We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place for a hen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Papillon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a hen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Riad Papillion for 4 nights. We were there for a hen party - highly recommended to stay at this Riad for a big party. Zee and all the staff were great and really made us feel at home. The Riad is beautiful and location is great to experience true Marrakech. We had dinner at the Riad one night and entertainment (belly dancer) was provided too. Really well organised and our whole party had a great time! Thanks again to all the Riad Papillion staff!

Room Tip: All rooms are ensuite and very well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenParty737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
66
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

From the moment we booked our stay, the staff were amazingly helpful, e-mailing to suggest an airport pickup (well worth it, we would never have found it in the heart of the medina's back streets) and lamb tagine on the first night. We were met from the taxi by Aziz who walked us to the Riad and immediately made us feel at home and welcome.

We were given a map and useful information about what to do, including how to haggle! The food was plentiful and the breakfast very tasty. Our room was small but sweet. It was a shame we were there during two unusually cold days so couldn't use the roof terrace.

The staff make this place and it is good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobandsarahtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Riad Papillon is an absolute gem - a haven of calm and tranquility, right in the heart of the Medina. You really do feel like you're staying in a friend's home - everything is super-relaxed, with breakfast served at a time to suit you and lots of comfy sofas to unwind on, inside the riad and on the rooftop terrace. There were some lovely thoughtful touches, including a mobile phone to call the riad staff if you get lost in the Souks maze, great tips on local restaurants and a surprise birthday cake for our friend's birthday. The rooms are beautifully furnished (if a little dark!) and very quiet despite the riad's central location, so you're guaranteed a good night's sleep (in very comfy beds!). It's worth asking the riad staff their advice on things to do - we booked a trip to the Atlas mountains which was a highlight of our trip and good value for a full day out with a local guide. We booked through Hip Marrakech who were really helpful - they responded super-quick to all our emails, gave some great advice and helped us choose the best riad for us, advising on those that could cater for gluten-free diets in particular. Riad Papillon and their lovely team (especially Aziz) are just what you need to come back to after a fabulous day out sightseeing and we would definitely recommend staying there

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GFSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had the pleasure to stay at Riad Papillon for 17 days over Dec '13.
The staff are amazing, so attentive and helpful.
Located in the Medina it makes it a pleasure to find your way around and back to the Riad again.
Zee also arranged a few tours for us.
Zagora trip is a must if you don't get car sick.
We highly recommend a visit to this Riad.
Colin & Sonja Bouwer
South Africa

Room Tip: The only room I would not recommend is the Rose room. The rest are all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We had a really lovely time at riad papillon. The room was very comfortable (a little small), and the rest of the riad was beautiful, especially the roof terrace which was perfect for breakfast on a sunny morning! The staff were lovely, smiley and helpful, the food amazing (we had a meal on the first night - my boyfriend had the lamb tagine and for the rest of the holiday was trying to find one to beat it, but he failed!!) and it was a perfect base to retreat to after exploring the interesting, and at times stressful, streets of marrakech!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I came to Marrakech for our silver wedding anniversary and we were hoping to find a romantic spot. We found it in Riad Papillon. It was far far above the standard that we expected for our £80 per room and the breakfast seemed to never end. Our stay was made extra special because the owners had arranged for us to have a celebratory cake on the day of our anniversary. We got to know the staff so well that it actually felt like we were celoebrating with friends! We would both highly recommend this place. The design of the riad is quite simply breathtaking with little details all over the place that you normally dont get in a hotel. Our room was spotlessly clean and smelt like a Summers garden with jasmin i think. The bathroom was breathtaking with pretty little tiles and a mosaic. The food at the riad was the best that we ate during our whole trip including some of the best restaurants in Marrakech. We loved it and will definitiely be recommending you guys to our friends. Many thanks for an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: We chose the jasmin room but they all looked pretty similar size. May be nice to be by the little po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trisha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very nice start to our 9 day vacation in Marrakesh! Aziz gave us the perfect start to our vacation with his recommendations on where to go, eat etc. The room was situated on the first floor, a bit small, but nice. Great service, ok food and perfect "safe" location close to the Souk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianHolth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#166 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#3 of 276 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Papillon

Property: Riad Papillon
Address: 15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 276 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Papillon 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Papillon is a newly decorated riad in the best neighborhood of the medina Dar El Basha next to the Pasha Palace -just about 8 minutes walk to the Place J'ma el f'na. This beautiful riad has solar heating panels, beautiful dipping pool in garden courtyard, fountain on roof terrace and BBQ, TV/DVD, Ipod docking, Minibar, Contemporary colours and traditional craftsmen design. Wonderful English speaking staff- trained and experienced.Riad Papillon has several amazing zelige handcrafted tree of life tile designs which are really quite special. On the roof terrace there is a traditional tent where your dinner can be served by candlelight under the stars.Riad Papillon is a haven of tranquility with niches filled with books, fossils and buddahs on display. There really is something quite magical about Riad Papillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Papillon Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing