We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for a trip over New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #108 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a trip over New Year”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Please check the pictures one of them is a map of the hotel grounds - see room details for more information

We booked the trip for 1 week over New Year, hope the following helps you to have a great holiday:
Book a private transfer - we did and got there about an hour before the coach - good swift check-in.
Room - 1031 ground floor room in a quite location - everything in working order. There is no kettle in the room so I took my travel kettle plus coffee and teabags, you can gain more teabags in the hotel if you run out. The room is large with 2 wardrobes, toilet is separate to the main bathroom. There are no charging points near the bed so take an extension cable. Good sized mirror and plug for your hairdryer (which I took with me) - there is a hairdryer also in the bathroom.

Further information on the rooms - Rooms 4001 - 4164 & 5001-5164 are near the pool not all of them have a pool view. Rooms 3001-3118 are near to the kids pool. Rooms 1001-1132 some have views of the Atlas mountains but near to the road. Rooms 2001-2116 in a small courtyard formation. Due to the position of most rooms you either gain early or late sun on your balcony/patio

Eating - Breakfast from 7.30am - 10.30am, then they do a continental breakfast until midday. Lunch is from 12 till 3.30pm then this turns in to afternoon tea (but not many cakes). If you are not full by this stage dinner starts from 7.30pm onwards. All food good could be warmer!.
Pool - The pool is cold only saw 2/3 people dive in then out - not heated and not good for a family holiday with kids (Colder than the North sea)
Drinks - plenty of self service machines but the coffees and soft drinks are much better from the bar - Coffees they do all types including Latte/Cappuccino's/Moroccan mint tea. They have a limited spirits menu, no Baileys but I had the Mojitos instead which were very good. There are 2 bars at the hotel one is smoking bar, but there is seating outside for non smokers. The other bar is where the entertainment is rows of seats and poor entertainment. There is no seating outside but at New Year it was cold at night - Jeans/Jumper and scarf.
Trips - We booked them all before we went so we could plan and pay less they included a day trip to the Atlas Mountains in a private 4X4, Quad Biking for half a day. We also went into Marrakesh for the day on our own - felt very safe lovely place to visit with lots to see (get yourself a guide book before you go) It you do not want to use the shuttle bus into Marrakesh it's about £16 return and £20 return at night.
Just wanted to say also we met some great people Eleanor and Glen which was the icing on the cake.

You ask why not 5 stars - heated pool would have been good for the money plus our friends room was sub standard. They could also make an adult only part of the restaurant

Room Tip: If you a particular room try emailing them before you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,757
    1,875
    565
    149
    79
See reviews for
1,352
2,888
58
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I spent the 2nd week in November 2013 enjoying glorious weather and the very good facilities in this hotel. The hotel is set in beautifully tended gardens and the rooms are spread across the whole of the complex - this was fine during our stay in glorious sunshine but would have been a bit of an issue if the weather had changed. All parts of the hotel were beautifully clean and the public areas were very stylish. The service in the hotel was of a very high standard. The spa was well worth a visit and was good value for money and the regular shuttle bus provided by the hotel into Marrakech town centre was very handy. The hotel is well placed for exploring the local area and a particular highlight was a day trip into the Atlas Mountains. I was not sure what to expect as I embarked on this holiday but I would not hesitate to return to this hotel in particular to enjoy some winter sunshine.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue you would need to request a room as close to the public areas as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a night, the night before Xmas eve at this fantastic property. I think the place is gorgeous and could be better with better training for the their customer service lots.
You think being recently developed, wi-fi would be a given in and around the complex. Ludicrous and aggravating to have to walk 500 meters to access some painfully slow wi-fi in the main reception area.
I am not going to knock front desk staff much because it could have been that we caught them on one of those bad days and considering other good reviews. Staffs looked disinterested and tired, perhaps from dealing with so many customers and their numerous complaints . It was not until after many phone calls, shuttling back and forth like four times in six hours before we could secure a make shift bed for the kids.
I must say the manager, Pablo was very good and helpful but he needs to better manage his staff and tranfer some of his skills.
The hotel is immaculate and the food is ok.
I would try it again and recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank goodneuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Clean spacious room with toilet separate from shower. We didn't tip but all the staff were very friendly and helpfull. The food was very good and plenty to choose from. We didn't use the shuttle to town. Stayed on the resort alsmost all the time. In all a great place to be lazy in the sun ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurensRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed last December and had a lovely time, and lovely weather, so decided to go back. Once again had a lovely time, grounds beautiful, yes the rooms are not based in the hotel, but you know this from the photos, and even though I do prefer my room to be in the hotel I put this aside because of the lovely accommodation and brilliant staff, never had a £9.50 sun holiday, but think I need one if as nice as this!. As regards to the tea/coffee in rooms, even when we have had this on past holidays, we never use it so maybe that is the same with the majority and why it is not provided, the same being with the gown and slippers, totally pointless to me and I am very fussy.

When we did arrive there was a very drunk man, and we thought oh no, but this was a one off, luckily, my idea of a good holiday is not very drunk people everywhere, so if the drinks are a bit weak, ( not that I noticed), I would say great.

Luckily we had 6 out of 7 lovely days where you could sun bathe the other day was very chilly, and we were pleased to get back to our room. Plenty of sun beds and lovely massive padded areas.

We have travelled and do know better, and the only negative thing I could say if being 'picky', yes the rooms are very dark with brown roofs and bedding,(I do like white bedding as you can see if its spotlessly clean, however this is not necessarilly practical to large hotels) , our shower head had a bit of a mind of its own, towels and bedding weren't brillant quality, but everything was very clean and we had some lovely towel displays from the cleaners.

Last year the internet was perfect, but this year had very limited access, disappointed son, but really you shouldn't be going on holiday to be on the internet, day and night!. However it was frustrating when you couldn't get access if you needed it. I'm sure they will resolve it in the near future.

Plenty choice of food from morning to night, and a visit to the Italian and Moroccan is recommended.

Nice to see smoking is no longer allowed in the seating areas inside and only allowed in the bar.

Found all staff to be lovely and special thanks goes to our bar staff (didn't get the names), who remembered our orders, and we don't drink alot!. Also special thanks to Lachcen, Adil, Hachem bel, Samir, Abdul, in the restaurant, we will hopefully see you all again soon.

With regards the public toilets, the ones inside the hotel (didn't see any others) they were spotless and when it comes to toilets I will generally go back to my room rather than use a public one, but I quite happilly used the hotels.

In all a lovely place, if you just want to chill and relax with in our opinion lovely, helpful, friendly staff, personally never noticed any inappropriate behaviour from the staff with children, just being friendly and sociable.

My only negative comment is with Thomsons Variable pricing policy, we usually book early to get the best deal, and to find they reduced it by £300 later on was very disappointing, and for the same holiday to vary from £850 to £1550 is disgusting!. rant over! (Contacted them but they wouldn't do anything!).

In all, we once again has a lovely time and will hopefully return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Weloveholidays1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Overall a very nice hotel with beautiful interior decor and gardens. Our room was very spacious, Contrary to some comments, we found that the towels were soft and the bed firm but very comfortable. Our balcony had a lovely view across carefully tended gardens towards a sunrise over the Atlas mountains,

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and the food was plentiful in choice and without exception delicious. Inclusive really meant inclusive! : unlimited cocktails by the pool , pre-dinner drinks at the bar , drinks with the meals . Free shuttle bus to town centre although it need to be reserved but we never had any problems even when reserving at the last moment.
We booked a few excursions through the Thomson rep Rachid who spoke excellent English and French and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful,
Our only problem was poor Internet access.The root cause of which remains outside the management control. We understand that this is currently a feature of African infrastructure. The hotel manager let us use his office computer on several occasions and did everything in his power to help.
We intend to use the hotel chain again as they have the balance between quality and price absolutely spot on... Nearly everyone we spoke with had previously tried a RIU hotel and this hotel does not disappoint.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are closer to the amenities but have busier walking traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marylene-jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we were due to go to egypt again, we go twice a year but thomson on line cancelled the flight so in a panic get get a holiday with the same dates went went into our local thomson shop they found us this holiday , we were a little unsure having never been to morocco before . no worries it was a fab hotel , platium , 4 star, . the grounds , pool and staff were the best . our room 1423 overlooked the pool , and the lady who cleaned it everyday was lovely , she didnt speak a word of english but was a ray of sunshine , and always topped our room up with all its needs . the restaraunt and its staff were happy helpful guys to . will go back to this hotel again . the only slight downside was that in nov the pool is not heated and was freezing ... take a jacket or cardigan as the evenings can be quite cold .

Room Tip: overlooking the pool was great for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#115 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#114 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#104 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,759 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing