We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #103 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Service, facilities and food excellent Huge hotel with large rooms All buildings were 2 floors - we had a ground floor room with a patio The pool area was spacious but the water was too cold for us - the indoor pool awas large and warmer Plenty of sunloungers and parasols - no need for 7.30 towels The food was great and the desserts were out of this world Entertainment - a very good duo played for dancing but the shows were boring at times Day time activities were run by the young animators who worked their socks off
The free shutle bus tto Marrakesh several times a day was a boon We went during the day but it was frantic then Once was enough!
On the down side there are no shops or bars nearby - there is 1 supermarket 500yds away The bedrooms are about 100yds from reception and dining rooms, which could be drawback if it was raining
All inclusive was good value for money (although I have never heard of McQuuens scotch!)
The staff were always smiling and helpful Changing sterling for dirhams and vice versa at the hotel was no problem The airport has few shops and 2 duty frees - one is cheaper than the other, so shop around
If we went to Marrakesh again we would definitely stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarrasOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,693)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,681 - 4,687 of 5,695 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2010

Just back from a 4 night break at this new Riu – the best Riu we have stayed at.

Flights with Thomsonfly were uneventful & on time each way but on their oldest 737 staffed by a uninterested crew.

Difficult to fault the hotel from start to finish. There was some maintenance work going on but the hotel is only 3 months old so still bedding down but this didn’t detract from our enjoyment.

Rooms are large & spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. Food was excellent & with huge choice with wine available by the bottle at your table for both lunch & dinner.

The hotel is on the outskirts of the city so away from the hustle & bustle but only a short taxi ride away or the hotel shuttle bus both ways (but best booked early).

Staff were all very friendly & helpful & the entertainment team worked relentlessly all day. They didn’t try to provide evening shows in 5 different languages but relied on dance acts which was definitely an improvement from the other Riu’s we have stayed at.

Weather was wonderful for a break away from the English winter.

Would definitely recommend this hotel & will probably go back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We have just returned from this hotel and all i can say that is we have had a great time the food was really great from breakfast to dinner at nite it was all cooked in front of you ,nothing was to much trouble for them the cakes and sweets are fantastic , we did not go to the italian but we did go to the morrocan and again it was very very good.Even of a day time they came around the pool with fresh fruit on skewers a very nice touch . the only complaint i have is THE SMOKING it was awful there was nowhere for none smokers to go for a drink at nite time we where like nomads we sat at one table then we had to move because someone just had to "lite up"right by us apart from that it was a good holiday but they really need to address the smoking situation

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

I have to say this hotel has the best staff I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. They are all a new team gelling together, polite, helpful and give it their all. Excellent reception!!

The hotel is a new complex with a few teething problems - but these are minor and usually quickly resolved. The rooms are large and of good quality. It is constantly being cleaned and of general good quality. The hotel is perhaps just a little far from Marrakech - but you know that by looking on the map. Things can get a little boring, if you don't plan day activities.

The food quality was great, though for a longer break can be quite monotonous but good monotony, if you see what I mean.

There are improvements that should appear, 1 large pool congregates people to one spot in a massive complex which is not as helpful as it could be. There seems to be acres of unused space which could de designated to better use, but perhaps that will comeThe outdoor pool was coo, l but it was March.

There seemed to be a bit of immaturity with management and times that could be enhanced in time simple things, like opening time for meals and the single shop in a remote location means that all traffic is always concentrated which is a bit rubbish. The gym opens late and closes early opening in the middle of breakfast so either eat and miss out on a morning routine or ... The manager fancies himself as a cabaret act which is amusing.

The gym was well equipped the indoor pool colder than the outdoor pool. The animation team although good were responsible for all entertainment, which mainly ok sometimes a bit gringeworthy and samey.

The speciality restuaraunts were not up to the standard of others and didn't do themselves justice at all

Kids workers excellent and a childminding service ( additional cost) was really good - if you wanted to nip of for an hour without kids. We used it once and were very pleased.

We had Thompson reps and they had a bit of a monopoly and were probably the worst part of the trip. Not that they were horrible or anything like that; just they had no competition, so consequently just really took bookings for trips and weren't so good at that, we had bad advice and they really just didn't want to know problems. The trips were not good for the prices and Thompson/First Choice perhaps need to do a bit of work in this area.

This is not a get up and jive hotel , but a relax and chill out.

We had a good time!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunrevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

This was our honeymoon, on booking we were promised double room and pool view, we got none of this even after discussing with hotel. Food initially seemed good but very quickly became dull and boring through no variety. The main pool looks great but very dangerous, whilst we were there someone fell and broke their hand around pool area. There was ongoing maintenance work including handrails around pool and fitment of life belts, paths being dug up and relaid. Also we got a shock to find out rooms had no air conditioning as was still 'winter'. Its also a good bit out from Marrakech centre which was misleading from the brochure and leaving hotel on foot was not recommended. Hotel itself is lovely and staff very friendly but poor quality food, cheap quality alcohol and smoking inside hotel really lets it down. Avoid the moroccan restaurant as we and other guests were ill after eating there. Shop in hotel very expensive for every day items like crisps, shaving foam and other toiletries. Will not be going back or recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I returned from Marrakech earlier this month, having never been to any northern African countries before I was delighted at what myself and my boyfriend found in Marrakech.

We were collected from the airport by your standard loud mouth tour rep, who delivered us to the Riu hotel in around 20-25mins. There we were met by staff with smiles and cocktails which never go amiss, check in took no longer than 5 mins and bags were taken by porters directly to your room. Which left us free to explore this amazing new hotel, high ceils and marble floors are pure luxury!! Details in decoration make you feel like your in the heart of old Marrakech already.

After an hour of settling in we attended the tour rep welcome talk....Although they are friendly enough they only seem interested if your booking their over priced excursions and as we were not we never even saw them again!! There is however a woman in reception that will book many brilliant day trips and activities for you which are cheaper and you can knock the price down a bit if your willing to try.These are well worth the money and were the highlight of our holiday!
It was recommended to us not to book activites outside the hotel or from unknown sources as you can never quite be sure what your getting, I woul suggest this also.

The rooms are just past the outdoor pool, which i thought was perfect as early nights aren't spoilt by noise from the restaurant or theatre. They are large,clean and you have your own sheltered patio or balcony area.

On the first we had dinner in the largest dining room, I've never seen so much delicious food or eaten that much for that matter! Both specialist restaurants are also fantastic and are wellworth booking for!

The bars are great in the hotel and tipping a waiter in one them can go along way as we found out! The entertainment people are energtic to say the least and kept everyone laughing, karoke is a must!

The only complaints I would have with the hotel is the fact the outside pool is freezing, but there is an indoor alternative if you wish to swim.

The location of the hotel was fantastic, the short journey from airport to hotel was no problem and felt like a small sight seeing tour anyway. The shuttle bus was great and took you right into the heart of old Marrakech, it also picks you up/drops off right next to the tallest building in Marraech so you can't miss the stop! Taxi's are interesting, all drivers seem pretty mental as there drive anywhere they like in the road. Be sure to pronouce the name of the hotel correctly as there's another one down the road called tikida clubhotel and we did nearly end up there one night!

Overall, a fantastic place to stay! Marrakech really is one of the wonders of the world im sooo glad i was able to go.
The hotel and staff could did not disappoint in the slightest. Go now!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopCat2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We stayed at the Riu for a week on a package holiday with Thomson. We were really happy with the hotel when we first arrived. The decor is really nice, the room was really nice, and the bar staff and reception staff are absolutely fantastic. We werent bothered by the location as the shuttle buses were provided and the driver is lovely and really helpful.
However...! About 3 days into my holiday (we had only eaten in the hotel), I came down with really bad food poisoning (confirmed by tests by my doctor on return to the UK). Obviously after that I was pretty much stuck in my room for the rest of the trip, and couldnt face any more Riu food, even smelling it made me want to be sick. Luckily for my partner the rooms have seperate toilets to the rest of the bathroom! The thing I really noticed once I was ill when I made it to the buffet and more aware of the food was that it was all totally the same every day.
The other problem we had was that the maids turned up every morning really early and then stood and chatted for 30 minutes really loudly outside our room. This may have only been a problem with our room as we were about 4 doors down from the utility room.
The holiday was a total disaster and waste of money, so I am afraid that I just couldnt recommend the Riu to anyone. If you are going, please be really, really careful what you eat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#116 of 502 in Marrakech
2,851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#106 of 502 in Marrakech
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#92 of 502 in Marrakech
5,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £88 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing