We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed for the sites”
Review of Riad Sidi Mimoune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Sidi Mimoune
Ranked #291 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As with others, I'd advise an airport transfer to take you to the riad on arrival to avoid hassle with taxis and then having to find your bearings. Once you do find it you do soon get used to navigating the narrow alley ways? It is well placed and the staff are helpful. Our room was small and next to the area where breakfast is served but it had all we needed for a decent night's sleep ( though do expect to be woken by the call to predawn prayer by the near by mosque. Breakfast is local style ( yoghurt, bread and jam and a variety of other items). The Koutoubia Mosque is a short walk away! The main square about 10 mins away and the Saadian Tombs and medina just a 5 minute walk away. The Riad can provide main meals and has a Hammam but we didn't try these. The Riad can arrange a transfer back to the airport at the end of your stay and gives a 20dhiram discount to the Oasiria water park ( a good place to escape the heat of town and have some fun!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

As others have said the location of this traditional riad in the heart of the medina can be a little stressful for a new-arrival to Marrakech, especially at night, but once you get your bearings and gain confidence you quickly realise that it is in a great location to see the sights and get around. The riad is welcoming, clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly and obliging and the breakfast very nice indeed with pancakes and home-made yoghurt. Our room was clean and simple, but the location next to the dining room was not ideal.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground-floor room next to the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidimimoune, Gérant at Riad Sidi Mimoune, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

thank you for your comment we keep fond memories of your stay.
our hello to your friend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Do not be put off by only being able to get here be walking down about 4 alleyways - this riad is lovely. We were a group of 3 'middle aged' women who had wanted to visit Marrakech for years, looked long & hard at places to stay before deciding on Sidi Mimoune. The location is great, 10 minute walk into the main square - only problem is crossing the crazy roads!
Our room was large, clean & very Moroccan with a good bathroom. Breakfast is great & we had our first evening meal at the riad which we all enjoyed. The staff were helpful, polite & most had good English - if you speak even a little French it helps. We had asked they arrange for a taxi to collect us from the airport, this was no problem & our driver spoke English & could direct us to the riad from the taxi (you will need this unless you have been before).
The roof terraces were a bonus, we had a few hours sun bathing here & were able to buy wine at the riad - not everywhere serves alcohol.
Marrakech is the most exotic, wonderful, vibrant place - I was worried it wouldn't live up to my expectations but I can't wait to return. Expect to get lost, most people are very helpful - smile lots & you will find the locals have a good sense of humour. The shopping is amazing, the food far better than I thought it would be. Do haggle.
For a short break Riad Sidi Mimoune is a very good option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank takeiteasyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I would strongly advise booking an airport transfer to get to the Riad as it's hard to find. Our driver parked up and showed us right to the door of the hotel, without him I think it would have been stressful and impossible. The hotel may organise this for you (we didn't try this).
For a cheap return to the airport grab a taxi from anywhere, very easy and 70 Dirhams (£4 ish).
Take some Euro coins for tipping on the first day (get used to tipping, it's a way of life).
The hotel was very friendly, beautiful (if not simple) rooms. We had one on first floor and the ground floor one. Not a lot of wardrobe space but clean and cool. The ground floor room location isn't that private at times being right in front of dining area. Staff were very pleasant and friendly.
Call to prayer at 4am from mosque loud speakers will wake you up every morning but the location is ideal to explore the city. Atmosphere very good, roof top areas (several) very good, breakfast very good too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raoul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Different from Western Europe standards, but nice and clean. Low on wardrobe space (room on ground floor). Close to old city centre. Really great Moroccan culture experience for reasonable price on walking distance (10min) from Jemaa el Fna.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinHarleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

It's hard to find and possible only to reach by foot but when you're there you'll find an oasis with friendly french and english speaking staff, clean and functional rooms, breakfast worth the name and a terrasse.

Room Tip: As high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed one night here, and we found the Riad to be clean and atmospheric. The neighbourhood is perhaps a bit intimidating, and the service was blunt and to-the-point, but that is not something that we particularly care about. Better that than an insincere grin, like you get in some places. The breakfast was tasty and copious, with exceptional freshly squeezed orange juice.
Oh, and you will be woken up at 5:30 am by the call to prayers, since you're right next to a mosque. But I really enjoyed that!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
967 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 500 in Marrakech
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.9 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Benbrahim
Dar Benbrahim
#220 of 1,172 in Marrakech
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Sidi Mimoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sidi Mimoune

Address: Sidi Mimoune Db Sidi Mbarek No 45 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £35 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Sidi Mimoune 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Sidi Mimoune is located in the heart of Marrakesh's Medina, near Jamaa El Fna Square. It has a terrace with solarium, an indoor swimming pool and en suite rooms. All air-conditioned rooms at Riad Sidi Mimoune offer views or direct access to the interior patios. They are equipped with a private bathroom with traditional tadelakt tiles. Sidi Mimoune serves traditional Moroccan cuisine based on local products from the market. Guests can dine in the dining room or on the terrace overlooking the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. Riad Sidi Mimoune has a spa with a hammam and a massage room. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout this guest house. This is the preferred area for travelers visiting Marrakech, according to independent customer reviews. We speak your language ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Sidi Mimoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sidi Mimoune Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing