We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #101 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bayahibe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Arrived at 11.30 and had to wait until 3 for our room. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Shampoo and shower gels are provided but are small sachets with a few small soaps.
Get up early if you want a sun bed in a particular place, although if you are not fussy, beds are nearly always available in various locations around the pool. A few days before we left, the hotel management put up signs about not reserving beds around the pool and items being removed after 90 minutes, but these were not upheld and beds were still being reserved for several hours before people turning up and the beds being used. The swimming pool is freezing. I never saw more than half a dozen people in a very large pool at any one time. Even the kids needed encouragement to use it. Unbelievable for such a nice sized pool. Remember that this is a city hotel and no other form of water is available for entertainment i.e beach, so it makes the pool the only area for the whole hotel to congregate....... busy, busy, busy.
At times it was more like an 18-30's with all the music, noise and overlapping of activities.
The food was good, as were the wine and beer, but the cocktails were watery and tasteless (and we did try all of them just to be sure).
Did use both the Italian and Moroccan restaurants. A little disappointing as the food was exactly the same as in the main buffet and it was still help yourself buffet and no table service.
Did the guided tour into the city which was well worth it as it is quite intimidating and busy. Also my husband and son went quad biking which they really enjoyed.
Will we go back..... not to this hotel as we missed the choice of beach / pool but we would go back to Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyph13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,736
    1,846
    555
    138
    76
See reviews for
1,334
2,852
57
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

We booked this hotel after our original choice in Tunisia wasn't available for a 10 day break, and we could not be more glad of this.
The Hotels location is out of the way a wee bit, but the Hotel run a free bus to Marrakech during the day. The Hotel was well laid out, the staff were pleasant, polite and made the holiday with their willingness to make you feel welcome. We arrived late in the night to find the hotel had put on a buffett for arriving guests, which was a very nice touch, and they did the same throughout the visit. The food was varied and there was something regardless of your preference. The Morrocan food cooked in the Tagines was a pleasant surprise. The evening entertainment was a bit cheesy, but during the day the entertainment team worked very hard to make it fun to get involved regardless of your age. If all you want to do is chill by the pool in guaranteed sunshine, then a better location would be hard to find. We tipped good service, which was often, but never felt the need to do so as a matter of course, and the staff didn't act as if it was expected. Have a great holiday here. The city of Marrakech is like nothing we have ever seen, its hard to describe the sites and smells, so go and see it for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weegiesGandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We flew with Thomsons, whose service we could not fault from start to finish. We found lots of conflicting information about Marrakech and as I was travelling with my daughter I was a little concerned about what to expect. I didn't need to worry.

Starting from the beginning....

Before arriving..
I was a little unnerved going without currency, the Dirham is a closed currency so you are not supposed to take it in or out of the country. We brought currency at Manchester airport once we got through customs, however, the exchange rate at the hotel was far better and they even had a cash point machine in the lobby. There are no problems getting currency out, just don't get too much out if you are not going to spend it.

We arrived at the hotel at about 10.30pm 'ish and the restaurant was open with a good selection of food for us. The hotel staff and entertainment team were lined up to greet us (which they did every night when the main restaurant opened) and was nice way to see the entertainment staff who worked extremely hard, but who were never overly intrusive if you did not want to participate in any of their activities. Check in was smooth and quick. The luggage is taken to your room for you, however, we just grabbed ours and took it with us. We met a security guard en route to our room, and he kindly showed us the way taking our luggage for us. He did not wait for a tip, which I felt was rather nice, especially as we did not have any small currency and could not have given him a tip even if we wanted to.

The room was huge with high ceilings and very clean. We did not see any of the negative comments that were made in some of the other reviews. Housekeeping was good, but nothing special. Not quite the Dominican Republic with their creativity of towel arrangements, but you certainly could not fault it. Each day two large bottles of water were left in the room and there is also a fridge that you can put your own food/drinks in should you want to. \We were in a downstairs room with a patio area, not the most exciting of views to be honest, but then we never really spent time in the room looking out. The air con was good, the bathroom of reasonable size with decent shower and there was a separate toilet. Although if I had to fault anything, I would have liked a slightly bigger television. Lots of channels (not in English) but it did have BBC News, BBC1 and ITV1.

Hotel
The hotel is large, and from our room (2014) it was a 2-3 minute walk to the pool and main area. The pool area is large and very well maintained. There were lots of parasols and sun beds, and yes, there were people who put towels out, as indeed we did, but this was because it was on the way to the restaurant and it meant we did not have to walk back to our rooms to get our stuff, so it was out of convenience rather than the need to hog the sun beds. They are packed closely together, but you can move them around to give yourself more space, and the young lads that walk around all day are only willing to help you.

Food and Drink
Plenty of it and even for those that don't like foreign food, there was always pizza and chips! We tried everything and yes there were some things we did not like there was plenty that we did. My daughter especially loved the deserts, although some looked a bit garish, they tasted really nice and there was plenty of choice, with fruit and ice cream for those that did not want cakes/biscuits.

There are two themed restaurants, the Moroccan and Italian restaurant, both were excellent. You do have to book, but you can go as often as you like. We were there for a week and went to both of them twice....the staff remembered us, and what we had to drink...again a nice touch.

Plenty of cocktails wherever you went, nothing really creamy (too hot I assume!) but there was a reasonable choice as well as the standard vodka, gin, brandy etc. I did not see any signs of watering down that some reviews have mentioned, and I certainly saw them open new bottles with the seals in tact. Wine is free flowing, I was not keen on the white wine, and it seemed that most people drank the Rose, however I much preferred the red wine. There was also bottled beer.

The location is 6km outside of Marrakech, there is a shuttle bus which you need to book, but you can book a taxi for approx 100-150 dirhams depending on the time of day. It is a bit isolated, but there is a supermarket 10-15 minute walk away although we did not venture out other than into Marrakech itself.

Trips
We went on a couple of trips, one to the Souks for the afternoon, which we found gave us a feel of what to expect and whether we wanted to go into Marrakech on our own or not. The tour was good and Jafar looked after us well, and whilst we saw a lot, it was a long time (4 hours) without a drink. We spent some time at the Pharmacy where there was a good talk and demonstration of some of their products. It would have been an ideal spot for a cuppa!

The outside market and Souks were not as daunting as we thought and we did go back several times. The tip is to treat the traders with respect and have a good banter with them...they like a challenge and love saying BOGOF and Asda price which made us laugh. Our tour operator was very good at the hotel and gave us some good hints on bartering with them. We brought a few things, but to be honest, the products are only worth what you want to pay for them....some items we found that we could probably get something similar in the UK for around the same price. We had concerns about what to where, but were told, just be sensible! The locals respect and want the tourism and therefore do not object to the showing of maybe a little more flesh than they would like, but as long as you respected them back and did not go out in shorts and a bikini top (unless your at the bech! there are no problems!

The second trip we went on was day trip to the Atlas Mountains in a 4 x 4 which was interesting, although a little long. We thought it was just the two of use and the guide, but it turned out we were with another couple, therefore someone had to sit up front with the driver who could hardly speak a word of English which meant that one couple was split up. The trip itself was good, and we visited a Berber village and a family home whether they showed us round and made us mint tea. It was interesting to see how they lived, but a little depressing to see young children (aged 5-6) working with younger siblings strapped to their back, trying to sell us jewellery. It was not quite what we expected but interesting none the less.

On the whole, we had a really relaxed holiday, with good food, plenty to drink and relaxing by the pool. We did not see the entertainment in the evening so cannot comment on it, and we did not use the spa services either.

The hotel manager and his staff are to be complemented on their attention to their visitors, they were always visible and would stop and chat and seemed to run a very tight ship to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of their visitors. On the last day, although we checked out first thing, you still had the availability of all the facilities, including food until you left, which was fantastic, as I have been to many All Inclusive before who once you check out, cut off your wristband and that was it.

Weather wise, we had a couple of cloudy days with some showers, but that cleared up and the rest of the holiday was hot hot hot!

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would recommend the hotel to everyone. Thomson were also very good, and although our flight was delayed coming back, we were told what was happening ie the French strike.

I know I have waffled on quite a bit, but really wanted you to know what a great place this is and certainly if you get the opportunity, this is the place to go and relax.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mommaroo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

The hotel was great the food was good and the service was superb!!
The only negatives were the other holiday makers some of whom were on a work trip and were extremely rude to the staff and inconsiderate to the other guests
If I were to find fault with anything it would be that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
We did the souks half day trip on the 2nd day which was really good and gave you an idea of where to go and to get your bearings
don't pay more than 100 Dirhams for a taxi back to the hotel
and I would recommend eating at the night market and watching the sunset from 1 of the café's overlooking Jeema El Fna

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckyb1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

We have just returned from our week long break to Marrakesh and really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, complex is large and well organised. You will definetly have a good holiday here.

We arrived at about 10am and where told we could not check in until 2 pm, which was a bit frustrating as we had been up since 2am! However I tried at 11.30 and got our room, which was good. Our room was 5003 on the ground floor right in front of the pool.

There are a few improvements which could be made to this hotel. The food was really repetitive even with the 3 different restaurants and eating out twice. The floor by the pool was really dirty and we only saw it being cleaned once the whole week. This is the reason behind all the flies. They also do not clean the tables, which intices wasps and flies. The cleaning in the room wasn't so good and there also were no bathrobes and slippers, which could improve the rating of this hotel.

Overall a good hotel, but can improve.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We also returned on the 22nd October and we were also one of the unlucky couples that couldn't check in and had a 3 hour wait. I suppose I am lucky that my partner does not match the description of the previous review, but I do find it sad that such comments should be posted on a website that reviews hotels and not its guests!!

It was pretty disappointing that we couldn't check in and it didn't start the holiday well, we know it was before the official check in time, but this is the first time we had experienced this on a package holiday, we then heard that this happens every couple of weeks, we were told by our rep to be patient and try and in half hour, but this was false expectations as the reception made it clear that the rooms would not be ready until 2pm.

Apart from the initial disappointment the hotel was lovely, like other reviews the location is poor however this is well advertised and if you want a relaxing holiday without moving from a sun lounger it is the holiday for you.

We did not venture into Marrakech as to be honest we were after a relaxing holiday but it would have been nice to take a stroll, so probably for us a beach resort would be better and we would leave the likes of visiting Marrakech to a city break.

Rooms were large, however a little dark, probably not all, just our balcony got limited direct sunlight.

Unfortunately we both came home with a stomach upset, not sure if this is down to the hotel or just change of food, however it was at the end of the holiday and we were aware of others ill as well.

We probably would not return however this is purely down to the location, but we thought we would try and unfortunately on this occasion it wasn't one of our better holidays

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellttck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

We have just returned today 22nd Oct and loved the Hotel.

If you want to relax this is the place for you and if you see any bad reviews then ignore them as there is always somebody who will complain at the slightest thing.
When we arrived there was a fat woman with glasses telling the whole queue of people behind her that she was not getting a room until 2pm and that it went for them also, She carried on the fight all through her 7 day holiday whilst boring the other holiday makers with her know all attitude and was pushing herself on people with her complaints whilst eating like a goat.

Paul the Thompson rep is a switched on person who tells you how it is and will do anything for you at any time whilst entertaining you with his great grasp of people skills.

The only thing we found that could be improved on is the flykilling around the pool which we have advised the hotel and Thompson about, Take some insect repellent spray and this keeps them away.

Hotel is a bit isolated but trips into the heart of the city is 20 minutes by free coach.

Advice is BOOK IT.

Paul the Thompson rep is first class

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAGUAREngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#112 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#109 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#102 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,669 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing