We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #107 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a wonderful holiday here. The gardens are lovely and peaceful, the perfect place to retreat to when you have had enough of the city. I would really recommend this hotel if you are staying for a week or more in marrakech, but if you are only staying a few days, you might prefer a raid in the centre. Marrakech is an amazing city to explore (less hassle than I expected) and you will probably want to spend a few days exploring the souk and the main square. The hotel is on the outskirts of the city (about half an hour on the hotel bus), and you could easily spend a few relaxing days by the hotel pool or in the gardens to break up more hectic days in the city. There isn't much within walking distance of the hotel though.

The food was a real high point. There were really varied buffets for every meal, so you will find something to suit your taste- vegetarian, fish, salad, fruit, meat, local tagines and cous cous, chips, pasta, pizza, cakes, fruit salad. You can eat healthy if you want, but hard to resist the puddings!

The rooms were clean and quite spacious, all with some outdoor space or balcony I think. The lights were a bit weirdly wired in our room, and beds fairly firm, towels seen better days too, but overall we were very comfy. Staff were really helpful.

Pools are lovely. The outdoor pool was cold in February, but massive, and the indoor pool very nice (too deep for young children to touch the bottom). Lots of sun loungers around the outdoor pool. Free table tennis and other games, and some stretching and aqua aerobics classes were nice to burn off all that food. The grounds are big and it was a pleasant five minute walk to the room. My kids found other children to play football with at the sports area. Hotel guests are mainly European, lots of French speakers but some English too. Lots of retired couples, some families(though not quite as many as I expected) and also seems popular with gay couples. Some wheelchair users as not too many steps. Not many people under thirty though.

There was lots of wildlife in the gardens including frogs, turtles, lots of birds and fish, and interesting plants.

Wifi available in the reception and restaurant but a bit temperamental.

Hotel do a good exchange rate, just as good as in town. You need to book a seat on the hotel bus a day in advance. Hotel shop very over priced, and the hotel Hammam was also a bit over priced for what it was. Other than that it was hard to spend money in the hotel, as everything is included. But you can spend lots of money in the souk in town, so leave room in your luggage for lots of souvenirs!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,895 - 2,901 of 5,877 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is as good as all the other good reviews it has received and we had a really good time here.
The staff are some of the best we have ever encountered and really couldn't do enough for you.
The pool REALLY is as cold as people say.
Was never a problem getting a sun bed even after 9 am.
Food was generally very good but was getting boring after the week.
The italian and moroccan restaurants were ok but could have been better.
The wifi is a little hit and miss and they really need to improve their coverage to the rest of the hotel as we have stayed in hotels with 100% wifi coverage so it can be done.
One point i would like to cover is the comments from some previous reviewers about this hotel being huge and that the rooms are a long walk from the rest of the hotel...........RUBBISH!!!our room was about as far from the reception,lobby and restaurants that you can get and it took us less than 5 minutes to get there.the resort is a decent size but no where near as big as some people say.
With a little work this hotel would be worth 5 stars from me but its not far away from it now.
The weather was great and it got warmer as the week went on.
P.S.Marrakech is fantastic and well worth the trip to get there.my advise is to get stuck into the souks and haggle as there are bargains to be had.
P.P.S.some previous comments about the thomsons rep can be ignored as Michelle has taken over now and she was a breath of fresh air.helpful,friendly and funny.thanks Michelle.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank falldownalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Booked this as a trouble-free Winter break. It's a decent enough hotel, touted by Thomson as handpicked with a 4T rating, it isn't really it is a 3 1/2 star.
The rooms are nice and big, but starting to show wear and tear, Free safety deposit box. Fridge in room and bottled water supplied daily.
Beautiful landscaped garden areas. Big pool plenty of sunbeds but problem with the early morning towel laying squad.
Food is all buffet, even in restaurants and it is all lukewarm and a scrum to get to. The morrocan restaurant the best of bunch.
Staff are very friendly and make an effort to say hello or bonjour/bon soir when you pass them . Some issues with cleanliness as the glasses are not cleared from the outside tables. I even noticed that there were dirty plates left overnight, not nice when there is wildlife about.
Overall good for short winter break but not a romantic break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boogiebumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Visited this hotel for a weeks winter break. The weather was fab, Hotel was lovely out of the town and very quiet, hotel was very clean and comfortable
The only thing to disappoint was the pool beautiful but freezing cold, there was an indoor pool heated, but who wants to be in side when the sun is shining, food was plentiful with lots of choice Drinks were not to bad not as much choice as in some of the Riu hotels we have visited,
Do the Medina and Souks trip an eye opener brill and if you get Mohammad as you guide you will be in for a treat very interesting

Room Tip: All rooms were well away from main hotel so no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shellylincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here from February 21st for a week and just couldn't fault the place. We arrived about 8.00pm and reception was rather busy so was told we could go for food and check in later so within about an hour we'd eaten,checked in and unpacked so time to try the bar,from that first evening we found the bar staff to really quick and friendly and all drinks of good quality,same applied to the food and a special mention to the Morrocan restaurant. Basically there wasn't anything we could fault about the place it was just great and seven days of sunshine helped. On to Marrakech fantastic place visited Jemaa El Fna and souks and also modern part,found there was a lot less hassle than there used to be all in all a great holiday. Oh nearly forgot special mention to the shuttle bus driver really happy go lucky,which is surprising when he spends most of his day negotiating the madness of the Marrakech roads.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very welcoming & attentive staff, everywhere clean & well maintained. Lovely well kept grounds & outside areas including the pool area. Rooms spacious & well equipped. Food was varied & well prepared but not very exciting; Italian restaurant was particularly disappointing but the Moroccan restaurant was a real treat. Mixed clients of varied nationalities was welcome - no boisterous or drunken behavior !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

From the moment we entered the hotel the staff were friendly & attentive. We received an upgraded room so our party could stay next to each other in the resort. Unfortunately we were too busy on day trips to enjoy all the activities & entertainment that was available but did use the gym twice. The gym doesn't open until 9am & brekkie finishes at 10.30 so its not great if your an early riser & want to fit a couple of hours in at the gym before. You don't need to worry if you do miss breakfast & you are all inc as snacks start at 10.30 there is food available all day !!!! The food was v.good & we enjoyed the Morroccan restaurant on several occasions - No wonder I put on 4lbs !!!! You MUST go on 'Discover Morrocco' tour as it shows you the highlights & a guided tour of the souks - believe me it is v. easy to get lost !!! Remember to take a jumper for the evenings as the temperature drops dramatically!! We wished we had stayed longer & would definitely use this resort again in the future.

Room Tip: suite just has extra seating area not worth paying for unless you think you'll be entertaining
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gcloeboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#123 of 500 in Marrakech
2,925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#106 of 500 in Marrakech
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#112 of 500 in Marrakech
2,287 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#136 of 500 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40070, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £77 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing