We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cold during winter and a little noisy”
Review of Riad Lakhdar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Lakhdar
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
2,745 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,520 helpful votes
“Very cold during winter and a little noisy”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

The location is great, it's very close to the main square and it's not far from the airport (the bus from/to airport stops very close).
It's a beautiful riad, well preserved and nicely decorated.
The AC in our room didn't work and it was very cold during the night and early morning.
It was also a bit noisy. The sleep quality was low.
Besides that I found 2 large black hairs in the tube, although everything was fairly clean.
I think that during the hot months it would be a pleasant stay but I do not recommend it in the cold weather.
You have to order the breakfast in advance. We booked it for 7.30 but the guy was not very punctual and it took a little.
The breakfast is poor: Moroccan pancakes with jam or butter, orange juice, tea or coffee.
The manager/owner is always trying to sell stuff. We asked him how to get to the Supra tours bus station and he told us to take a cab. The next day when we were at the bus station we saw him drop off 2 guests.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    50
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
75
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were driving and as Marrakech goes it was relatively easy to find with a car park next door. The staff were very welcoming. Considering how near to the Medina this place is, it was remarkably quiet although it's not a great looking street. Security seemed good. It has a cool and comfortable courtyard with a lovely sun terrace where they were pleased to serve an ok, fairly standard breakfast there. We never booked a time for breakfast but just stuck our head in the kitchen and they brought it out about 15 min later. The rooms were clean and air-conditioned, a bit tired and dark but ok. There was good free WiFi. The beds were very hard which seems to be the way in Morocco. Although it claims to take credit cards, cash was definitely preferred. The staff were helpful in getting one of our party to the airport and giving us a route out to the High Atlas. It could probably benefit from a bit of a makeover because we have stayed in prettier Riads in this bracket and area but for the price, convenient location and comfort it is a reasonable choice.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms a little more private and downstairs a little cooler and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balgownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed at Riad Lakdar for five nights with a friend. From the moment we arrived the staff were very helpful and polite, though when the owner is not around it would be best to speak French to a higher standard than I managed! It is easy to find and peaceful, yet only a 6-7 minute walk from the Place Jemaa el Fna. The room was clean and tidy and breakfast was filling. We were able to return in the afternoon to escape the heat every day without any difficulties. We were offered a meal one evening for 160DH, which beat the restaurant meals we had encountered elsewhere for both the taste and the generous servings. We also took up the offer of a trip to the Ourika valley, which was more expensive than arranging a trip ourselves would have been but was far more relaxing. Looking at the rates on offer for other Riads I would say this one seems very good value. It is true that there is not much flexibility over things such as breakfast times etc. but, given the cost, I would rather that was compromised than safety, location or cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Jamal and Mehjoob own this beautiful riad. It is worth the money. We had such gorgeous breakfast on the roof every morning with fresh mint tea avec sucre! :) really highly recommend this riad for the gracious and helpful hosts, the location so central to the square and its relaxing energy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuku_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Riad is in a good location close to the Medina, with an easy to walk from where the airport bus stops. Rooms were generally quite clean. This is where the positives end.

The staff were terrible. We found that as soon as we declined the tours, expensive "airport transfer" and dinners offered by the Riad, they offered no assistance and lost interest in us. We enquired about the airport bus and directions to the Riad and received a reply detailing only the expensive private transfer offered. Breakfast was late every day (30 to 45 minutes) despite requesting specific times for breakfast the night before. This proved a problem for us as we had other tours and bus trips booked. The staff also gave us misleading advice: we were told that the bus to Essaouira would not be full and we could arrive at the station in the morning to get tickets for that same day. We were also told that the station was a 20 minute drive away or 45 minute walk (which put us off travelling there the day before to purchase tickets just in case, despite what other people has said on tripadviser about pre-purchase). In reality, the station was a 5 minute drive and the tickets were all sold out (we had to wait 2 hours for another bus). The taxi to the station cost us 20 dirham, an our Riad manager had tried to convince us that getting his brother to drive us for 5o dirham would be reasonable. Our Riad manager also did not know the bus times and would not assist us in translating the official website. We booked a day tour the following day. We hurriedly ate our breakfast (again 45 mins late, despite requesting breakfast to be ready by 8am). We were due to be picked-up from the Riad at 9am, ad by this stage, we were still eating breakfast. We thought the staff would notify us when our driver arrived (it is a small Riad and we were having breakfast in the courtyard which is close to the entrance). Not so! At 9.20am, we decided to wait outside for our driver only to find him there waiting and very angry! Apparently, he knocked on the door at 9am and the Riad staff were rude, refused to let him in and did not tell us he was outside! This made us 20 minutes late for our tour. As our tour driver commented to us, we picked a bad Riad to stay in. With the increase in tourism in Marrakech, everyone wants to own a Riad and make a quick buck without realising that customer service is involved. You can smell the 'easy cash' salesman pitch of this Riad manager a mile off. I would recommend spending your money somewhere else.

The beds were also terrible - they were so hard it was like sleeping on concrete.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Austraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, España
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

From the personal treatment of the staff to the location and the facilities, everything is real cool. You can visit anywhere in the city by walk. Try the Hammam bath and the orange juices in the rooftop. Simply amazing. We stayed three nights and will come back for more.

Room Tip: Try ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu230578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meknes
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

everything was efficient, no kind of problems but the breakfast... I travel morocco for my job and at 8.00 I'm supposed even if not obliged to be out from the hotel, I think the customers of this riad usually are people in holidays so they are not at all pressed. This morning I get my breakfast at 9.00, the problem was just nobody was at the reception from 7.00 to 8.30. If I would be there for holidays too, this place should have been a pretty good choice, quite, near city center, with kind people as staff. I can suggest to stay at the riad, but ask for breakfast time the evening before!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bravo_brv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Souad
Riad Souad
#24 of 287 in Marrakech
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,250 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#237 of 500 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#77 of 1,153 in Marrakech
305 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#207 of 500 in Marrakech
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lakhdar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lakhdar

Property: Riad Lakhdar
Address: 28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Lakhdar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Lakhdar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing