We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #108 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in March '14 for a week, and had a fantastic time. The hotel is very pretty and clean throughout and the rooms are large. There is no iron in the room but a hairdryer and mini fridge is provided along with bottled water everyday. Staff are very friendly and attentive. The food is a very good standard and there is lots of choice. The Italian restaurant seemed to be serving pretty much the same as the main restaurant so we weren't impressed there, but the moroccan restaurant was very nice, definitely worth booking into. There is a bar open somewhere on site from 9-12 and the drinks again have a good variety, don't bother with the weak and sugary cocktails though! The shuttle to the old town is very useful, but read up on the souks to avoid getting scammed like we did by a henna artist! Most people in the markets are very polite but just remember nothing is free! The dirham exchange rate at reception is good so no need to queue at the airport. We booked onto the quad bike tour from the guy on the desk at the lobby, it was an incredible 2hr tour around the desert and villages, highly recommend it. The evening entertainment is not very good but the two musicians in the lobby were fantastic and play every evening until 11-12pm. The hotel was very busy during our stay but the resort is so big and spacious that its very peaceful. We will definitely be coming back!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,871 - 2,877 of 5,876 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent a week at this hotel at the beginning of March. We had not really considered morocco before but it was such a bargain we couldn't not try it.

Reception was pretty impressive and all staff were more than friendly. We had a ground floor room, which was acceptable and big enough. The problem with the room was there wasn't any net curtain over the window, which meant you had to have the blackout curtains closed most of the time - not ideal when you want to enjoy a bit of the late sunshine, which we have not seen much of recently.

Gardens and pool were really well kept. There were plenty of sun loungers and beds available although I can imagine getting a bed could be a problem during the night of summer as a lot of the beds were reserved and not used most of the day. The entertainment staff were friendly and asked you to join in but we're never pushy.

Food in the main restaurant was fine with a great choice. We did try both the Italian and Moroccan restaurant but we really were very unimpressed with both and preferred the main restaurant.

The main bar was quite a nice place to sit in the evening and this was the only place to get wifi (if you could get connected). It is a little disappointing that a Riu hotel has so little wifi connection.

I did go to the spa so worth a visit if you get a chance and there is a gym should you feel the need while on holiday.

We went on a trip to the Souks and Medina with Thompson, this was a waste of time as we were herded round the streets and not able to stop and look. The only good part was the hour that we had in the main square which is certainly something to been seen.

Overall we had a great week, weather was excellent and a I would certainly recommend for a weeks break.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen_stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Returned on Monday from a week at the Riu Tikida Palmeraie, one of the best hotels we have stayed in.
Situated just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city.
Hotel lived up to the previous reviews, only two faults we found, 1) no boiling water for tea in the mornings, the water is only just hot. 2) had no hot water for two evenings, around 8.00pm, but would appear after speaking to neighbours it was just us, but just warm enough for a shower.
Swimming pool, as reported was very cold, but the grounds and pool area were very good and made up for it.
Staff all very friendly, no waiting for drinks at the bar, and very attentive in the restaurant.
Was never under any pressure whatsoever to tip any of the staff, which made a very nice change.
Thomson reps okay, attended the welcome meeting, booked 3 trips, very expensive but glad we did. Recommend the Discovering Marrakech trip, Mohammed the guide very informative, recommend good shoes as walking all day, found very tiring but worth it.
All in all a very good holiday, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisEssex456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My friend and I have just returned from a long weekend here.
Fantastic resort with a great choice of food, you can always find something to eat. Nice touch to have cava on the Sunday morning with breakfast. Plenty of sun beds this time of year and having pillows are great for extra comfort. As others have said the pool is FREEZING!
We used the shuttle bus to the souks and enjoyed the time we had there, shopping and bargaining with the prices. We both had a massage at the spa which was great but if you are only going for a weekend book in advance otherwise you may not get in.
The only downside to this hotel was the evening entertainment, it is so bad!!! Something they really need to work on as it's the only thing letting the hotel down.
Would definitely go back for another weekend break.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room facing the pool which was a good location in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loopyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Five friends and I stayed here for four nights to celebrate my 50th birthday. The location is ideal for a short break. Our flight arrived after the restaurant was due to close but on arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a welcome drink and directed to the restaurant for a meal. Our suitcases were taken to our room for us. This was appreciated after a long day travelling. The staff at this hotel are superb. There is a buffet restaurant which worked well with lots of variety including Moroccan dishes. Fresh omelettes and eggs at breakfast with lots of other choices. Salads were all fresh and good, fish great - there are chips for those that want them. The whole hotel and accommodation complex is clean and well maintained. The gardens are beautiful and we even spotted a lovely herb garden. The pool area is lovely and we did notice the pool team adhering to the 90 minute unattended towel rule - not sure if this would happen in the high season but the hotel was full. The pool is freezing but this is the only criticism (if we have to say one). We had Spa treatments and would recommend you book them on arrival so you are not disappointed. The Spa only takes cash. The hotel has an ATM and the reception changes sterling. The shuttle bus was full on the day we wanted to go to the Souk but the porter gave us the leaflet telling us how much we should pay for a taxi each way. 100 dirhams and this is what we paid - no hassle. Alcohol we tried was fine - a good gin & tonic, red, white & rose wine, Pina Coladas, mojito, brandy & beer - no complaints! We paid 250 dirhams for a late check out and we were happy to do this. We knew from the research that we did that there was nowhere to go outside the hotel. May be worth checking this before you book. We didn't use the theatre bar where the animation team were so can't comment. All in all a super break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedgehog90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was a lovely hotel, staff very helpful and friendly , the hotel grounds were spectacular, the swimming pool very big beautiful and FREEZING, the food was very poor ok if you like fish, the the local alcoholic drinks in the bar I am very sorry to say was like drinking petrol.
The hotel lays on a free bus into Marrakech every day which everyone must use to go and visit town it's just amazing, the hotel is in the back of beyond, but we knew that and were happy with that, to many ankle biters for us ( children ) French holidays.
Room very clean not all have good views but comfortable if hotel looks at the food and the drinks it would be a very good Riu hotel

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank medic597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for a weeks break, As a Riu gold card members we know what to expect from the Riu hotels,this was a nice hotel, the staff were brilliant, the hotel and rooms were spotless. The food was not as good as most we have been to, not as much selection. The grounds were beautiful, well maintained and designed. However the hotel was let down by the miserable boring animation team. The evening entertainment was almost none existent, the daytime was just as bad, in fact we organised ourselves into teams for the bowls as they didn't want to know. I realize that hey are not professional entertainers but we have been to many many Riu's where the animation teams have helped make our holidays, but here ?? The only other downside is there is nowhere at all just to go for a little stroll we knew this when we booked. If you want a really quite stress free holiday this is fine but not really suitable for a slightly energetic couple of 62. The hotel do put on a curtsy bus into the city center several times a day , which we used a couple of times but once y0u hae been you have done it !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BERYLMOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#122 of 499 in Marrakech
2,925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#96 of 499 in Marrakech
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#111 of 499 in Marrakech
2,287 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#136 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40070, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £78 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing