We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honest review”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week at this hotel. Don't let other reviews put you off ... It's not 5star be realistic in what you expect!
We waited about 30mins to get through airport security not long by all accounts. On arriving at the hotel we were met with a welcome drink and taken to the restaurant. Check in was quick and a short walk took us to our room with plenty of hotel staff along the way to point us in the right direction.
Our room was very nice ground floor block 5 overlooking basketball courts. It was quiet and spacious. The room was clean and the cleaners came everyday and kept it and the rest of the hotel very clean! Bottled water was provided in room everyday and you could also get it free at reception or bars which was handy when going on day trips. The only slight downside of the room was it was quite dark due to the decor.
The pool was very large and spacious and could get busy but we were there at peak time. People do get up at ridiculous times to get the sun beds we even saw ones with towels on at midnight as we went back to our room . We always managed to get a sunbed with an umbrella at 7.30 and then would go for breakfast. The problem really is the lack of shade rather than actual beds. We also managed to easily find beds in shade at about 4pm when returning from a day trip.
Staff are lovely and will always say hello and remember drinks orders.sometimes at pool bar they would bring drinks to your sunbed. There were a lot of wasps around bars and self service drinks area but not around sun beds as long as people don't leave drinks lying around.
The food was decent enough. All salads are washed in bottled water and ice is made from bottled water. You can always find something to eat but dont expect it to be amazing. Everything is bland and sometimes a bit cold. There is plenty of choice and food is pretty much available most of the day. We never really had to queue.The Italian and morrocan restaurants are buffet style as well. Unfortunately i suffered with a very upset stomach on last day of our trip and when got home.
The wifi is not great and when you go in the bar in the evening it seems like everyone is trying to get on. This didn't really bother us as we don't go on hol to spend our time on Internet.
We didn't see any evening entertainment except two men playing guitars outside which was quite pleasant.
We did the souks and medina trip with thomson. It was a good way to get a feel of Marrakech. It's a busy city and the driving is mad! We also did 4x4 trip to Atlas Mountains again with thomson and highly recommend. The guide was very knowledgeable and the views were amazing. Be prepared to spend a long time in the car though.
We also booked the taste of riad with thomson which was excellent best food we had all trip!
We had a lovely time it was very hot and sunny. A week was long enough for us. I would return to this hotel possibly for a short break 4 days at a less busy time of year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Fim84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,816
    1,919
    587
    158
    82
See reviews for
1,376
2,965
61
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oxford england
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed ten nights middle of august. Hotel staff are great food to suit everyone. Husband not to pleased at packing trousers for dinner as expected in platinum hotels to find shorts seem to be acceptable. Rooms clean and basic. Staff work very hard and are the greatest asset to this hotel. Marium on reception was great nothing to much trouble and done with a smile. Shuttle bus great and free . Pool crowded and yes we had to get up early for a sun bed. People were actually reserving beds going on trips and then returned late afternoon . This is more a family hotel than a couples one. We had a lovely time but would not consider this a platinum hotel like others we have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dippydev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The 4* RUI Palmerie sits in the outlying of suburb of Marrakech of the same name and is ideally situated to ‘take or leave’ this magical city as one wishes. With great staff, a strong AI package and a hotel that really does look like the photos in the brochure, it proves great value for money.

Good – location, food, efficient and welcoming staff
Bad – evening entertainment, sunbed debacle, noisy neighbours

As you arrive the reception, with its bubbling pond and attentive staff ready with your welcome drink, sets the scene for the rest of the hotel. For once the bars, restaurants and rooms that follow all live up these initial expectations.

The rooms are spacious including a sitting area complete with chaise lounge. The bathroom is also a good size including a bath/shower. All rooms come with twin beds which are quite hard and may not be to everyone’s taste. Housekeeping do a good job keeping everything very clean, leaving the usual daily sculptures from your fresh towels. The flat screen TV has a good smattering of English language channels. However tea/coffee making facilities and an iron in the room wouldn’t go amiss.

The hotel has a single neighbour - a private villa which likes to blast music out from 1am – 6am nightly! This was so loud from our room in Block 3 neither of us could sleep. Reception agreed to move us confirmed that this was a regular occurrence. A move to Block 4 sorted us out. The 2 managers offer a master class in visible leadership - wherever you look either ‘Pablo’, or ‘Also Pablo’ are on hand and they really do listen and act.

TOP TIP – Refuse a room in Block 3 (i.e. 3000s.)

The food is very good with a huge variety on offer each sitting. Any moans should be queried by asking - what do these people eat at home? The usual AI ‘pile it high’ mentality does lead to hollow complaints of repetitiveness – choose something and make a meal of it and you will be fine! We were initially disappointed that the 2 ‘themed restaurants’ were not A la Carte, however they do kind of work. The French add necessary glamour of an evening, however there is an un-easy mix of shorts-n-vests alongside flowing evening gowns. The 2 Pablos really should enforce the restaurant dress-code to ensure a more luxurious feel.

All the usual AI cocktails, spirits and beers are available and we were impressed by the quality of the long drinks. However don’t expect a drink after mid-night – not even a bought one. We did feel a bit uncomfortable seeing ‘red-bands’ (minors) being served with alcoholic drinks.
At initial glance the pool area looks huge and the pool is a lovely cool respite from the sun. However when the hotel is full the sun lounger situation becomes a debacle to the point of fisticuffs. This would be much relieved if the hotel introduced moveable parasols which forces people into set and rather overcrowded ‘spots’. The permanent parasols are rather ineffective due to their slats.

TOP TIP – Take an umbrella to act as your parasol

The ‘animation team’ work very hard and do a good job by day. However the evening entertainment is this hotel’s weak point. The two boy singers at the pool-bar do a great job holding the crowd together, however the animation team struggle in the hotel’s theatre. There is only so much you can put up with a Camper Sands style dance cabaret every night. The Pablos really do need to consider more outside acts. As a result you will want to get out and about. The free shuttle bus is a real boon here and we can really recommend the ‘Sky Bar’ then an evening venture to ‘The Square of the Dead’. Marrakech is a real mix of old and new and going beyond the wall into the ancient city really does take you on a magical carpet ride.
The 4 x 4 Atlas Mountain trip run by Thomson also is a must.

All in all a great holiday in a magical city. The hotel really does look like that in brochure and while has some issues offers great value for money.

Room Tip: Refuse a room in Block 3 Take an umberella as a parasol
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dazbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Having stayed in several locations all inclusive this was advertised at a 4 star plus and definitely isn't. The food seems good at first but after 5 days if similar food it all becomes bland. The Italian restaurant was a total let down only go if you like pizza and soggy pasta. Moroccan restaurant is worth a visit but don't expect a la carte as advertised as it's a decent buffet at best.

The subbed situation is crazy but get up early enough and you will get to see the rats at the poolside which are probably close friends with the cockroaches & scorpions in the main reception and entertainment area - definitely a reason for everything being painted dark!

Entertainment is poor with nothing for children aged 8-13. Young children and teenagers are catered for bit in between it's the pool. The pool in one day had the PH level all wrong and was a hazy green colour which took 2 days to clear.

Bar staff are friendly and very happy to help. Constantly taking away used glasses which gives a clean appearance but don't be fooled!!!!

If you get neighbours or people above you who make noise be prepared for no rest as walls are so thin you can hear everything especially the metal chairs being dragged across the tile floors!
Would not return to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have just returned from a very relaxing family holiday at this hotel. For the price we got it for it represented good value. I have rated it average as I couldn't quite call it "Very Good".

Staff were all very friendly and helpful though be warned the front desk often promises to do something and then does not deliver (e.g. we took four days of repeated requests to secure one of the irons that they loan out).

Accomodation was roomy but basic; very clean. The aircon is not great so be prepared to leave it on continuously.

Food - death by buffet with quality varying from poor to pretty good depending upon your preferences and which chef is on duty. They have two themed buffets - the Italian one was not very different from the Italian food served in the main hall but the Morrocan buffet was great.

Sun beds - yes it is a nightmare to get good shade. We were told that the hotel was at full capacity and there were barely enough sunbeds for everyone. I joined in the daily hunt at 5:45am and was rewarded with a good choice. I would guesstimate that 75% of beds were taken by 7:30am!

The pool itself was huge with a lovely gradual slope into the water and not too deep anywhere. The water looked a little cloudy; it wasn't completely clear so I question how clean it was. Lots of sharp edges round the pool and tiles in and around the complex have been chosen for appearance over grip so multiple slips and trips amongst all the kids running around and a few unlucky adults.

The kids club did a great job entertaining the kids though they have no sign-in process and allow kids to wander off so probably best not to leave anyone too young. The Art teacher was great.

We travelled independently so didn't have the full coach load over whelming two reception staff scenario that some posters have referred to. Even if I were travelling on a package I would be tempted to invest in a private transfer or taxi in order to beat the queue. ;-)

Wifi is not available in the rooms but is in the lobby. However it become overwhelmed so is a bit hit and miss.

Top tip: Passport queues are horrendous when arriving (1.5 hours) and when leaving (1.0 hours) so be prepared on the way in and leave extra early to be on the safe side when going home.

Top tip: The cash machine in the hotel lobby is a Francophile and only works if you select the French language option!

Room Tip: Block One is quiet and relatively close to everything if you are at the pool end
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandArti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Possibly our last 'family' holiday as our daughter is off to University in the Autumn.
We had two adjacent rooms, giving the children independence, but also keeping us together, which helped for a variety of reasons.
Rooms Spacious for two people, clean and well presented.
Food - good and plenty of variety, although by the end of two weeks, I was pleased to get back to get back to a 'normal' diet.
Main restaurant, you are guided to a table, which removes some of the cattle market which can often occur with all inclusive holidays.
Plenty of daytime activities to keep a 14 year old boy entertained.
Evening entertainment out side tended to be a duo playing cover versions, ideal to relax and have a drink or two.. In the thatre was a bit more high energy, but I'm getting too old for that game.
Graet Family Holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PNE223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Went in April 2014, Weather was great apart from one storm. The Hotel is rather spread out but we enjoyed the ability to walk round the grounds and enjoy the gardens and the views of the Atlas mountains beyond. This is an all inclusive hotel which we were concerned about but the quality of the food was really good. The Moroccan cooking is really good, yes the drinks don't seem as strong but you can have as many as you want and to be honest the mint tea is awesome, I think I became addicted to it while I was there. Pool is cool in April but nice and refreshing, the rooms and large and comfortable and we had a good view towards the mountains. We found all the staff to be friendly and they really want you to have a great time, I have never been to a hotel where they were so friendly. The staff working round the pool at the entertainment were amazing and inclusive. This hotel is in a great location to use as a base and explore the City and the Atlas Mountains and we look forward to returning soon as the experience we had was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenmonkey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#114 of 499 in Marrakech
2,779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#111 of 499 in Marrakech
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#77 of 499 in Marrakech
371 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing