We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #106 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Hi,Weve just returned from a wonderful 4 night break staying in this lovely hotel.Everything about this place is great.Just 6 months old,and i think in time will be even better.The food,rooms,pool,and weather was fab.From babies to oaps,everyone seems to enjoy themselves.We booked the flights,transfers and hotel independently,and got our 4 nights on an all inclusive basis for just 225 each.Well happy.No need for mozzie spray and temps ranged from 80 to 90 degrees.One bit of advice;we booked a balloon flight before we travelled via do something different .com.We payed 154 pounds each,yet after speaking to fellow travallers, they payed just 65 pounds each in resort.GUTTED OR WHAT!!!!. Please give this hotel a go as you will not be disappointed. Lack of evening entertainment may be a negative for some.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireChelseaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,761
    1,876
    566
    149
    79
See reviews for
1,353
2,892
58
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2010

sold as a 5* hotel by first choice(more like 3-4*) yes it is work in progress fair do's .
the staff are very nice and efficiant drinks are ok but small measures, the food is repetative but plentiful meat sometimes a bit raw. the rooms are clean and pleasant ,though they lack any drink making facilitys(dissapointing) the speaciallity restaraunts are'nt that special serving pretty much the same food as the main restaraunts do,we ate in the moroccan restaraunt on 10/4/2010 and by the sun morning my wife was very ill which following tests proved to be salmonella poisoning(6 weeks of misery followed)best advice be careful what you eat and where and reading other reviews this is not an isolated incident. night time entertainment is very limited also unless your a trainee alchoholic and enjoy passive smoking A BIG LET DOWN,to what was expected and potrayed by the holiday company.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dissapointedGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We have just returned from a 4 night city break at this hotel, having got it at a bargain price through Thomson, paying a total of £500. This was well worth it as we had a wonderful time. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful, and the standard of the hotel as a whole was excellent. The rooms are huge and very comfortable, having a bathroom with bath and shower and a separate little room for the loo together with bidet. Rooms also have a large couch as standard which gives an additional comfortable alternative to the beds if you want to sit and relax rather than lie down. The balcony/terrace is also comfortable furnished and is very pleasant to sit out on when the heat is not too overpowering.
We have travelled extensively, and stayed in many north African hotels in particular but this had positively the best food out of them all. The All Inclusive range is excellent with snacks available throughout the day in addition to the standard breakfast lunch and dinner. Dinner in the main restaurant is excellent - there is plenty of choice, it was well presented and the food was always hot. Even the fussiest of eaters would find something to tempt their palates here as there is so much variety. This has now become our new favourite place! We have been home a total of 2 days and before writing this review we visited the Thomson website to book our spring break for next year at this hotel. This time we have booked for the full seven nights, and we can't wait to go back. It is truly stunning, and if you go you will not be disappointed. Ignore all the moans and negative comments we could not find fault with anything and we have travelled extensively. Some people just moan and pick holes for the sake of it. We loved it and are counting the days til we return.
We will be happy to answer any questions regarding this hotel if you want any further information or are considering booking it for yourself. Don't hesitate. Do it. It is truly a wonderful relaxing oasis.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arrecife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My Girlfriend and I visited the Riu mid April and were lucky enough to have 4 extra free days due to the ash cloud. We were delighted at this outcome. We couldn't of asked to be stranded in a nicer hotel.
The staff here were all very friendly and always happy to help. Check-in was very quick and took a matter of minutes.
The rooms were very spacious and clean. Ours consisted of a double bed, sofa, tv, coffee table, plenty of wardrobe space, safe, toilet with seperate bath/shower and a good sized furnished balcony. All Private and communial rooms throughout the hotel are beautifully decorated.
The pool is huge and was always very clean. Early reviews said the entrance to the pool was slippery. This "problem" has been solved with a handrail and is now perfectly safe. We had no problems finding sunbeds even during busy periods. People do tend to put towles out early but there are plenty of beds for everyone.
The restaurants had a great choice of food and i always found something i liked or wanted to try. They had a seperate Italian and Morocan style restaurant which served pretty much what you could find in the main restaurant. They were more decorative and smaller which gave you a chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of the larger main restaurant if anything else.
Service at the main bar in the evenings was sometimes slow but this was mainly due to bar staff laughing and joking with other guests. As other reviews suggest cocktais are a bit hit and miss, this greatly depends on who makes them, I stuck with the local larger. We sat in the main bar most nights and we were never effected by cigarette smoke even being non smokers.
Make sure you spare time to visit the city. I think this is a must. Just hop on the free hotel shuttle bus that runs every hour. The city is an amazing place and is a true taste of local life.
We had a great time. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WiffWaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We have just spent 5 days at this hotel and after reading some negatives on tripadvisor prior to leaving we were more than pleasantly surprised. As others have stated this is a new hotel and the grounds/gardens are yet to get established, they will be stunning in a couple of years time.
The hotel has been styled beautifully and check in was quick and easy. It's a fair walk to the rooms but unless you have mobility problems it's not really something to moan about.
The pool has to be one of the best, if not the best ,of any hotel i've stayed in. A great design and absolutely enormous. A totally seperate childrens pool also meant it was pretty quiet most of the time (although we stayed outside of school hols) Some people have commented that the pool was cold, of course it was - I can't remember ever getting into an outdoor pool on holiday and thinking 'this is warm' :-o Temps were reaching 40 degrees during our stay and the 'cold' pool was a blessing!
No complaints about the food other than it did sometimes seem like feeding time at the zoo but that's down to the guests rather then the a fault of the hotel. Not particularly impressed by the seperate Italian and Moroccan as others have said - the interior of the Moroccan is fabulous but the food was average and there was nothing on offer that you couldn't try on one night or another in the main restaurant. Plenty of variety on offer and all of a good to excellent quality depending on what your tastes are of course. For the non-adventurous there was always pizza and chips on hand.
Overall a good hotel. We paid a great price with Thomson and feel we got good value for money, I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Steffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

A great hotel , brand new just completed in November 2009 the facilities were excellent with a free shuttle bus daily to the centre of Marrakech. The largest outdoor swimming pool in Marrakech and a heated pool indoors. Gym and classes daily very varied and a great animation team. Great food and just a perfect place to stay and it is a great place to go. We did the hop on and off buses tours red and blue route excellent value for money. We took a horse and carriage around Marrakech and saw the sun set from Cafe De France. Paul King from Thomas Cook is great! A trip to Yves St Laurent resting place in the gardens is a must!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldDestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

A fairly pretty looking hotel complex that will no doubt be stunning once the landscaping is finished and the flora becomes established. It has a very large swimming pool which again looks great but not many people used as its probably the coldest pool I've ever been in.
The poolside staff don't control the sunbeds or parasols. Once a towels goes on a sunbed or tented area it was your for the day even if you only used it for 5mins. Many people resorted to getting up at about 6am to put their towels out in order to claim their space...I even saw some taking parasols to their rooms as they were particularly difficult to get. The staff rarely challenge this and it became an irritation. The assistant manager made promises to resolve it but never did.
The bedrooms are a few hundred metres from the hotel but large and adequately furnished. The TV is a bonus offering a few English channels including ITV Wales. However our toilet broke most days (didnt flush) and I had exposed live electric cables both in my bathroom and on the balcony. Again promises were made to resolve these issues but they never were.
There's a good choice of leisure activities from tennis to French boules and the daytime activities centre around the pool. The poolside drinks area was a bit of danger (or rather the wasps were).
The food was acceptable on the whole if not repetitive but it was very much a buffet style canteen culture, lacking finese. I thought the two specialist restaurants would be better but they weren't. It was a section of the same food in the main restaurant and there was no service - it was still buffet style. I walked out of the Italian without eating when I saw the dozens of flies crawling over the desserts & more. I told the staff there. Guess what - they agreed, apologised & did nothing.
There is one main bar which is off the main reception.The main drinks are good but the cocktails lousy. In the evening we tended to sit in the reception to avoid the cigarette smoke in the bar...unfortunately children chose to have games of football, run round and fight around the display pool there. One toddler fell in and for the first time we saw any of the childrens parents. There was no control & when you approached staff over it, yet again they smiled and did nothing. The assistant manager made promises but failed to deliver.
Oh if you want serving at the bar remember to tip the staff.
You may have guessed that I had no children with me. I'm glad because the staff member in charge of the Kids Club openly told me she had no qualifications. No wonder the kids were throwing food & putting salt in peoples drinks whilst under her supervision at lunchtimes in the canteen, I mean restaurant.
The evening entertainment was truely awful but there was no escape from it being just off the reception. They desperately need some professional acts to attend and above all a 'child-free' bar where couples without children can chat in peace.
For me the biggest failing was the management team. When they smile and make promises to repair items or change things they should deliver.
As a final point Marrakech is amazing - A real bombardment of your senses and should be on your 'must do' list!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thepottersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#115 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#113 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#103 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,763 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing