We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb staff in every department of the hotel - faultless.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #100 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb staff in every department of the hotel - faultless.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and it was even better than we remembered; the service and genuine friendliness of the staff really made our holiday.

The sports activities by the outstanding animation team, in particular, brought guests together in both fun competitions to proper team sports helping a resort based day fly by and giving guests the chance to mix relaxing by the pool with inclusive activities such as aqua fit, volleyball, football, water polo, children's sports, ping pong, darts, dance classes, yoga, bingo.... You name it there was something for everyone. Their energy was infectious.

Our room was a generous size for two and was cleaned thoroughly each day. Reception staff couldn't do enough to help and waiting staff were friendly and efficient with a fantastic ability to remember your favourite drink despite the hotel being full.

Most staff speak numerous languages to help you get by but with French as their second language it's pretty straight forward to muddle through where necessary.

We made good use of the shuttle bus into the Medina where you can experience more culture in 15 minutes than many destinations can provide in a full week.

An excellent holiday, amazing hotel, service, culture and weather.

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateSummer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,715
    1,820
    546
    134
    71
See reviews for
1,309
2,824
55
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

loved the hotel not the town felt a bit wary in the town! busy and a bit ummmm! bit this hotel was fab loved it would go back if just want a week of doing nothing. lovely pool and the staff are fab really friendly, entertainment was ok what I saw spent most time in main bar area being spoilt by staff.....a short flight, nice food and yes value for money in my eyes.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 1 week at this hotel. Been around the world here & there previously. This hotel is totally amazing! Staff are unbelievable! As for the moaners on here, firstly it isn't rated a 5star hotel, so why people say certainly isn't 5 star is beyond me. I would of payed double the price! Everything was spot on! Well done riu. 4x4 Atlas Mountains trip was out of this world. Please egnore all negative views, you couldn't have a bad time if u tried. So sad people make up a load of rubbish. Was 53 degrees all week... Although it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be , (heat wise) but the UV rays are very very high there. So be careful. My son went brown in about 30mins on the first day. Sounds silly, but it's true. Luckily he didn't burn tho. I made him wear a t shirt etc in the pool after that. Also its was at full capacity & the hotel is so big, it was ace. not over crowded at all like people of made out.

The only downside is...... I should of booked 2 weeks :-(.

100% lovely and amazing hotel... Thanks so much riu........

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 27apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks from 8th August 2013 and we can't wait to go back.

Going through the airport on arrival was quick & efficient followed by a comfortable short ride to the hotel (only took around 25-30mins). We arrived around 9.30pm to a fruit punch and told to go straight through to get some food. Checking in followed which was quick and painless - after locating our bags they were soon delivered to our room. Please be aware this is a massive complex (over 5,000 rooms) and it took us some time to find our room. The room was clean and basic but comfortable and cool - to be truthful we were hardly in our room!!!! It was cleaned every day and we were left 1-2 bottles of water daily but you can always ask for a bottled of water from any of the bars during the day. After reading lots of reviews we requested a room which was a bit of a walk from any noise (room 1127) so was quite of an evening and we were never disturbed.

The pool is massive with plenty of beds but be advised we were getting up any time from 6.30-7.00am to get a good spot and loungers - be advised this is down to all the Brits!!!!! The sun was out from 8am until 7-8pm and was very hot.

The food is plentiful with lots of different meals & plenty of choice for everybody. The main restaurant is always busy but it doesn't ever look like a school canteen - everybody queues and waits their turn. The Moroccan restaurant is a must - totally gorgeous food. Only bad point about this restaurant is they sometimes try to fit too many people in and we were squashed up a corner with the next "table for 2" right up against our table - apart from that it was a lovely evening.

The staff are so friendly and polite - shame this cant be said for the Reception staff who always seemed to be uninterested and unable to smile. They just didn't seem to be bothered and their English is very poor which sometimes made things quite hard. You can request the day before you depart to keep your room longer - we tried this but be warned I was told a different price to the man in front of me (and we both wanted to keep the room until 4pm) but a lady was told the week before that it was free of charge. We didn't keep our room but there are amenities at the in-door pool for you to shower and change without any problems.

The entertainment is amateur but they really do try their hardest. They always do evening entertainment and work very hard during the day also with yogo, aqua aerobics, table tennis, volley ball etc...... They are totally amazing with the children and from what we seen the children totally love them.

There is a shuttle bus facility into the town centre - we had a very unpleasant experience and would avoid going into the town by yourself. If you wanted to explore I would advise paying extra and booking with your tour operator and going as a group and with a guide. The hotel doesn't have much around there is a shop in the hotel and also a very short taxi ride will get you to local supermarket (the hotel does have their own taxi's which can be booked for you).

It is a lovely hotel for couples or families and we can't wait to go back next year with our children.

Room Tip: Email your tour operator and request If you would like an upstairs room or a quite room away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week at the beginning of May. Myself and partner had never been on an AI holiday before and with recommendations from friends to stay at this hotel we thought we'd give it a try.

Beautiful hotel and grounds, very clean, fantastic staff and the food was delicious.

We booked the holiday through Thomsons and the reps were very helpful and gave good advice about the area. I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Marrakech.

The hotel manager was always walking around checking everything was ok and always made an effort to come to speak to you which I thought was a nice touch.

I also had a treatment in the spa which was very reasonable and very relaxing.

WIFI was available in the main hotel which was useful (even though a little slow during peak times).

The only negative I would say about this hotel is I don't think there are enough sun beds/loungers for the number of guests. With there not being a beach in the area most people stay by the pool during the day. We stayed early May which I don't think is a peak time and we struggled to find a bed. I should have got up earlier and it probably wouldn't have been an issue :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laur3njayn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here on our first stay to morrocco and one word fantastic.i was quite suprised after reading some bad reviews ,i my self work in a travel agents so sort of knew what to expect but this hotel went over and beyong my expectations.The food was amazing but only if you like to try morrocon culture,the food could become very samey if you were hunting for english food ha.the entertainment team were fab and the hote lwas cleaned everyday.

Everyday we came back to fresh bedding and fresh bottles of water in the fridge.The staff could not do enough for you here.The pool is just amazing really nice and cool ecspecially in the temperatures it was ,far too hot for my liking but live and learn..

I strongly reccomend the ouzzard waterfall tour that was just amazing the views were spectacular and had grwat fun going out on boats that were totally not safe but its all part of the fun..and they are not too badly priced either ..TIP -ignore the only morrocan dirham,they expect every currency here euros american dollars sterling aswell as their own money.

overall this hotel was just fab fab fab fab,,i would reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mailey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The first thing to say is that this is an "all inclusive" resort. That means you'll be given a wrist band to wear for the duration, the meals are buffet style, drinks will be served "en-mass" (most if the time) and the wine isn't going to be Chateau Rothschild 1986.

That being said, this is an excellent, quality, very safe, value for money, family holiday that I highly recommend.

The resort is situated 20-30 minutes from Marrakech International Airport. If you've arrived via the Thompson/First Choice package then your transfer is per-arranged. If, like us, you're do-it-yourself, then you'll need to get a taxi which, despite official signs stating the price as 125 Dirham, it could be up to 200drm (depending on how confused your taxi driver can make you). Don't worry though, this price fluctuation (up or down) is an everyday event in Marrakech, with haggling for price an essential part of most transactions. Get into it....you'll enjoy it as do the Moroccans themselves!

The rooms are basic but comfortable. The air-conditioning works very well and is quiet enough to sleep with on. Large bottles of mineral water are replenished every day as the water in the taps isn't drinkable. There is a small television with channels in various languages including a few favourites that we'd all recognise. Each room has its own small porch leading onto a private grass area.

All restaurants and the auditorium are fully non smoking however the main reception building and bar allow smoking inside. This can be annoying for non-smokers but in a country where smoking is usually allowed everywhere, it's a small inconvenience as you don't have to spend much time there if you choose not to.

Wifi is available but notoriously unreliable and only available in the main building. Its particularly poor in the evenings when every man, woman and child is attempting to access the Internet. It's very frustrating and something they need to resolve.

The pool is huge! An adult can stand up everywhere into pool with the depth going from 0.8m to 1.5m as you move around. One whole side has a long, gentle slope into the pool. Unfortunately the European habit of placing towels on sun loungers at ridiculously early hours of the morning is thriving at the Riu Tikida. If there's more than two of you (we are a family if 4 with small children) you'll just have to get used to this and get involved if you want to ensure a place with shade. The upside of this is that the clientele is predominantly northern English and French so the moreTeutonic tendency to remove belongs from "saved spaces" doesn't happen. Towels are available from reception throughout the day. This can be inconvenient if your room is far across the property and an exchange "at pool side" would be far more sensible. The grounds are extremely well maintained with gardeners constantly at work keeping the grass lush and the flowers blooming.

The staff are wonderful; extremely friendly and always on hand should you need anything. A small tip of 20drm greases the wheels and keeps everyone smiling. Entertainment occurs constantly throughout the day either by the pool, in the pool, in the Mini, Maxi or Teeny Clubs and into the night with kids disco, kids movies and a family show every night.

As mentioned and despite an earlier posting re smoking in the restaurants, these are all now completely non-smoking. And the food is far better than I expected. You can be as healthy or as decadent as you would like at Riu Tikida with a buffet restaurant available for all every night in the main dining room or you can book 24 hours early for a sitting at the Italian (not fantastic) or traditional Moroccan (very good) specialty restaurants. I've eaten in some very exclusive restaurants all over the world and I'm happy to say I enjoyed all of my meals at Tikida.

The gym is very well stocked with relatively new machinery and is air conditioned. The Spa is very nice with excellent, well priced packages for everything from a back massage to a 2 hour indulgence!

A coach transfer to and from the Medina is available at various times throughout the day although I would highly recommend booking in advance as places fill up quickly. Also worth booking in advance (8am the morning before you leave) is a late check out. Most UK flights leave late afternoon and with an 11am checkout you could find yourself storing your luggage and showering in the Spa. At 500drm for a very late checkout its well worth the investment.

With a 5 year old and a 9 year old to feed, water and keep entertained I rate this property very highly as an excellent family get away.

Room Tip: I believe there are 5 main accommodation blocks with ground floor and first floor rooms, radiating f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samndan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#118 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,634 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#108 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#103 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,571 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing