marrakech
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#148 of 500 in Marrakech
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#118 of 500 in Marrakech
322 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#40 of 500 in Marrakech
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £39 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing