We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much enjoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #106 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
leyland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Very much enjoyed”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We loved this hotel. It is about 5 miles from Marrakech and a bit in the middle of nowhere but they do run a courtesy bus into the Square. The staff here are excellent and most helpful. Always have a smile and make you feel special. Our room was lovely over looking the pool and we had a fridge and a safe. The rooms were cleaned daily and were spotless and there was always plenty of hot water. The food here was good and we the would suggest you try the Italian and Morrocan Restaurants too. You have to prebook with the headwaiter. We enjoyed the Italian very much. The entertainment staff work very hard both in the day around the pool (which is massive) and also in the evenings too. The guys around the pool are very helpful and will bring you parasols etc or move sunbeds of which there were plenty. The gardens here are beautiful and well worth a walk round. The gardeners work very hard every day to keep up the good standard. The only negatives we found were that smoking was allowed in doors and sometimes the smell did linger. It did not really bother us but we know lots of people found it unpleasant. Dont think any smokers would have really objected to smoking outside as there were some lovely patios and tables and chairs and nice areas to smoke. Also with the exception of the Rat Pack Show and Gypsy Band Night the entertainment was pretty much the same. Maybe having a singer or live band on together with the entertainment staff would have been much more enjoyable. But all in all we enjoyed this hotel very much.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wadeLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,786
    1,893
    576
    155
    81
See reviews for
1,360
2,925
59
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We came here for our honeymoon and I must say from the moment we set foot the service was impecable. We were positively surprised by the modern moroccan twist on the decor, the place felt really open and was always spotless. We noticed that eventhough the hotel was almost at full capacity you never fell cramped or overwhelemed by the amount of people. The food always tasted fresh! which in some other all inclusives it's not always the case. The staff tended to our every question with a smile and were very knowleadgable of information. We were impressed how hard the entertainment staff worked they were up and about since 8am and were still as lively and smiling until 11pm when the entertainment ended. The room was spacious, clean and properly equipped. The cleaning staff were very friendly and came every day to our room. The shuttle into marrakesh came in quite handy but the taxis were a very efficient mode of transport as well. We would definately recommend this to anyone! There was a healthy mix of families, young people and couples. We are looking forward to return to the hotel as soon as possible, we couldn't have chosen a better hotel for our honeymoon. :):):):)

Room Tip: The suites are increible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Booitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This is a really difficult hotel to review as I agree with a lot of previous comments, both positive and negative.
To start with the positives. We paid £450 each for a weeks fully inclusive package - great value. The staff are brilliant, the drinks strong, the desserts superb, the grounds beautifully maintained and the pool is huge (we had no problems finding a bed at any time).
The negatives. This is not a new hotel. It is a hotel recently aquired by the Riu chain and is undergoing a process of renovation. Riu have clearly decided to develop the external and public areas first at the expense of the bedrooms (notably the bathrooms) which we found to be of a much lower standard that any of the previous 6 Riu's we've stayed at.
We moved room midweek owing to a foul smell which could not be resolved. Another couple we spoke with moved room due to mosquitos. In both rooms we had problems with water pressure and drainage. The room towels are little better than off-white cloths.
The hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere a 20 minute drive from the centre of Marrakech. We took the free bus in but were glad to return. The city is a sprawling hive of activity which might appeal to the more adventurous.
In summary I would have loved to give the place a higher rating as the staff deserve recognition for their efforts. However, until Riu address the accommodation issues the hotel, in my opinion, is not worthy of a 4* rating. However, at the rate we paid it does provide excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Booked this hotel based on TA reviews and able to get a good deal. I thought the hotel itself was lovely and the surrounding gardens. Pool etc all immaculate. The bars were great and served good quality drinks - probably the best I have had on an AI. All the staff were excellent and the animation team were very friendly. The only negatives I have are that the food was a bit samey - not enough theme nights and the a la carte restaurant wasn't up to much. Also we had a ground floor room which got very cold as it got no sun. If you go ask for a room on the 1st floor. All in all a great holiday, very relaxing and would recommend to do the medina and souks with a tour guide.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanarkshireTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We have always been a bit dubious of all-inclusive and following some of the recent negative reviews we were a little concerned about this hotel. We should never have worried – it’s brilliant.

This was our first holiday with our 7 month old daughter, and therefore wanted a hassle-free holiday, at a reasonable price. This hotel is fairly cheap for the standard – we paid around £1300 for the three of us in mid-late May (including £40 for the baby) for a week all-inclusive. Great value.

The Riu Tikida Palmeraie is located about 10 miles (or 20 minutes outside of Marrakesh) and is operated (in the UK) by Thompson/First Choice on an all-inclusive board basis.

This is a large hotel, with around 350 rooms, situated in it’s own grounds.
The rooms are of a reasonable size, clean, although a little basic, but perfectly acceptable. The only obvious omissions being a kettle and a mini-bar (although a fridge is provided). The balconies/terraces are also of a good size, overlooking the impeccably kept hotel grounds.

The pool is large to say the least, also clean. The only downside is that it can be cold first thing in the morning, but soon warms up by lunchtime. There are plenty of sunbeds, although by 11am most have gone.

Being all-inclusive, we were a little worried about the hotel being full of drunken thugs. It’s not. I don’t recall even seeing a single drunk person during the whole week. Reviews mentioning people ‘guzzling larger’ before Breakfast are simply a lie – the bars don’t even open until 10.30am for starters. The all-inclusive drinks menu is fairly extensive and impressive – cocktails, local beers, cocktails (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic), spirits, wine and soft drinks are all included. Bottled water is also provided in the rooms (4L per day).

The food is very good. The main restaurant is a buffet – like every single other resort/tourist hotel I have ever stayed in, regardless of its Star rating. The dishes do vary in quality, some are excellent, some are poor, but on the whole you should not be disappointed. There’s loads of choice.

My only major issue with this hotel however is the optional Italian and Moroccan restaurants. As they required pre-booking, I expected these to be waiter-served. Sadly they are also buffet, which I think is un-acceptable. The Italian is particularly disappointing as it’s actually the same place where lunch is served, but with the curtains closed and as another reviewer mentioned, it does have a canteen feel to it. It felt like a bit of a con. If you want an intimate or special meal, then sadly you do need to leave the hotel.

The location is not very good – there is a shuttle bus into Marrakesh and a taxi ride is cheap enough, but there is literally nothing whatever around the grounds. Another guest mentioned that the hotel felt like a luxury prison camp. Not a big deal to us but be aware that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

All of the staff we encountered was very friendly – no complaints there and they do not appear to be constantly after a tip.

There’s entertainment during the day around the pool – it’s not too loud or intrusive if you wish to relax and there is some music on, which is not too loud to be annoying. Evening entertainment is not amazing, but if you have the right sense of humour you should enjoy it.

This is a great hotel for kids (as you would expect given that First Choice and Thompson sell it as a family-friendly hotel). There’s a kids club, a paddling pool, a play area and the main pool has a great shallow end. There is also an evening children’s disco, which our daughter really enjoyed. There are loads of other children for them to pay with.

We had a great time here, but can understand some of the negative reviews.

If you are looking for an authentic Moroccan experience – this is not the hotel for you.
If you do not like children – this is not the hotel for you.

If you believe that First Choice/Thompson 4* Premier means that it’s like the Savoy/Ritz - this is not the hotel for you.

However, in my opinion if you book an all-inclusive holiday with First Choice/Thompson to a child-friendly hotel then moan about its lack of authenticity, or the number of kids around the pool or on your flight, then in my opinion you are an idiot.

If, however you want a lovely hotel, at a great price, with no hassle as an ideal base to search Marrackesh, or of you have kids – you cannot go wrong. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StephenAndCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

stayed at this hotel in sept 10 for a week as a last minute getaway,one of the nicest hotels ive stayed in (maybe thats because on my visit there was only 2 children staying!! )
pool was beautiful music not too loud, rooms comfortable and food selection good. it wasnt overcrowded when we stayed so maybe that attributed to the relaxing time we had!!!possibly the only downside is that smoking was actually allowed inside the hotel bars. in my opinion this hotel would make an ideal adults only venue something for thomson to think about?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedfred15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week and as we arrived we found the staff very welcoming and the place was very clean.
The pool area is pretty decent but you need to be out early to get the good spots(as anywhere else I suppose).
There was a fair amount of smoking in the main bar areas but it doesn't spoil it for you.
It's a very good hotel for family I wouldn't like to go here if it was just the 2 of us.
The food in the hotel is also good, although after a week it became a bit too much.

All in all I would say we enjoyed our stay maybe not for a week though, unless you really just want to go there to relax and do nothing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#115 of 500 in Marrakech
2,752 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#108 of 500 in Marrakech
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#75 of 500 in Marrakech
367 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing