We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good expenience”
Review of Dar Marhaba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Marhaba
Ranked #604 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good expenience”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Not easy to find in the first time as It is located in the alley. Once you find it, it is easy to access. It is near most of attractions. However, we were followed by a group of teengers who played in the alley. They said something bad to us. Not recommend for female travellers.


We booked a twin bed room which is located in the ground floor. The facility is very basic but as long as it clean, I will be ok. However, at night, my friend found a small cockroach on her bed. And next monring, I found a big cockroah "walking out" from toiet to the room. It is horrible.

When we complaint to the staff and asked for changing to another room. The staff was busy to take picture with other travellers. I waited for 10 mins and told them I would not stay here anymore. Then they called to their boss (i guess) and finally changed the room for us.

Room Tip: Find a B&B near main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifi_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I dont recommend staying at a riad inside the Medina in Marrakesh and Fes. You can have this important experience in smaller towns like Chefchaouen in a less stressful way. Said that, if you are sure about staying inside the chaos, this riad is a reasonable one.
It is located very close to the Djeema el Fna square, so you can go there many times a day (and also at night, safely). And in the early morning the taxis can get quite close to the riad, so it is not so difficult to carry the luggage to get a taxi to the airport, for example.
Dont expect a rich in detail decoration, it is very simple.
Sanaa is the manager there, she makes everything at the riad. She cant speek english and I cant speek neither french nor arabic, but she is so friendly that we could understand each other without problems. I would stay there again because of her.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Dar Marhaba is an oasis among the craziness of Marrakech.
We spent our first two nights here, we arrived quite late and had two lovely young men pick us up from the edge of the square, carry our bags and direct us to the room. Instantly, as we walked in, the feeling and the energy of the place was overwhelming and so very welcoming.

We stayed in the Tanger room, it was located on the second floor and was quite warm, therefore I would suggest if its available, to take a room on the ground floor.
The first night we had some noisy other guests stay above us and keep us up all night but this was not a fault of the riads, just a little disappointing.

The breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious and fresh, we enjoyed very much.
We didnt want to leave the riad and it set quite hight expectations for the following places we were to stay. The only thing I would say that would be slightly negative is that we never saw the Manager until the last day and there was a few things we wanted to talk to him about such as day trips and transport, but other than this, it was a very very enjoyable experience, would most certainly stay there again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor during summer to keep cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacintaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungary
Level Contributor
237 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We wanted to stay in the old Medina near the place Jemma el Fnah for two nights and I really think we made a very good choice.
The hotel (or riad) was hidden in a very small street (we couldn't have found it but as we ordered a transfer from the airport we had a person to guide us there).
As the door has opened we found ourselves in a nicely decorated inside garden with our room just on the ground floor so we could use this garden to relax and also for having breakfast.
The place was clean and with authentic moroccan decoration. The staff was also nice and the traditional moroccan breakfast was a delight!
When we became tired on visiting the town, we just came back and had a little rest in the afternoon (or siesta) and then went back to Jemma el Fnah to have dinner.

Room Tip: If you travel in summer try to choose a room on the ground floor it is cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beabrigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

What a great find this is! Why do people go to Marrakech and not stop in a riad in the medina like this one? It has a great position just off the main Jema el Fna square from where you take one of the narrow bussling streets and after about 100mtrs you turn off into a very quite back street. The front door is a bit like hole in the wall and very authentic and opens out into a lovely quiet courtyard. Facilities were very good and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was also good - juice/yogurt etc. Like most riads the rooms were decorated in bright tastful colours which added to the sense of authenticity.

A great find.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp_barron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

very good value: nice, typical, clean, staff always ready to help. Nice breakfast, varied and abundant, with fresh orange juice, yoghurt, pancakes. The location is very convenient, just a few steps from the Jamaa-El-Fnaa square but very quiet and safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mluisa_milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hvidovre, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed at Dar Marhaba for 4 nights. It is located in the middle of the frantic Medina which makes the peaceful atmosphere of the Riad even more amazing. The rooms are clean and the staff are very helpful and nice. None of us knew any french, but this was not a problem at any time during our stay. We paid to get picked up at the airport, and i wold definitely recommend it. I could imagine that the place would be rather hard to find otherwise since the streets of Medina are very entangled. As some of the other reviewers have noted, you should be prepared to be woken at 6 in the morning due to morning prayer.

Room Tip: The sleep quality is poor due to the morning prayer. However this can be heard throughout Medina, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#231 of 500 in Marrakech
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 500 in Marrakech
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#100 of 500 in Marrakech
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Marhaba

Property: Dar Marhaba
Address: #110 derb Moulay Abdelkader derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #604 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marrakech's medina, just off the Djemaa el Fna square, Dar Marhaba offers an oasis of tranquility. Dar Marhaba offers typical Moroccan comfort as well as professional services. Just let yourself be taken by its charm and you are sure to have a pleasant stay. The riad offers 5 nicely decorated rooms (double and triple rooms, one suite), each with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing