We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An 18th To Remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #103 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Our daughter chose this hotel to celebrate her 18th birthday, she was not disappointed.
Cocktails on arrival at the hotel, and a quick check in, champagne in the room on arrival and then a special birthday table on the night of her birthday - more champagne, a delicious birthday cake and all the waiters singing to her!!
The hotel is really beautiful, very spacious and lovely log fires on a chilly evening. The grounds were kept really immaculate and a pleasure to walk through on the way to the main part of the hotel every day. Watch out for the frogs as they have a liking to sit on the paths in the evening, and the cats like to keep your seats warm during the day when you move.
The food in plentiful with a varied selection at every meal something for everyone to chose and the cakes are to die for!! The waiters are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The bar staff are all very friendly and after a few days they seem to know what everone is drinking before they place an order.
Entertainment staff are very enthusiastic with they pool routine in the afternoon and evening in the bar but the shows are a bit of a let down very amateurish but none the less they do put their heart and soul into doing them.
Down side not enough toileteries in the rooms would advise to take your own. Depending on which maid you get as to whether you get everything in the room cleaned.
The trips 3 for £49 were well worth the money. We had already taken a visit by ourselves to the Souk and got a little lost down the alleys so it was nice to go around the second time with a guide even though we would never find where he had taken us again!! The gardens were worth a trip and the carriage ride around the city is well worth the experience.
The free shuttle bus from the hotel to the city is brilliant we used it nearly every day but you do need to book the day before to get a seat. The driver will also drop you off en route if you need to go to another point on the journey.
The souks are not really a place to take a 10 year old even though we had taken advise from the web and travel agents before booking. Our 10 years old daughter was a little terrified of all the monkeys, snakes in your face and the henna ladies trying to stick the needles in you she much preferred the Artisan Centre where we were not hassled.
Just a quick note about Menara Airport put all your valuables in you hand luggage, no matter whether it is costume jewelery or shavers, because we had ours taken. Also when you go through security make sure you face your bag at all times as they are very quick at emptying your had luggage and you do not know what has been taken out because you are distracted.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank famous_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,682 - 3,688 of 5,912 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

We went here for my birthday in November, loved the hotel it was fantastic,kept so clean, yes it is a smoking hotel but you can still find less smokey places to sit! The entertainment team were very friendly and very welcoming! The rooms were huge and kept so clean and very comfortable. The maids do a very good job in keeping the rooms perfect with such lovely touches when you come back to see how they have decorated the bed,pjs or towels! The grounds are beautiful,kept so well and a sense of "being looked after" with the grounds security patrolling. The swimming pool looked gorgeous all tho way to cold to get in!! Ample sun beds and comfy cushions.
All the staff were so very very friendly and helpful, a big thank you to our waiter Ousamma and leila , who were just amazing! I had a lovely birthday table,and was made to feel so special, the waiters and waitresses are such a credit to the hotel!
Trips.....we went on a camel ride.....hilarious and worth it! An hr and 15 mins in total riding our camels!! The trip to the souks/medina was such an eye opener!!! Thank God we had a guide cos we would have definitely got lost! Found it very scary the first time we went in..... Was hennaed and monkeyed and a snake in my face all within the first 10 minutes of "free time" in the medina!!!!!! Although the second time we were much more prepared and knew what to expect and was ready to haggle!!we also did horse and carriage by night which we also enjoyed ,we would have loved to do the Atlas Mountains but ran out of time! Although some friends went and they said it was perfect and worth every penny!
In all we had a lovely weeks holiday,weather was hot, managed to do some sunbathing but obviously got cooler in the evening,but the roaring open fireplaces in the lobby areas soon warmed us up!
I suffer with ulcerative colitis so was rather worried that I would have a flare up, but stuck to bottled water and "normal" food and found I was better there than I am at home!!
Thank you so much to all the lovely friendly staff you really made us feel so special on our first holiday in years!
Would definitely recommend for a weeks holiday with your partner, not so much for a family with children, but perfect for alone time with your loved one!!!!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We have just arrived back 24th December 2012 and just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay. The weather was kind 21c to 26c all week. The hotel is very large and is kept spotless at all times. The staff are a credit to the hotel and really make the stay all that more special, we have two young children and they went out of their way to make them feel at home.

The food was good with a very good selection of hot and cold food. The bars offered a very good selection of drinks including about 8 different cocktails. The indoor pool was very quiet and was large enough, while the gym has a good range of fitness equipment.

The bus which the hotel runs from 10am till 8.00pm into Marrakech is a great added bonus as a taxi would be approx £10.

Great stay, would stay with Riu Chain of hotels.

Room Tip: Choose first floor rooms. The rooms have tile floors and if you are on the ground you will get all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I have been on quite a few Thomson Holidays and have in the past particularly enjoyed staying at their Platinum hotels but this certainly does not meet their normal standards. The room was fine but the toiletries were very poor in the bathroom, sachets of shampoo and a bar of soap. All the maid at the beginning of the week was very good it was obvious by the end of the week they had changed and I had rubbish left behind in the room and the water glass was taken out but not replaced.

Food was the same everyday and very boring. Their only saving grace was the food in the Moroccan Restaurant which you had to pre-book, don't bother with the Italian Restaurant. By the end of my holiday there was a massive of new comers that had arrived and the self service lunch restaurant and evening restaurant was like a bun fight at a canteen, not what I expected.

The entertainment or lack of entertainment was appalling. During the day there were some reps trying to get drunken English people to join in with table tennis competitions and darts. It seemed it was the same people that took part in this sort of entertainment but certainly not my cup of tea. In the evening their was a show if you can call it that the same poor reps doing Elvis/Michael Jackson imitations.

Overall I must say that having paid quite a lot of money to go on this holiday for a short break I felt very let down and feel that Thomson has let their standards down. I would not recommend this holiday to anyone unless they were on a three day break maybe so the food doesn't get too boring and you can put up with everything else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigger1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

There isn't a great deal to add to what everybody else has said about this place.

Staff, cleanliness, animation team, food and setting all amazing.

Highly recommended for a great chill out with the buzz of Marrakech just a 20 minute bus ride away.

One of our best holidays ever.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank furrycoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We travelled just before Christmas and we were very impressed with the hotel and the excellent value for money that it offered.
The staff are very helpful, friendly and efficient. Drinks are served quickly and plates whisked away ready for the next course to begin. There are plenty of staff dancing attention and they all seem genuinly keen to please. Food and drinks is always available.
The food is very good indeed. All meals are buffet style and the quality and immense variety is very impressive. There is no cutting corners with drinks or food just because it all-inclusive. On Christmas Eve sparkling wine and smoked salmon was on offer for breakfast.
The rooms were spacious, clean and well serviced; the beds were a bit firm but not too bad.
The grounds are well tended with flower and herb beds and fish ponds with fountains.
The hotel is quite a way out of Marrakesh with nothing to see within walking distance. However the hotel runs a shuttle service that runs a very punctual service into town although because of the traffic it does take twenty minutes.
The grounds are very extensive which means that most of the rooms are over 400 metres from the bar reception area. This means that you have to be organised as popping back to your room for something you have forgotten is quite time consuming.
Our main disappointment was the pool which was freezing cold- no one went in to it during our week. Granted it was December but the air temperature was a pleasant 25C and I would have welcomed a dip at times to cool off.
The actual pool complex is very good with plenty of loungers and landscapings. It was a shame that at times the peace and quiet was disturbed by the loud PA fron the ents team.
The accommodation blocks are obviously built with the oppressive summer heat in mind. Many of the balconies are well shielded from the sun; fine for the summer but not so in December when sitting out of the sun in early mornng late afternoon can be quite chilly.
Apart from the freezing cold pool and its relatively isolated location I would throuoghly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If travelling during the winter months ask for a room that gets the sun on its balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FreddyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Love the Riu chain, and once again not disappointed!!

Having stayed in Cyprus, Tunisia, and Portugal at this time of year was very surprised at how good the weather was, by far the warmest location , about 23 degrees each day, and on the sun bed round the pool the sun was so glorious I could only last about half an hour a time!. (chilly in the evenings) Pool guys great and pool beds comfortable with padded cushions, also big areas and massive cushions comfortable and big enough for a family, bril!.

Accommodation itself was first class, very clean, and nice sized rooms. The grounds were beautiful with flowers, cactus, ponds and even a herb garden.

The staff were once again second to none, as with most rius, however I must say that as a whole these may have been the best staff ever, special thanks to Mohammed Elwardi, Idrissayah, Samir and Hacham bel.

Lovely choice of food, meat, fish, pizza, chips, pasta etc and so many nice cakes!! (ive put on 10 pound!oops, but I enjoyed it!).

This accommodation is close to perfection, the only negative for me was the smoking being a none smoker, but unfortunately this happens in most holiday places.

In all loved it and will definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Weloveholidays1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#122 of 499 in Marrakech
2,952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#101 of 499 in Marrakech
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#108 of 499 in Marrakech
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40070, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £76 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing