We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it says it is!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #109 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I have been on quite a few Thomson Holidays and have in the past particularly enjoyed staying at their Platinum hotels but this certainly does not meet their normal standards. The room was fine but the toiletries were very poor in the bathroom, sachets of shampoo and a bar of soap. All the maid at the beginning of the week was very good it was obvious by the end of the week they had changed and I had rubbish left behind in the room and the water glass was taken out but not replaced.

Food was the same everyday and very boring. Their only saving grace was the food in the Moroccan Restaurant which you had to pre-book, don't bother with the Italian Restaurant. By the end of my holiday there was a massive of new comers that had arrived and the self service lunch restaurant and evening restaurant was like a bun fight at a canteen, not what I expected.

The entertainment or lack of entertainment was appalling. During the day there were some reps trying to get drunken English people to join in with table tennis competitions and darts. It seemed it was the same people that took part in this sort of entertainment but certainly not my cup of tea. In the evening their was a show if you can call it that the same poor reps doing Elvis/Michael Jackson imitations.

Overall I must say that having paid quite a lot of money to go on this holiday for a short break I felt very let down and feel that Thomson has let their standards down. I would not recommend this holiday to anyone unless they were on a three day break maybe so the food doesn't get too boring and you can put up with everything else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigger1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,648 - 3,654 of 5,868 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

There isn't a great deal to add to what everybody else has said about this place.

Staff, cleanliness, animation team, food and setting all amazing.

Highly recommended for a great chill out with the buzz of Marrakech just a 20 minute bus ride away.

One of our best holidays ever.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank furrycoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We travelled just before Christmas and we were very impressed with the hotel and the excellent value for money that it offered.
The staff are very helpful, friendly and efficient. Drinks are served quickly and plates whisked away ready for the next course to begin. There are plenty of staff dancing attention and they all seem genuinly keen to please. Food and drinks is always available.
The food is very good indeed. All meals are buffet style and the quality and immense variety is very impressive. There is no cutting corners with drinks or food just because it all-inclusive. On Christmas Eve sparkling wine and smoked salmon was on offer for breakfast.
The rooms were spacious, clean and well serviced; the beds were a bit firm but not too bad.
The grounds are well tended with flower and herb beds and fish ponds with fountains.
The hotel is quite a way out of Marrakesh with nothing to see within walking distance. However the hotel runs a shuttle service that runs a very punctual service into town although because of the traffic it does take twenty minutes.
The grounds are very extensive which means that most of the rooms are over 400 metres from the bar reception area. This means that you have to be organised as popping back to your room for something you have forgotten is quite time consuming.
Our main disappointment was the pool which was freezing cold- no one went in to it during our week. Granted it was December but the air temperature was a pleasant 25C and I would have welcomed a dip at times to cool off.
The actual pool complex is very good with plenty of loungers and landscapings. It was a shame that at times the peace and quiet was disturbed by the loud PA fron the ents team.
The accommodation blocks are obviously built with the oppressive summer heat in mind. Many of the balconies are well shielded from the sun; fine for the summer but not so in December when sitting out of the sun in early mornng late afternoon can be quite chilly.
Apart from the freezing cold pool and its relatively isolated location I would throuoghly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If travelling during the winter months ask for a room that gets the sun on its balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FreddyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Love the Riu chain, and once again not disappointed!!

Having stayed in Cyprus, Tunisia, and Portugal at this time of year was very surprised at how good the weather was, by far the warmest location , about 23 degrees each day, and on the sun bed round the pool the sun was so glorious I could only last about half an hour a time!. (chilly in the evenings) Pool guys great and pool beds comfortable with padded cushions, also big areas and massive cushions comfortable and big enough for a family, bril!.

Accommodation itself was first class, very clean, and nice sized rooms. The grounds were beautiful with flowers, cactus, ponds and even a herb garden.

The staff were once again second to none, as with most rius, however I must say that as a whole these may have been the best staff ever, special thanks to Mohammed Elwardi, Idrissayah, Samir and Hacham bel.

Lovely choice of food, meat, fish, pizza, chips, pasta etc and so many nice cakes!! (ive put on 10 pound!oops, but I enjoyed it!).

This accommodation is close to perfection, the only negative for me was the smoking being a none smoker, but unfortunately this happens in most holiday places.

In all loved it and will definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Weloveholidays1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We went end of Nov beginning of Dec. The weather was lovely and warm in
the day, not hot though, 18+. It was still well warm enough to sunbathe.The evenings were freezing, 6°.
With the weather out of the way let's talk hotel. It was amazing. As with all the other reviews, there are no negatives at all.
Although the entertainment team work very hard they can be a bit much if you
just want to relax.
All staff treat everyone as though each person is someone special. Nothing is too much trouble.
The beds are firm and we found them comfortable. The corridors could be a little noisy at night, but with ear plugs I had no problems. You have use of a free safe in the room. Beach towels are provided for use around the pool.

The food. :-)
The best we have ever had. The variety was amazing. Can't believe I didn't put more weight on. The Italian restaurant was a little disappointing however the Morrocan restaurant made up for it. You need to book both. the chef will willingly give you any recipes.
The pool is freeeeeeezing. Such a shame being the biggest pool in Marrakech, because none can swim in it.
Thomsons do very good tours. They offer 3 trips for £49(approx) Its a good idea to go on a guided tour of the souks just to build your confidence, although if you get taken to a herbalist type place, don't get suckerd in to buying their expensive products ....what they say is informative but you can buy the same a lot cheaper independently. We loved the souks. Even though everyone wants to drag you on to their stall. Be polite but firm. And enjoy.

Wished the hotel was a little closer to the town but the shuttle was brill. It has to be booked a day or so in advance so unless you catch a taxi a spur of the moment trip to the town is tricky.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool with the atlas mountains in full view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank auntydeb1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

What a fantastic place this is. The Resort was 100% clean there wasn't any place in the Resort that I could say wasn't clean, The staff were magnificent and could not do enough for you. The swimming pool was second to none, The food was brilliant, there was food for anyone as there was plenty to choose from. The only thing that I would say let the resort down was the Evening entertainment it was fairly amateurish but the entertainment team were lovely people. The room was HUGE there was a sofa, fridge and a free safe the room and plenty of space for clothes and we had a wardrobe each. We went for my partners 21st and in the morning we woke to find a letter under the door to say that they had not forgotten about her (even tho we had not mentioned this to anyone in the hotel) we went to dinner that evening to find a special table for us with a bottle of Champagne and rose petals spread over the table, then after dinner the waiters brought out a birthday cake and then sang happy birthday to her. The drinks in the resort were all branded (coke, fanta, sprite, schweppes bitter lemon, schweppes tonic water) overall this was fantastic and we would go back there in a flash we can not speak highly enough about this resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DanielWhite14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Visited this hotel in November 2012 for my partners 40th birthday and we weren't disappointed. We experienced some poor weather for a few days and this is usually when any faults with a hotel are highlighted. The only negative point about this hotel in my view is that smoking was permitted everywhere apart from the restaurants (if I was a smoker obviously this would not be a problem).

1. The entire hotel, grounds and rooms are immaculately clean.
2. The staff are so friendly, polite and helpful... Nothing is too much trouble.
3. The food is buffet style but varied, tasty, and wow, those desserts are awesome!
4. The rooms are basic but tasteful and huge.
5. The pool is enormous with plenty of sunbeds and 2 bars... Very beautiful surroundings.
6. The entertainment team is outstanding... So friendly, they remember your names and make you feel extra welcome. They even stand by the entrance to the restaurant every evening to greet you with the waiting staff.
7. There are plenty of trips available if you want to venture out and a free bus into Marrakech several times a day, free of charge.
8. There are lots of well fed, clean and friendly cats roaming around the grounds.
9. Quite simply, this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in and definitely the best staff I have ever encountered.
10. The giant sunbeds with beanbags are lush... The only way to bask in the sun.

If I ever return to Marrakech... this is where I'll be!

Room Tip: A high room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andria1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#123 of 499 in Marrakech
2,922 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#104 of 499 in Marrakech
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#111 of 499 in Marrakech
2,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
#154 of 499 in Marrakech
158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 499 in Marrakech
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £76 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing