We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #108 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wouldn't return”
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Average hotel with some nice points but on the whole, simply average. Totally over rated by Thomson/First Choice etc.
First point, location of rooms. You certainly wont gain much weight here with all the walking you will do. Our room was an endless distance from any facility. I am not unfit, would hate to see an elderly or unfit person cope with the distance from reception to rooms!
On arrival at 2.20pm our room wasnt ready. We were told to have some lunch, which we did, but the food was lukewarm. There was a lot of "tooing and froing" to reception. Finally around 3.30pm we got a key to our room. Our safe had not been reset, and it took us four phone calls and an hour and a quarter to get someone round ro fix it. So we pretty much missed most of the day.
We dined that night in the Italian. Awful. NO service, absolutely ZERO service. This is buffet to the max. Okay if thats what you like, but for us... no go... We were disappointed the "a la carte" restaurants did not provide waiter service.
Same at the bars. NO service. Would queue at times for over 25 mins to get a drink.
We ventured out a lot, and in the end, rarely used the all inclusive facility aside from taking one or two drinks. Drinks tasted "soapy", so we resorted to drinking the rose wine which was fine.
Theres nothing really bad about the place, but nothing at all really good either.
Staff are pleasant. Lobby staff very helpful. Its just one of those hotels we wont remember anything about. Just average, non memorable, nothing to write home about.
There are no tea coffee making facilities in the room, and its a LONG way to get some, so do take a travel kettle and some coffee.
We had bad electrics in the room, I nearly had a nasty shock, plug burned completely out.
Having walked the endless walk one night from lobby to room, our keys didnt work (this happened three times). BACK to lobby to try and find someone... oooooh sore feet!!!
In hindsight, would have preferred to have stayed in a rhiad in the medina or a simple B&B hotel to use as a base.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,757
    1,875
    565
    149
    79
See reviews for
1,352
2,888
58
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Travelled for 1 week at the start of November with my wife through First Choice. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Staff are all very friendly although not as good as I have seen in the Carribean. Not much evidence of waiter service. 90% is self service. 3 bars in the hotel all pretty well stocked. Large self service restaurant serving a wide selection of foods. Each day the menu changed but it is more of the same. Lots of meat, fish, vegetables and fruit and for those who need it pizza and chips !
Pool area is pretty good with loads of sunbeds. No shortage of these or umbrellas. The padded beds where normally taken early in the morning but we still managed it one day. Contary to other reviews, the staff do clear the beds early in the morning if they haven't been occupied. People tended to come out at 6am and reserve the beds and then not turn up till 10am. The look on their faces was classic ! Pool is very cold as the temperature drops to about 10 deg at night but after a few hours int he sun, was very refreshing. Some construction work happening at one end of the pool side but no noise from this. Jackhammers were used from about 8pm to 9:30pm but you can't hear them except round the pool side.

Location wise, as others have said, it is in the middle of nowhere but there is the free bus which will take you into town.

Some things that really stood out :-
Management very involved in the day to day running - very visible
Lobby area is very pleasant to sit in day and night.

Some things that could be improved :-
Tea and coffee making facilities
Waiter Service in bars / pool side
Non-smoking areas inside
Waiter service in speciality restaurants

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMothersele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Just returned from a week at this hotel.
Two adults two kids.Greatly enjoyed our stay and were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel.We thought the hotel and entire trip (booked through Thomsons) was fantastic value for money.
The only slight negative was the evening entertainment - they tried hard!

Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDebWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We have just returned from a week at this resort and it was lovely, staff very helpfull and friendly. Only down side was the room for 3 adult females, they have a narrow sofa for the 3rd bed and its only suitable for a child. We complained and was upgraded to a room with a double sofa bed which was more suitable for us. Food choice was varied and we attended the managers champers welcome party and found it very entertaining. Would recommend or go again we really enjoyed our week and were sad to leave it yesterday!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaSha100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My pension aged mum, daughter aged 4 and myself, went for October half term. We loved the hotel. The rooms are large and clean, some english tv channels, bbc1 and itv and bbc news. However, my only gripe was the beds. It really was like sleeping on breeze block, soooo hard, they did not give at all.
Although the staff speak french first, they do speak english, and so the kids club and evening entertainment started in french. But they got to us in the end, with good humour and grace. The staff, indeed the people we came across in the souk, were very pleasant and eager to trade with you or deal with you. We did not feel threatened whilst out at any time, in fact they were very welcoming.
There is a hobby room at the hotel and I spent many hour painting - something I havent done for over 20 years. But with Khalid's guidance I think I produced a masterpiece!
People do reserve sunbeds, but to be honest, you could go at almost any time and get a bed and a sun umberella. The pool staff are quick and helpful, although a small tip is always appreciated. I found the food very, very good. There is such a large choice at every mealtime, that I find it hard to believe anyone could get bored.
The management are always walking around and as a consequence, the standard is high.
Apart from the beds, the only compliant was the teenage french kids, who at times were a little rowdy.
The weather was lovely 28-30 degrees, but the last day the weather changed to 22, it was cold and windy. We will definately go back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This is the truth about this hotel:

The good:
-Superb staff - can't do enough for you and very friendly!!!! The double booked our room by mistake and gave us am upgrade to a Junior suite.
-Cleanliness of the room/eating areas was top notch. No tummy upset on this trip!
-The food was amazing. Plenty of variety, well cooked and very tasty.
-Free bus service into Marrakech and back was great. Would have cost a lot in taxis otherwise!
-The Medina in Marrakech was amazing - like stepping back in time.
-Hotel gardens were well tended and will be supeb when fully grown.
- Ample bottles of water to drink at all times.
- Great weather!!

The bad:
-The pool was far too cold, hardly anyone in it all week - real disappointment
-If you're a smoker you'll love this hotel (it seemed like a mecca for all the smokers in Britain!!!). Sadly we're not, and hated the smoky bar and hotel lobbies. Fortunately the restaurants were smoke free, otherwise it would have been hell on earth!!! Wanted to watch the football on the big screen in the bar one night but our eyes were watering after 10 minutes and just gave up! The weather was lovely outside and they could have smoked outdoors, but they're a selfish lot and only legislation stops them polluting other people. Sadly Morocco is not up to European standards on that front.
-Sometimes difficult to get sunbeds around the pool. Tip one of the pool boys and they'll sort you out.
- You can't get a pool towel after 1pm . So be aware that if you go into Marrakesh in the morning and return to the pool in the afternoon, you'll need to get the towels before you go out.
- The rooms are outside in apartment blocks and if you arrive late it's not easy to find your room in the dark for the first time.

Overall this hotel is very well run and with an indoor smoking ban and a warmer pool it would have been an outstanding stay!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makingtrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Right so the situation first... Me and two friends (all girls, 23-24yo) decided to go to Morocco and stay at the Riu Tikida Palmeraie... Here's a rather lengthy (and hopefully helpful!) review of the hotel and our stay there as well as a few tourist tips for Marrakech.

The location:
This hotel is about 15 minutes outside Marrakech which, for me and my friends, was perfect. You're out of the hustle and bustle of the city in a pleasant setting and yet there's a free shuttlebus to and from the city and there's a taxi rank outside. The airport is also only 25 minutes from the hotel even in the traffic. It's not expensive to get to the city... It's 80dirhams for a journey in the day and 120dirhams max at night no matter what the driver tells you. However, if you want to be in the city and able to walk out into Marrakech and start touring, this isn't the hotel for you.

The hotel building & cleanliness:
The hotel is spotless. You can see people at all hours clearing up - especially as the lobby seating and seating near the bar is used throughout the day and at night - and it's great to see a hotel taking care of itself. The hotel building is more like an apartment complex, this must be said. It's actually set out in some really nice grounds and is really disabled-friendly but it is rather vast and so if you have trouble walking etc., try and specify that you want a room near the pool! The restaurants are large, there are two good-sized bars inside as well as the pool bar and the spa is also pretty big. Gym is a little bit small but everybody seemed to be fitting in okay the few times I walked past. The rooms are a great size and have everything you need - There's a safe and a hairdryer in the room but the complimentary toiletries are a little small so take your own. Also don't drink from the tap!

The hotel amenities:
It has to be said. The outside pool is freezing. Yes, we went in November but it was hot outside, enough for me to get a great tan in a week, and yet the pool was terrifically cold! The indoor pool is a bit better but only if you swim fast, it must be said. Don't expect any sitting in the pool to read your book, your legs will drop off with the frostbite! There's a spa which is a bit pricey and the service you get very much depends on the masseuse. Me and my two friends all got a 25 minute massage (300dirhams) and whilst mine was very good, theirs wasn't and they were both quite disappointed. There is a gym as I said before which looks well equipped and also a shuttle bus service.

The hotel food & drink:
The food was good in my opinion. The breakfast (7.30-10) allowed a lot of choice as well as food-to-order such as the omelettes so you could get exactly what you wanted - I'd recommend getting up for this rather than hitting the continental breakfast (10.30-12). The lunch was a bit hit and miss at times if you didn't like salads but the dinners were good. All buffet style and there's always plenty of food out. One small criticism is that they tend to over-salt things massively so my tip is to put a bit on your plate, try it and go back for more if it's good. The cocktails were all right - not that much choice - but they do stock spirits and can be generous measure-wise if you ask. The wine was a bit grim in my opinion but my friends both had a glass most nights. The two bookable restaurants were good - again buffet - but atmosphere was lacking a bit. Preferred Italian to Moroccan!

The staff:
The staff were a let down for me. Two of the entertainment staff were particularly annoying and would pull out my hair from its tie or tickle my friend's stomach to make her jump when her bikini straps were undone. All quite juvenile and rude, especially when we had never spoken to them before. The staff in the hotel varied: Pablo, the manager, always seemed to be on the ball and around which was really reassuring. The chefs were all friendly, it was mostly the reception and bar staff that were almost passive in their serving - It was as if they were doing their jobs but showed no enthusiasm which, in a 4 star, I would deem necessary.

The tours:
We did the half-day souks and medina tour and the Atlas mountain tour. I liked the souk tour but felt quite intimidated being female and was very glad to be in a group - Watch out for the weird compliments, they will make you laugh! Also the guide tried to take us to a 'handicraft store' which was overpriced - Watch out for that. Oh and get the 20dirhams massage in the pharmacy! The Atlas mountain tour was really cool, the scenery is amazing and it's worth the day trip. Find out how much you're supposed to tip the driver and guide before you go and take some sweets & biros for the kids if you can. They really appreciate it!

Some tips on Morocco:
- If you get a taxi, remember the number on the side. If anything gets lost in a taxi, they can do nothing without the taxi number.
- The taxi depot / police bureau is in the Gare Routiere if you do need it
- Find out from Thomson who you're supposed to tip and how much
- It gets cold at night in November so take some warm clothes for night!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bexiboo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#115 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#114 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#104 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,759 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing