We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a true oasis of calm in such a busy place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Papillon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a true oasis of calm in such a busy place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Myself and 9 girlfriends travelled to Marrakech for a hen weekend and stayed at Riad Papillon. We had the most amazing stay from the moment we arrived. We were met by Abdou from the airport and escorted to the Riad. On arrival we met Yassine and the rest of the staff who looked after us from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. No request was too much to ask. We enjoyed a home cooked banquet on our first night, just what we needed after our flight. The Riad itself is beautiful and the rooms are perfectly formed. It is a truly wonderful place to come back to after a busy day shopping in the souks. And when you get lost you can just call Abdou or Yassine to come and collect you when you get lost - our group were provided with mobile phones with numbers programmed in - such a nice touch when you know you are going to get lost at some point. I could go on forever.... A truly wonderful place to stay that I would recommend to anyone traveling to Marrakech. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noodle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
66
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Stayed at Papillon Sept 23rd for 5 nights, What a surprise entering the riad it was so peaceful and relaxing. Everything you could need was at hand the decor was beautiful all around the riad. Yassine picked us up from the taxi rank and escorted us to the Riad which was very welcome as it was dark when we arrived. There was a tasty meal awaiting on the terrace of lamb taguine and all the trimmings c/o Miriam and the girls it was so nice with the softlglow of the lamps all around the riad. Dipping pool a must in the afternoon to cool down and mint tea to relax. We walked everywhere from the riad to the sights, don't be intimidated by the souks or the locals we had lots of fun exploring and talking to them. It was nice to know if we did get lost that help was only a call away with the loan of a mobile - great idea! Hope to visit next year best wishes Cathy & Terry Mitchell

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HenzandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Wonderful hosts, who are polite, friendly and helpful (even providing us with a mobile in case we got lost - don't forget to hand it in before you go home, I'm sending mine back today, d'oh!) Excellent location at the top of the Souks (the market lanes) and five minutes or so from the main square; also not far on foot from the gardens in Marrakech, the tombs and other such places. Fantastic restaurants two minutes walk away (Cafe Arabe and the Dar something or other, really nice meals for about 400 DH). The rooms are quite small but charming, well appointed, clean and air conditioned; the food at the Riad is fantastic, with an evening meal at 200 DH that absolutely stuffed us and breakfasts that set us up nicely for the day. No hesitation in recommending it very highly....enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David1sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Papillion is beautiful, Abdu, Yasim and the ladies looked after us so
well. It really was 5 star service. They created such a friendly
homely feel that we all relaxed immediately and had a great time.

The food was incredible, and we quickly found out that it was way
better than anything we could find in the many restaurants.
Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrssmashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

My partner and I loved everything about our stay at Riad Papillon. From the moment we arrived at the airport we felt completely and utterly taken care of by Abdou, Yassine and the ladies without feeling intruded upon. We felt so safe and cared for-Yassine even provided with a mobile phone in case we got lost in the souks! The wonderful Yassine guided us, the amazing ladies gave us the best food we ate in Marrakech (and that included some of the top restaurants where we paid top prices!). We love the Moroccan features in the rooms- so tastefully decorated. The roof top tent with candles lit at night time was a highlight for our stay. The only slight criticism was that we couldnt find an alarm clock-which we needed for an early morning trip-However it wasnt a problem as Yassine happily awoke us with a knock on the door.
We will be back next year for our wedding anniversary for sure. We also loved Riad Cinnamon where we stayed for one night when Riad Papillon was full. This Riad is much larger and grander but still excudes the same warmth and tranquility as Riad Papillon. I have to say we felt that both places allowed us to relax completely after our serious day's shopping in the souks.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clevergirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We were met by the fantastic Abdelatif on the main road, a couple of minutes from the Riad and he guided us through the maze of streets and alleys to the beautiful Riad. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff there, happy to give advice on restaurants/attractions and shopping. Our air-conditioned room was beautiful with a fantastic double shower and a comfy bed, plus tv/wifi and ipod dock. Breakfast on the roof terrace was also spectacular, and the dinner was the best food we had in our 6 days in Morocco and we would highly recommend it. Downsides? Hard to find some - but at a push, you are slightly further from the main square than others you can find(15minute walk - although this was actually a good thing for us as it meant we got to wander through the streets). Overall brilliant and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

My partner and I stayed here for a week in August in the middle of Ramadan. Being our first trip to Marrakech we didn't know what to expect. Our first impressions of walking down the small backstreets of the Medina made us feel like we might have made a mistake booking the Riad Papillon but how wrong could we have been!! The Riad is such a peaceful place where nothing is too much trouble.

We arranged for the airport transfer and a meal our first night which is great value and the best food we ate in Morocco.

When you arrive you are given a map and a Moroccan mobile phone which we thought was fantastic.

Yassine who manages the Riad and the girls who prepare the meals and ensure the Riad is beautifully presented cannot do enough for you and are very friendly.

Because there are only a number of rooms it's impossible not to meet and interract with the other guests, which we did and met some lovely people.

After just a week there we realised that the little alleyways full of characters and the full on heat, smells and sounds are what make Marrakech such a magical place.

  • Liked — The food and the people
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#179 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#3 of 276 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Papillon

Property: Riad Papillon
Address: 15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 276 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Papillon 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Papillon is a newly decorated riad in the best neighborhood of the medina Dar El Basha next to the Pasha Palace -just about 8 minutes walk to the Place J'ma el f'na. This beautiful riad has solar heating panels, beautiful dipping pool in garden courtyard, fountain on roof terrace and BBQ, TV/DVD, Ipod docking, Minibar, Contemporary colours and traditional craftsmen design. Wonderful English speaking staff- trained and experienced.Riad Papillon has several amazing zelige handcrafted tree of life tile designs which are really quite special. On the roof terrace there is a traditional tent where your dinner can be served by candlelight under the stars.Riad Papillon is a haven of tranquility with niches filled with books, fossils and buddahs on display. There really is something quite magical about Riad Papillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Papillon Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing