We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad, Great Staff!”
Review of Zaouia 44

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zaouia 44
Ranked #206 of 1,156 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, UK.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Riad, Great Staff!”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed here on our belated honeymoon (original was cancelled due to ash cloud in April!) and we had a great time. The staff here were great, Mohamed especially was incredibly helpful, helping us to arrange things to do and even taking us to meet a driver at 6 in the morning. The Riad itself is spacious and very clean and the rooms are large and airy. Breakfast was served every day on the roof terrace and evening meal (when we had them) were served downstairs in the cosy sitting room.
The only draw back to the place is that it is almost impossible to find! we booked a driver through the Riad to collect us from the airport as we were arriving late. The next day we went for a quick walk before breakfast and we managed to get lost within 2 minutes of the place. Although by the end of the week we'd pretty much worked out where we were going.
It is quite a distance from many of the main attractions (djemaa el fna) but the staff will arrange transport for you if you need it. We walked and it took about 30 minutes, which was fine as we visited in December but I imagine in the height of summer it would be a different story!
We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djgo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    43
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
57
80
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Dear Sophie & Frederic,

We would like to thank you again for a wonderfull stay we had in your Riad last week! Your riad was recommended to us by some Dutch friends, how stayed at your place a year ago.

The interior of your Riad is a splendid combination of western design and Marrocan traditions, and since we are running a interior design studio, I know what I'm talking about. Our room was great and we loved the space. As we told Frederic, we had the best meals in Marroco at your place. What a great staff you have over there.

We feld very special in your Riad and looked after. We had a very romantic and wonderfull time in Marrakech, and mainly because of Zaouia44 and its staff!

Thank you again and take care,

Karel & Mariska

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariska69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

I recently invited 20 friends to celebrate my 40th staying 5 days in this riad, and it certainly was stunning living up to my expectations. As a London based interior designer, taking a whole bunch of designer friends away it had a lot to live up to, and it impressed everyone with its beautiful detailing, simple and tasteful. We had lunch, and dinner on various days and the staff were fantastic, setting up the dining table, and preparing the food. Every whim was catered for with the biggest smiles. Marrakech is an enchanting city and this riad made the visit a dream come true. If you have come across these reviews then your search for accommodation has just come to an end, book it!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Dear Sophie & Fredrik,

I am writing to thank you most sincerely for everything that you did for us during our recent stay with you, in Marakesh.

The ride from the airport was very interesting and quite a culture shock !! But then to walk into the Riad and find a complete oasis of calm and tranquility was breathtaking. The whole trip was a complete surprise to me ! Tina had organised everything in great detail and I understand, with alot of assistance from yourself. All went completely to plan, with our visit to the cookery school at Tjane Tamsna being a particular highlight for me. A fantastic recomendation and one that you can happily pass onto other clients.

Also, can I ask that you pass on our thanks to Sadique and Ali. They are both a real credit to you and your establishment. Nothing was ever too much trouble and there was never a moan or a groan. Two real characters who deserve to do well in life. They helped make our stay more than memorable ! That also applies to our twelve quests.

It was also a pleasure to meet Fredrik, although please pass on my apologies for getting him out of bed to open the door on the Sunday night !!

We wish you well with the new Riad and thankyou again for one of the best holidays that we have ever had. Monaco is a regular haunt for us, but I must say that Zaouia 44 is now top of my list. Hopefully, one day, we will return.

CHARLIE & TINA

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentinorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Walking into the riad after trekking through the lane ways of Marrakech was a dream come true. This is a true oasis, beautiful decor, amazing rooms and even better service. Ali and Sadik make you feel like you are at home and go out of there way to help with anything you need.

Our room was exceptionally spacious and very comfortable and had a beautiful window seat covered in lattice overlooking the courtyard.

Breakfast was served on the terrace and in the courtyard and was exceptional. The morning we had to leave we had to get up at 5am to catch the train and Ali wanted to serve us breakfast that early before we left. Even though we declined his offer he did make sure to see us off at that early hour.

The only minor negative element to this riad is that it is a fair walk into the djemma and souks (15mins if you don't get lost, but often longer), and especially at night it was difficult to find our way back without getting lost. Despite this I would highly recommend you stay at this beautiful riad.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

The worst part of this riad is finding it. But once you get there, it is an absolute gem. Everything about this place is great. A beautifully designed location. It was everything we were hoping for and more. The beds were so comfortable, they might as well have been clouds. The food, whether the spectacular breakfasts or dinner, was superb. There are lots of little nooks to have a cup of tea and just relax. The roof deck is a great place to unwind and just to view the medina.

But what truly set this location apart from other hotels was the staff. I didn’t feel like a faceless guest at some huge hotel; I felt like I was staying over with an old friend in their home. Ali and Sadik went beyond anything I could have imagined. To showing us the countryside, restaurants, nightlife and even helping us with a flat tire, I couldn’t be more grateful for their keen sense of hospitality. Anyone staying in Marrakech must stay here!

Since many guests are French, here is a translation from Google of my review:
Depuis de nombreux invités sont le français, voici une traduction de Google de mon avis:

Le pire dans ce riad est à la trouver. Mais une fois que vous y arrivez, il est un véritable joyau. Tout savoir sur cet endroit est grand. Un superbe emplacement. Il a été tout ce que nous espérions et plus encore. Les lits étaient tellement confortables nuages, ils pourraient tout aussi bien pu être. La nourriture, si les petits-déjeuners ou dîner spectaculaire, était superbe. Il ya beaucoup de petits coins d'avoir une tasse de thé et se détendre. Le support du toit est un endroit idéal pour se détendre et juste pour voir la médina.

Mais qu'est-ce vraiment définir cet emplacement en dehors des autres hôtels a été le personnel. Je ne me sentais pas comme un invité anonyme à un immense hôtel, je me sentais comme si je restais plus avec un vieil ami à leur domicile. Ali et Sadik a dépassé tout ce que j'aurais pu imaginer. Pour nous montrer la campagne, restaurants, vie nocturne et même nous aider avec un pneu crevé, je ne pouvais pas être plus reconnaissants pour leur sens aigu de l'hospitalité. Toute personne séjournant à Marrakech doit rester ici!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwong2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sf_laurab
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

It goes without saying - because so many before me have already done so - that the design and atmosphere at Zaouia44 are fabulous. It really is exquisite in a relaxed and refreshing way. It is located in the heart of the Medina, but in a spot that is quieter and more tranquil than the area around the souks and the electric Jemaa el Fna. Zaouia44 is like that friend who always looks chic in an effortless kind of way. Ali and Sadik are above and beyond what any traveller could hope for and they take genuinely great care of all the guests. Their warmth and friendliness take Zaouia44 to a new level of service. The proprietors, Sophie and Frederick, make you feel as if you've been invited to their home for the holiday. I travel alone quite often and being invited to join a meal amongst their friends was a rare and unexpected treat. And I haven't even gotten to the food yet. Absolutely everything that came out of the enviously spotless kitchen was delicious. Kefta? my new favorite food. Tagine? surreal. Crepe? surreal. Eggs? best I've ever eaten. I can't wait to bring my family to visit this place someday.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sf_laurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#77 of 501 in Marrakech
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#68 of 501 in Marrakech
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#89 of 501 in Marrakech
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#35 of 501 in Marrakech
672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 501 in Marrakech
596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#23 of 501 in Marrakech
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaouia 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaouia 44

Property: Zaouia 44
Address: 44 Taht Sour Sghir | Taht Sour Sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 1,156 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zaouia 44 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaouia 44 is an old remains calm and serene near Bab targhzout square, sister of Jemaa el Fna, 15mn walk to it and 5 minutes from the souks.It offers 7 large bedrooms, each with a lounge and a bathroom tadelakt traditional. Guests can swimm in the pool of the large patio or relax on one of the 4 terraces overlooking the medina and the chain of Atlas Mountains nearby.For your well-being, Zaouia 44 offers a traditional hammam tadelakt black and a massage room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Zaouia 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaouia 44 Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing