We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel overall with a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #102 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good hotel overall with a few niggles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days in mid June. The hotel attracts a lot of Brits, french and germans. It is mainly fed by the Tui group, with thomson's supplying a lot of British guests. We booked the hotel direct on the riu website and booked our flights with easyjet from manchester. We booked a transfer through suntransfers.com for 52 euros return. Their service was excellent, they were waiting for us in the arrivals hall when we arrived and bang on time for our return to the airport. I would strongly recommend anybody considering going to his hotel as a package to do a bit of research as to how much it would be to book direct, we saved ourselves £600 on what we would have paid Thomsons.

Anyway, down to the hotel. As our flight arrived at 10pm, we didn't get their until 11pm. The restaurants had closed. Previous reviews mention them keeping the restaurants open but clearly they only do this when they have more people arriving at the same time, e.g. thomsons arrival night. however, after swiftly arriving at our room, two porters turned up, one with our luggage, and one with a massive tray of food including bread, various meats, salad, fruit etc. I thought that this was a very thoughtful touch.

The first few days that we were at the hotel, I would say that it was probably only half full. It was easy getting a sunbed and you didn't have to get up at stupid o clock to get one. on our first day around the pool, we were peacefully relaxing until about 11 o clock, when suddenly the entertainment team decided it was time to start trying to get people doing the activities. They were so persistant and would not take no for an answer. It was extremely annoying, trying to stay polite to them but at the same time trying to get the message across that you did not want to participate. Then, when aqua gym started, the music was turned up to full blast and you felt like you were sunbathing in a night club. Speaking with other people around the pool and this seemed a common complaint.

A couple of days into our holiday whilst having dinner in the restaurant, everybody was handed a review form to complete. I suspect that the majority of people may have made mention to the persistance of the entertainment staff and the level of the music because from the next day, the music was turned down and the staff, although still coming round asking you to do the activities, actually took no for an answer. For the rest of our holiday this never really bothered us anymore because the hotel seemed to have taken heed of the feedback they had received.

In terms of food, we could not fault this at all. We have been to numerous all inclusive resorts and I have to say that this was probably the best in terms of food. From 7 in the morning until 10:15pm you can get food of some sort. from 7am until 10:30am they serve breakfast which consists of your usual pastries, cereals, and cooked breakfasts. Then from 10:30am till 12:30pm they serve a continental breakfast for anybody who got up to late for normal breakfast. From 12:30pm until 3pm its lunch, consisting of bbq, panini's cooked to order, pasta's, pizza's, different meat dishes etc. Then during from 3pm onwards they switch to afternoon snacks in the poolside restaurant (which doubles as the italian), which consists of pancakes, sandwiches and chips etc. Then dinner from 7pm until 10:15pm which is served at 3 different restaurants; the main, italian and moroccan. During the first part of our holiday, you would be served a bottle of wine with your evening meal, however, partway through, the hotel seemed to have a change of heart and you can no longer get wine by the bottle. It's no big deal though because it's freely available by the glass.

Evening entertainment as previous reviewers have mentioned isn't the best, but the entertainment team do work their socks off.

There does seem to be a problem at the moment around the pool bar, which on a couple of days during our holiday was swarmed with wasps. I was aware of at least two people being stung during our stay. I'm not sure what the hotel can do about this. The staff our forever cleaning the bar area and still the wasps persist. The pool bar, when not swarmed with wasps got quite busy during the day, and could be quite a walk to go and get a drink depending on which side of the humungous pool you were sitting. However, they appeared to be building a new pool bar on the other side of the pool during our stay.

Previous reviewers are right that their is the beach short and football shirt brigade in the restaurants of a evening. It's a shame because the majority of people are dressed up nicely which gives the hotel more of a classy feel and then it's just the small handful of people who think they're in benidorm. Having said this, i witnessed no raucous behaviour and never during my whole holiday saw anybody drunk.

I had a heard a few people talk about paying extra for late checkout rooms during their stay (i think its 250 dirhams until 2pm or 400 dirhams until 6pm.) However, unless you desparetly need to keep your room, the hotel will offer the use of a courtesy room for free for a half hour period before you leave if you wish to get showered etc. This was ideal for us. Checkout was 11am, and then we were able to make full use of the the all inclusive facilities for the rest of the afternoon (I have been to some all inclusive resorts were they cut your writstband off at checkout and there ceases your entitlement to anything for free). An hour before we were due to leave, we were given a key to a room, and able to go and use the showers and get changed. You were provided with towels, shower gel shampoo etc so its ideal.


Overall, I thought the hotel was good value for money. If you are looking for complete tranquility whilst sunbathing, this is probably not for you as there is only one pool and there are numerous activities in and around it throughout the day. the all inclusive features are excellent

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markavo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,736
    1,846
    555
    138
    76
See reviews for
1,334
2,852
57
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
KENT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

flew with first choice. booked last september. hotel was beautiful on first arrival, got your free drink, went to have dinner, then checked in, went to find our room and had champagne and suitcases waiting for us. Gardens all around are out of this world and the ponds with very loud frogs are a fun touch. food was very good, but typical all inclusive. garlic squid, paella, chips, pizza, so many salads, lovely bread, prawns, turkey, lamb, rice etc etc. pool area we were told is the biggest in marrakesh. it did get quite busy around the pool on some days but in general everyone kept themselves to themselves and it was pretty quiet. comfy beds we got every day apart from the trips we did. went out at just before 7 to get them but could have gone later we are just early risers. We did two trips, quad bikeing with the company in the lobby not related to any package holiday company. was an amazing experience, welll worth doing to get out and see marrakesh. hot air ballooning which we pre-booked in england with 'marrakesh by air' which i would recomend to everyone. included was a camel ride, breakfast, jeep trip and you were back at your hotel by 10ish so well worth the early start. all in all a very good holiday with temperatures of 55-60. i would go back but i want to explore more countrires first

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxJUST_MExx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Marrakech was great, the Medina & El Fna square well worth a visit .

The Hotel was very disappointing , although most of the staff were very friendly & worked non stop, the Hotel lacked something . The buffet meals were good enough but the same stuff every day. The best things were the sweets they were excellent, the Italian & Moroccan restaurants were still buffet style & self service , the carpachio was the best thing in the Italian but not good enough to make me go there twice . The wine was not very good in all the restaurants . The drinks contained very little alcohol if any , it's the only All Inclusive holiday I have ever been on where I drank my Duty Free in the Hotel.

There is no outside bar after 6 o clock which is a shame because during the day people seemed to get on with each other , but at night it was dead with cheesy amateur entertainment . It seemed the evening entertainers had little talent , especially on the Brat Pack night . All the guests I spoke to were of the same opinion that an outside bar is essential in the evening .

In general the hotel is too big & spaced out making communication with the other guests difficult if not impossible . If you you sat at an outside table in the evening it was along trek to the bar and back , by the time you got back to your table your ice had melted .

I always assumed that Riu Hotels were good quality , but this one has made me very wary of the name Riu.

The beds were hard with the mattress buttons digging into your back .

The Gardens were magnificent and the gardeners deserve some kind of award for creating them . The cleaning staff were fantastic & the security staff were excellent if a bit subservient.

Room Tip: Get a room near the facillities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

This hotel had some negative reviews from some people that don't appreciate quality! From the second we arrived we were treated with the most welcoming smiles and the most attentive service. The food was fantastic quality for the numbers of people they have to feed and the two restaurants are there for those who want a little bit more privacy and peace and quiet. The only negative was that the evening entertainment lacks slightly and the bars close at midnight so if you do want a late night soiree it's best to get your orders in. Am already planning to return in 2012/2013

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herts15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Engladn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel in June 2011. The hotel was pleasant, the staff were always very helpful. The food was good with enough variety to suit most people. There are two additional restaurants on site an Italian and a morroccan. In both these restaurants the waiters are not as quick to clear your table as they are in the main restaurant, and the food is very similar.

We were concerned about getting money as morrocco is a closed currency, this turned out to be no problem the hotel will change money for you and there is also an atm in reception very easy to use.

We booked with First Choice and were dissapointed with there excursions. We booked the Discover Marrekesh for a day. We visited some places which were fine but we were subjected to a sales pitch at a rug shop which was incredibly boring and this was followed by a sales pitch at a chemist! We wanted to see Marrekesh not listen to a sales pitch. The lunch on this trip is also not very good. The second trip we did was sold to us by First Choice as a romantic trip in a horse and carriage to the main square at night. This turned out to be a shared carriage with two other people so it was very difficult to be romantic in such close proximity.

The spa was well worth a visit, prices quite good, I recommend the relaxing massage and the traditional body scrub.

Last but not least the weather, very hot in June,some rain early evening but not enought to spoil things and some afternoons it was a little cloudy.

Overall we had a good holiday, we wanted to relax and we did.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvermx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

All we wanted for this Holiday was something cheapish not a long flight.
What we got was a real shock and a very pleasing one at that the hotel / resort is really well laid out with very well maintained gardens.
Yes you can smoke in the main parts of the hotel which for us was no great issue we just moved when somebody lit up.
Food was good when you consider how many need feeding and just how many varying tastes there are, for i would have loved more traditional food but that is my personal taste only.
The pool area is really good we had no trouble getting a sunbed, the area was very clean,
Little point on this one if you are going to have nice sweet drinks like sprite you will get wasps round in a flash, not exactly the hotels fault like some thought it was.
The rooms are big compared to many for the price, and are kept well.
The staff are really helpful and always have time the animation team do there best and all it takes is a very polite no and they will happily wander off.
We heard alot of people moaning about the quality of the hotel and it,s star rating well here it is very simple if you want top 4* holiday pack yourself off to the Maldives take the 10 hour flight have the most amazing time and be realeased of £4000 if you get a deal.
Or go 3 hours to North Africa have the same time zone, stay in clean accomodation have a good variety of food have additional restaurants included sit around a large cool pool with drinks on tap and a nice 30 degree sun in really well managed surroundings and have change from £1200 for 2 weeks add to that an indoor pool and gym all included.
For us we had a great rest and top value for money so well done to all the hotel staff and well done Thomson.
To round it off flights were bang on time no sorry slightly early in fact and that was take off.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

My partner and i have recently returned from a week at this hotel heres our review.

Flight
A nice steady flight of just over 3 hours into Marrakech Menara Airport, passport control and baggage reclaim all reasonably smooth (although maybe more staff required on passport control).... Both Inbound and Outbound.

Transfers
We were met straight away by our Thomson rep once through passport control and told which coach we were on for our transfer to the Hotel. Coaches were comfy and air conditioned...... transfer time is approx 20 mins. On the journey to the hotel you will experience the madness that is Marrakech......Cars, taxi's, scooters, pedal cycles, donkeys and pedestrians all fighting for right of way on roads and pavements, the roundabouts are chaos!
Once we arrived at the hotel, baggage was unloaded from the coach and left with porters by reception, where were were invited inside for a welcome drink and shown the main restaurant (which is kept open late for new arrivals)
After a quick meal we checked in at reception and were given a golf buggy ride (along with our luggage) to our room.

The Room
We had a room on the upper floor (all are 2 story buildings) which was very clean, spacious and reasonably well equiped...... Fridge, sofa, twin beds, flatscreen tv, plenty of storage space and a separate WC and Bathroom.
The beds are quite firm, but i wouldnt say uncomfortable. The walls are quite thin and you can hear furniture being moved etc in the adjacent rooms
The shower did tend to run hot and cold too which did get a little annoying.
All in all though the room was fine.

The Food
There are 3 restaurants in this hotel.... the main buffet restaurant where breakfast and dinner is served, la trattoria where lunch and the Italian (when open) dinners are served and la nakheel which is the Moroccan restaurant.
We ate at all 3 of the restaurants of which we found the moroccan to be the best. All are buffet restaurants but the moroccan is much smaller and has a more intimate atmosphere. The food in all of the restaurants isnt to the quality i would expect from a 4* hotel (i have stayed in all inclusives before) and the selection of food does get a little boring after 2 or 3 days. Reservations are needed 24 hours in advance to dine in either of the speciality restaurants.

The Bars
There are 3 bars in the hotel.... the main lobby bar, the pool bar and the bar in the entertainment theatre, all do get busy at times (not helped by people employing the "bank queueing" system........ a line of people at one end of the bar being served by 1 member of staff when there is a full bar of space and staff available to serve!!!!!) The bars do get very smoky too... especially the lobby bar.
There is a small cocktail menu of around 5 or 6 drinks.... whilst refreshing.... contain little of no alcohol (i have worked behind bars for over a decade and could instantly tell their lack of alcohol), The draught lager is quite nice though served in tiny glasses (many trips to the bar required), and the white wine is drinkable (though the rose was very disappointing)..... also there is no table service, i would expect for a 4* hotel that table service would be a must.....again based on previous experience at similar hotels where this happens it does make a BIG difference.

The Pool
Is HUGE!!!!.......nice and refreshing when the temps are high. If you want a good sun lounger you have to be up early..... although there are lots of loungers, most of these are draped in pool towels before 9am.....and finding one after 10am is quite difficult........There is a self service drinks station by the pool...... some people on here are talked about the problem with wasps..... they are Honey Bees and although annoying when trying to serve drinks etc.... they will leave you alone if you dont flap around them (wasps would be much worse!!)

Animation Team
These guys work so hard, they are up and around from early morning organising competitions by the pool, doing the aqua aerobics, welcoming guests for dinners and then doing most of the shows on an evening...... some of them are really talented dancers, actors etc and all super friendly!

Marrakech.....
This place is just crazy and will not be to everyone's liking...... we were a little disappointed by the place on the whole..... it is a very intimidating place even when part of an organised group. The souks are very enclosed and when sharing a narrow alley with a motorcycle in either direction and a donkey accidents could and im sure do happen! The place is full of different smells..... some nice (spices etc) others not so (sewage and rotting meat/fish). We went on a tour to the square which again was intimidating and disappointing...... you will be followed around and if you start to haggle with anyone you will be expected to buy.... be warned!

General
The hotel all in all was OK..... with a few improvements (table service for drinks, more food variation, better quality drinks) would be a good 4* hotel (the buildings and rooms etc are of 4* standard)...... Marrakech is an experience we are glad we have seen, but wouldnt do again! But Value for money for the place cannot be argued with!

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor room!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DKHE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#112 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#109 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#103 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,669 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing