We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor indifferent animation team spoilt a good hotel !! shame for a Riu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“poor indifferent animation team spoilt a good hotel !! shame for a Riu”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for a weeks break, As a Riu gold card members we know what to expect from the Riu hotels,this was a nice hotel, the staff were brilliant, the hotel and rooms were spotless. The food was not as good as most we have been to, not as much selection. The grounds were beautiful, well maintained and designed. However the hotel was let down by the miserable boring animation team. The evening entertainment was almost none existent, the daytime was just as bad, in fact we organised ourselves into teams for the bowls as they didn't want to know. I realize that hey are not professional entertainers but we have been to many many Riu's where the animation teams have helped make our holidays, but here ?? The only other downside is there is nowhere at all just to go for a little stroll we knew this when we booked. If you want a really quite stress free holiday this is fine but not really suitable for a slightly energetic couple of 62. The hotel do put on a curtsy bus into the city center several times a day , which we used a couple of times but once y0u hae been you have done it !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BERYLMOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,819
    1,925
    588
    158
    82
See reviews for
1,377
2,972
61
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The room was very dark and at the very far side of the tennis courts. It was lovely and clean but shabby. Towels and bedding very grey. Two single beds that were not comfy. We got woken up every morning at 5am and 3am by loud noises on the terrace. When we reported it the reception they thought it might be staff walking the dog. It stopped but then two girls moved in next door who made a lot of noise. The room was £39 to keep on as our flight was leaving late. When I've been in a platinum hotel before we've not paid and never paid so much before to keep a room longer. The cleaner that day kept knocking on the door asking when we were leaving.

The restaurant was like a canteen where you were sat next to other guests. The food was not very warm but a good choice. The Italian was nothing special as I was expecting A la carte but the same as main restaurant with a selection of the main restaurant dishes. The Moroccan restaurant was lovely food but I was not keen on sitting next to other guests and it was very hot inside.

The gardens were beautiful and pool area. It says do not reserve beds but guests were saving them from early morning and not even coming to them most of the day. Pool is slippery and freezing cold.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The bus into Marrakech is a must.

I would recommend the hotel but not to expect it to be a 4 star. I know some may say value for money but that all depends if you were lucky to have paid less than we did.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

For a cheap last minute deal we certainly got more than we expected with this hotel, the room was clean and spacious, cleaners cleaned properly everyday the hotel grounds were lovely although the pool is FREEZING. The food was good and had a wide variety of choice, much better quality than other North African hotels I have visited. The bar staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the animation team (especially Marco) were even better the most friendly hotel staff I have ever met, always willing to help and make your holiday enjoyable. My only complaints would be is the hotel is a bit far from anything the only thing within walking distance is the supermarket everything else you have to get a taxi to get there and as two young couples we found staying mostly around the hotel quite boring. We also had antibiotics and perfume go missing from the room we weren't sure if this was the cleaners or not so did not want to start accusing. But apart from that all in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel and staff were brilliant, staff couldn't do enough for us. Had a problem with our safe and the maintenance staff came straight away to fix it. Great choice of food in all three restaurants, beautiful room, lovely gardens. Used the free bus into Marrakech several times, really enjoyed the atmosphere in the city centre. Only downs were the outdoor pool was unheated we travelled in November and a slight smell of cats in the Morrocan restaurant and Saloon Bar. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We booked up for an all inclusive for the first time ever, partly expecting a cheap butlins type of run-down resort because of the price. It was anything but. We have read through a lot of the mediocre and bad reviews of this place and really don't understand what these people are complaining about, unless they were unfortunate enough to pay a luxury 5star price. In my estimate we got a 4star hotel for a 2star price.

Yes the food wasn't quite fine dining as you would get in London or Edinburgh, and a few times I picked up the odd dish that wasn't to my taste but it's all inclusive so if you don't like it you go find a dish that you do like. Their traditional dishes in their Moroccan restaurant were good. The first night we had in the Italian restaurant was not quite what I expected, it was a good attempt at Italian cooking, but not quite what I was used to. However when we went back the second time I simply tried a few different dishes and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The main food hall restaurant had a little bit of everything and every couple of nights they gave it a theme (Spanish, Oriental, etc). Again not the best food I have ever tasted as fine dining goes but what do you expect when they are trying to cook for the masses on a budget. The range of food you were bound to find something to your taste. And if you are traveling with a young family then you couldn't ask for better.

Some people have complained about a few things such as the cocktails coming out of a machine, ours were always made individually. Yes there were a few families with young kids, but we didn't find there were that many. If you don't like kids then I suggest you either go to an adults only resort or go when all the schools are not on holiday. And no you probably couldn't just walk to the Madina, but the hotel lays on a free shuttle bus several times a day. Journey takes about 20mins.

The activities were enough to keep some people occupied if lounging by the pool wasn't enough. Evening entertainment, including UK football games on a huge TV were put on every evening. The gardens were sprawling so you didn't feel as if you were penned in.

The bedrooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. Again not a 5star luxury room, but we didn't expect that for the money we paid, we were however more than happy.

And finally the staff were so helpful and friendly. We found there was nothing too much trouble for them. (And no we didn't tip until we were checking out, they are not nice to you just for the tips, they are genuinely helpful staff). If we went back to Marrakech we would have no hesitation in coming back for a cheep week in the sun.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have their patio areas opening up to the gardens so great for spreading out and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Our holiday was in December, would recommend going earlier as the pool was freezing, only one or two people braved the water and only for a very short time. The weather was warm but not really hot enough to sunbathe.
Good free shuttle bus, very helpful driver, market well worth visiting. We walked out quite safely.
Food was not the best but you will not starve. Staff are very good, room okay.
In all a good holiday, probably will not return as we missed the beach.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Overall this hotel is excellent value for money.
Rooms are good sized and very clean, but avoid ground floor. Bad views and/or people walking past and peering in, plus occasional noise of people moving furniture above.
Food good, especially champagne and smoked salmon breakfast on Sundays.
Drinks are good, t'other half enjoyed the cocktails, especially the daiquiris.
Pool is massive but chilly, plenty of sun loungers and a few double beds - but you have to be early to get them!
Gym good, but poor air conditioning.
Wifi is a problem though. Why in this age of technology, why should you have to leave the sun by the pool to sit in the lobby or reception for internet access? Should be hotel wide wifi really!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JustHJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#113 of 499 in Marrakech
2,781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#108 of 499 in Marrakech
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#80 of 499 in Marrakech
371 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#96 of 499 in Marrakech
4,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing