We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive with hidden costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace
Ranked #95 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The hotel if gorgeous, massive pool, spacious rooms, staff that will bend over backwards to help you but this hotel has no atmosphere what so ever.
I went to the hotel in the last week of june 2012 and there were hardly any guests, and as the hotel is so large, it makes it feel really empty. It has the potential to be an amazing hotel but because there was hardly anyone there and more staff then they needed, it just didn't really have that 'holiday' vibe to it.
The website says that it is 10 minutes from the centre, yes it's a 10 minute taxi ride, you couldn't walk it though. There is also a small shopping centre with a supermarket about 15 minute walk away from the hotel. I would strongly recommend buying food here or in the town rather then eating at the hotel as it is very overpriced, all be it very good food.
There was also a 'tourist tax' that was added onto the bill at the end of the stay, it worked out to be quite a considerable amount. There is no warning of this on the holiday website we booked with or on the hotel website, so keep some money spare!!

It is a gorgeous hotel, with friendly staff, and if you want a big pool with lots of luxury, go here. If you want to be in walking distance to the town and all the action, this is not the hotel for you!!

Room Tip: Try to get a garden or a pool view room as the other side just looks like a building sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maisieetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel is very large but very spacious so no feeling of being overcrowded. The rooms are also huge with good size balconies offering some private space. The location is about ten minutes south of the Medina with a free two hourly navette into the centre by Djeema al Fna. The central pool is also enormous within well landscaped gardens. After the bustle and hassle of the Medina it is a very welcome haven of peace and tranquillity. The very helpful concierge - Sharif will arrange trips and restaurants if you want to escape the hotel and city centre attractions. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Of the two restaurants, the traditional Morrocan was by far the best with excellent food and wine and reasonably priced for what is a fairly expensive city. They cannot appear to cook fish, sadly, unless you like it chewy and dried out. They only other very minor deficiency was the slowness of getting coffee at breakfast (self service but good choice). Make sure to ask for a pot on the table.

Finally, it is only about ten minutes from the airport which is a plus and the hotel has a navette for about €20. Alternatively you can get a taxi for €10 but agree the price first.

Room Tip: We took one overlooking th garden which basically means th main roads rather than the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnTodd187167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The hotel is nice and the rooms are comfortable and spacious.

We had to change the room after the first night as there was a discotheque just opposite our room and the noise was unbearable the whole night long!

It took the front desk a while to organize a new room and we had to push them in general all the time as they were not very helpful. Luckily that we spoke French as not everyone spoke good English and they preferred to speak French anyway.

In the middle of the week they started hosting two different conferences at a time and from then on, everything changed badly. The breakfast buffet was hardly refilled, the other guests had to sit on dirty tables (no one changed the table cloth) and the staff was unfriendly and stressed.
Conference members should have separate meeting rooms / breakfast areas.
We would clearly not recommend staying there during a conference!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel in April 2012. It was a nice enough hotel but there were two main problems with it. First was the location. It says on the website that it is within sight of the "city walls" and a few minutes from the main square. Not quite the reality. The "city walls" are the walls that surround the Agdal Gardens, a vast garden that lies to the south of the Royal Palace. The actual city is about 2.5km away. As for the main square, it is a few minutes away - by car. To walk it is over 4km, so about an hour along busy roads beside empty scrubland or building sites. The hotel lays on a shuttle bus but it is only every two hours - 10,12,14,16,18.00 - so if you miss it you have to take a taxi or wait. Also, no good for any evening visits as the last bus returns at 18.30. The other problem is the noise. The hotel is surrounded by roads - look it up on Google Earth - so there is traffic noise all the time and it is near the airport, directly under the flight path.
Having said that, if you are not so fussed about noise or the location, it is a pleasant place to stay. There is a huge pool and spa, the room was very big and well equipped, plus had a large balcony. The bathroom was large with bath and shower. Lovely gardens and the food was very good, with especially generous buffet breakfasts. I found the place comfortable but a little too corporate for my taste. Also, I was disappointed by the location and the noise.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet room do not book a Garden Room. I thought a Garden Room would be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ubula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel is certainly well worth a visit, handy for the centre, airport and trips to atlas mountains. Our experience of the staff was very good -all spoke good english and were very pleasant and helpful. Sharif (apologies if spelt wrong) arranged guided trips with private guides for us which were really beneficial to our stay. He always had a smile on his face, although sometimes more genuine than others!!!
The room was superb, with the largest bed I have ever seen and a bath you did not want to leave. The breakfasts were nothing special, but a good variety to choose from. Some mornings however were very chaotic with an obvious lack of staff to keep up with table clearing etc.
Having stayed in both 4 and 5 stars previously, I would personally class this as a 4 star as I agree with a previous report that something , although I am not sure what, appears to be lacking.
The major complaint would be the ridiculous prices charged for drinks and food. I am aware that whilst staying in a 5* hotel prices are inflated - however I am sure they would sell much more, both from room mini bar and hotels bars if the prices were more competitive.eg A small bottle of sparkling water costs 40 d from room mini bar ( approx £4) the exact bottle at carrefour 5mins walk is 3 d !!!
However except for this, I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms appear pleasant - I would have been happy with any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rubles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great hotel situated close to Marakech. Maybe not five stars by Western standards, but a great hotel none the less. Our room was huge, with the biggest bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom was first class and the living room very comfortable with two great balconies on our suite with furniture on both.

The staff were polite and most spoke good English. The restaurants were all very good, but the restaurants in town were more authentic in cruising and better value for money. The Spa was very good. I would recommend using the concierge for all taxi, restaurant and tourist bookings so as to not get 'tourist' prices. Also worth using the Carre Four behind the hotel for cheaper drinks in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor enable easy access to the amazing gardens, and whilst at first we were uns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The minute you walk in you just know that something is missing. It's missing a soul. The staff are inconsistent and wreak of apathy. The front desk manager is charismatic and inviting enough, but the whole experience is puely transactional and lacks any substance. This place has huge potential but it is not being realised! It's a real Pitty....The large pool and the size of the rooms is the only reason you would stay here.

Room Tip: Breakfast is ok. The hot food is cold! The selection of other the pastries and cold cuts etc....are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
6.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#92 of 502 in Marrakech
5,176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 502 in Marrakech
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
5.2 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#79 of 502 in Marrakech
380 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#71 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £92 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The blend of an Arabo-Moorish architectural style with a generous 10 acres park and gardens makes the SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace your haven of peace and tranquility.The SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace is a luxury hotel located in a peaceful, 10-acre park in Marrakech just 10 minutes from the medina by free shuttle. The hotel offers accommodation mixing harmoniously the Moroccan style and a modern touch.Guestrooms are comfortable and have a balcony offering a staggering view facing the Atlas mountains. The international restaurant "Terrasse de l'Insensé" and the specialty restaurant "L'Insensé" serve quality cuisine and a different dining sensation and satisfy all taste. There is also a traditional Moroccan restaurant, poolside snack bar, piano bar and room service. The hotel offers various activities including tennis, volleyball, badminton and a swimming pool. The Kids Club is supervised by professionals and gives children the opportunity to discover the Moroccan culture through fun and educational activities. The Spa by Terraké invites guests to relax. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi internet access, free on-site parking and a free shuttle to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Menara Palace Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Menara Palace Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing