We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #100 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NIce hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in february. The rooms were nice and spacious and very clean. The whole hotel was very clean all the time.
The food in the hotel was good and there was a wide variety. The pool area was nice and relaxing the weather wasnt very good so we didnt get in the pool but it looked lovely.
There is a shuttle bus into the centre it does get booked up early so book in advance.
We didnt use the spa but the prices were reasonable and the indoor pool and gym was nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauram85Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,719
    1,827
    546
    134
    72
See reviews for
1,311
2,831
56
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Travelled 22nd to 29th jan lovely clean hotel,big rooms food beautifull staff very friendly and helpfull, the gardens are not finished yet but will be amazing come the summer.The swimming pool is huge with a walk up bar and plenty of lounges and seating areas as well as shaded sofas.The drinks are mixture of branded and non branded and are on tap from10 till midnight and you also get water in your rooms each day, the internet is charged at 15 dirhams for 20 minutes.We will be returning in july as we got a very good price of £440 each a lot cheaper than spain plus so much better.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

Booked for a trip to this resort and it was worth the money thompson's £720ish for two. The weather can be cold at this time of the year so BRING A WARM COAT, this is not mentioned to well on some travel websites.
The souks are a flea pit so visit but they are not that good. The Camel ride was great and the sauna and salt scrub equally good. The horse drawn carriage ride in town is good value.
The bars are well staffed and the food was varied and interesting - as always the Moroccan version if the Full English breakfast doesn't work. Plenty else to eat tho.
Staff friendly unlike some spanish resorts, thompson rep bit flaky tho.
I found the bed a bit hard - it made my back ache. I swapped the seat of the lounge single bed and this was softer.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LONDONCABDRIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

This is one of the best experiences we have had for a short 1 week holiday, as pensioners we found this hotel one of the best we have visited. Paul King and the Thomson team were very professional and helpful and tours were great and well organised.
Check in quick, also food available on arrival at 10pm
Food was excellent and well presented, cleanliness was exceptional, the highlight was the Morrocan resteraunt. Drinks were very good, beer and wine on tap at mealtimes, spirits were all known brands, eg. Teachers, Gordons Gin etc, watch barmen they give you half a glass of Gin with a dash of tonic. (I declined to complain)
Our room was wonderful with bags of room, comfortable beds ( missed our memory foam) separate loo, useful fridge. Cases were in our room on arrival and taken to reception on leaving (Just Ask reception) Only problem block 4 was a little far from ameneties as we have difficulty with walking, but staff did not object for me taking breakfast to our room. Only down side some Brit lasses seemed to enjoy waking us in the early hours with shouting and foul language outside our room, but security valiantly tried sorted it, despite being given verbal abuse. However Thomson reps and management, had a "word" with the offender/s. (Problem solved plus a bottle of champers and some fruit).
Yes main pool very cold (It's only been filled since Nov) Indoor pool, perfect! Sun bed and mattresses very comfortable.
Noted previous comments for January and we agree with all. All photos are accurate.
Did not like monkeys in cages, on leads also snakes in square, DO NOT HAVE YOUR PHOTO TAKEN WITH THEM.
Worth a visit when you think it is only 3.5 hours away.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LittletonWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

There early January, weather a bit up and down but came back with a tan. The reps were really good, Paul an obvious expert on the area, having lived there for many years. He wasn't so sure on the camel ride excursion, but we went on it and had a great time - as long as you aren't afraid of heights, but I think we converted him!
Rooms as everyone is saying are large and can't be faulted, the design of the corridoors although draughty in January will be lovely and cool when it is hot.
The animation team were lovely and we spent alot of time with them, a talented bunch, Khalid who is an amazing dancer from break dancing to Michael Jackson, also Yusef who is a very talented artist and runs the very relaxing art room during the day, an excellent addition to the holiday! Not to mention Simon who ran the multi lingual stage every evening.

We had such a good time that we again booked, today, to stay in June, but were amazed that there were apparently only two rooms left for all inclusive with Thompson... The price was still very appealing.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arnieandtyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheena1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

The day we arrived it was my birthday, so at the check in desk the staff sang happy birthday. A nice gesture, if a little embarrassing. This was followed by champagne with dinner.

The room was spacious and very clean, with fresh water provided daily. There is a fridge in the room which is handy, and the hairdryer in the bathroom was good. The shower was powerful with plenty of hot water any time of day.

The outdoor pool was big and beautiful, although not heated. Probably a blessing in the summer, but right now, not so good. There are plenty of sun beds and shaded chill out areas with double mattresses. I would imagine when the hotel is full these will be reserved by the usual towel brigade, so you will need to get there early. The hotel promotes a no reserving sun bed policy, but not sure how they plan to enforce it. There is a heated indoor pool to take advantage, which is nice this time of year, and the gym looked well equipped for a hotel.

Work is ongoing with the garden, and progress can be seen on a daily basis. Once complete this will enhance the hotel further. The work does not affect anything around the hotel and the gardeners always have a smile.

The food was varied, and from someone that doesn’t eat meat, I never went hungry, or had to eat the same every day. We only stayed four days, but if you are there for two weeks I imagine it might become a little repetitive. The key is not to try everything on the first day, as tempting as it looks.

The hotel does provide a free shuttle bus which goes into town every hour. You need to book this in advance if you want to go first thing, as the seats go fast. It is a must to go into town at night, a totally different experience to the day. The Marrakech I expected. We experienced very little hassle, far less than Egypt or Tunisia and the people are friendly, always willing to stop for a chat.

It pays to haggle for a taxi. We paid 50 Dirhams during the day and 60 at night. If they said it was 100 we just walked away, they always came after us!

I agree with previous reviews regarding the entertainment team. They work very hard, but it is quite scripted. Hopefully they will gel as a group over the coming months; the hotel is still very new.

The weather this time of year is great, like spring time. Nippy in the morning and evening when a cardigan or light fleece is required, but the rest of the day it’s shorts and t-shirt weather.

The only downside to the stay was the spa. My husband booked for a scrub and a massage. The scrub was fine, but the massage was done using latex gloves. This was not mentioned at the time of booking and he did not know about this until they started. Fortunately he is not allergic to latex. Regardless, a massage is not quite the same with rubber gloves! He mentioned to management, but the spa is sub contracted out and not their responsibility. However to make a mends the hotel did provide a bottle of champagne with dinner, which was appreciated.

In the reception and bar area there is free wi-fi access, which is handy. We had no problems using the internet with our ipods. There were several people with laptops, who were also accessing the facility.

Overall it is a great hotel with really friendly people, and I am sure will become popular in the coming months. I would recommend a visit now before it gets too busy, and Thomson are selling it for a bargain price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cheena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

Just got back from a week staying here and must say it’s an amazing hotel / resort with everything you could need and more. Yes it is new and they are still making minor adjustments in the grounds but nothing that will inconvenience you during your stay. We loved it and would defo stay here again if we returned to Morrocco in the future

ARRIVAL
We arrived on a late flight from Manchester getting to resort at around 9.45pm, the staff were friendly, efficient in checking in 2 coaches worth of guests in, they kept the restaurant open until at least 10.30 pm ( usually closes at 10pm ) so all the new arrivals could get some food which defiantly impressed us, and was first time we encountered this kind of service from a hotel overseas.


First impressions the hotel reception area and restaurant and bar where out of this world and looked really upper market kinda place with fab furnishing and amazing chandeliers things were looking good.

ROOMS
When we eventually decided to go to see our rooms, we were again very impressed, they are really big, and the decor and design are very well thought out. Finding rooms proved a little time consuming after dark as there is dimly lit pathways and the signposts to the relevant hotel block were situated around the huge grounds, we were in block 4000 and must have been a 10 mins walk from reception & restaurant areas, however this wasn’t a problem. There are security guards walking around all night which made us feel safer on our first night in morocco ( although we didn’t feel unsafe at any time during our stay )

STAFF
Staffs were brilliant, very friendly and really seemed to enjoy their job, everyone was made to feel special and nothing was ever to much trouble. If you’re white blonde European female you may get a little more attention from the young waiters but the younger guest seemed to enjoy this and did not seem put of by this,

FOOD
Food in the restaurant was amazingly good, very tasty, and different foods on each day, most of which was freshly prepared by the chefs in small quantities right before you so everything was fresh and hot, nothing was left around to long to go soggy or cold and replenished as and when needed. We found food to have French, Italian and Moroccan influences with a Spanish evening thrown in for good measure, pizza, pasta, fresh salads, taglines, cous cous, fresh fish, roast meats, grilled meats kebabs & various meats cooked in sauce like curries, stews and chasseur. I am a chef here in uk and was very impressed. IF you have a sweet tooth you will feel like you have gone to heaven, there are awesome. Lunch was a smaller cut down version of the above but equally as good.

Breakfast were good also eggs, boiled, fried & omelettes, tomatoes and potatoes, cereal, pastries and toast, fresh fruits and salads bread, jams, yoghurts & various fruit juices. Don’t expect bacon & sausage and this was not an issue for us.

DRINKS
Alcoholic drinks were good, the cocktails were a little OTT on the fruit juices but the beer, wines & spirits were good, be warned of the sangria it addictive and VERY strong i believe they use only local alcoholic drinks.

We didn’t stay in hotel resort much so didn’t use the huge outdoor pool, which looked amazing with swim up bar, heated indoor pool, gym or any of the organised daily activities or health spa.

Evening entertainment was very butlins and lots of audience participation which the younger crowd loved, we didn’t usually bother we stayed in the bar and chatted with the friendly fellow gusts.

We found the free shuttle bus very handy, but book the day before to avoid disappointment, first bus out was 10am and last bus home was 5.20 from the city which was a good 20 min drive. If you wish to stay later which is defo worth it, grab a taxi for the return don’t pay more than 100dirham and agree & haggle a price before getting in the cab. Be careful they know where u want to go as they sometimes get confused and take you to “Tikida Gardens hotel” which is closer to marakesh.

This hotel is a huge complex, situated on a long main road out of the city, there is nothing around outside the perimeter wall of the complex, just spare land, and a few local houses, this is not the kinda place that you can go for a stroll outside during the day or evening for the simple fact there is nothing to see. If you think this would be an issue to you then maybe the location will not be the best for you. We didn’t find this to be a problem, after a busy day in town we just wanted to chill out in the evenings in the hotel.

A Few Minor Issues We Encountered During Our Stay
1) A wardrobe door wouldn’t open fully due to the closing mechanism of the room entrance door getting in the way.

2) Grouting in the bathroom tiles and around the bath wasn’t of a good standard and with small amount of holes and cracks appearing all ready, also the paint on the bathroom door was shoddy. This wasn’t no big issue and was probably due to a rushed job carried out by the decorators it wasn’t a major issue though.

3) The free room safe wouldn’t work, but was sorted out very quickly by reception once reported, so was a loose toilet roll fitting and spare pillow request.

MONEY EXCHANGE
Do it little and often as and when needed as the hotel cannot change any left over Dirhams into Sterling, this must be done at the airport BEFORE passport control. Change & Left over Dirhams will be converted and given back to you in Euros.

OVERALL VERDICT
I loved this holiday it was brilliant, The hotel was awesome, the locals are very friendly, the country and the way of life is an eye opener to a westerner like me. I loved morocco the food was great and we felt very safe even in the souks and medina’s, i will definitely return someday

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Urdygurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#118 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#108 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#105 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,580 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing