We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week, sad to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #102 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great week, sad to leave”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

genuinely have no idea how anyone could criticise this hotel. Ok pool is freezing but that was really the only negative thing about the place. The complex is quite big so rooms would be some distance if you had a mobility problem, on the plus side however we had a quiet room to the rear of the hotel with the sun hitting the balcony at around 4pm so lovely to sit out and watch the sun go down. Room was cleaned daily, whole place is very clean. Food is varied and plentiful, only of you are really fussy would you not be able to find something to eat !! Staff were all very accomodating and friendly. As the Thomson rep told us if you are nice to the morrocans they will be nice to you. Staff on duty in the bars and restaurants remembered and welcomed us which was a nice touch. We didn't go on any thomson trips and took the shuttle bus to Marrakech on a couple of days. Same applies here, just be friendly and firm and you will not get hassled. A lot of Morrocans stayed here over Eid so if the locals choose to stay that has to be the best recommendation of all. We would return without hesitation

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernlass63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,842
    1,939
    593
    160
    84
See reviews for
1,402
2,986
61
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Hotel was constantly being cleaned reviews I read before I came away were not true this is the cleanest place I have been to. When we arrived we got late dinner and cocktails on arrival at 10pm at night. Then we checked in and our luggage arrived about an hour later as we did not put our room number on our luggage so remember to do this!

The room was very spacious we asked for a cot in the room which was not there when we arrived but we phoned reception and this only took 30 mins. The safe was broken but we asked for it to be fixed the next day and within a couple of hours it was. We were given a kettle to do the water for our sons milk bottles.

The food here is excellent there is so much selection for breakfast lunch and dinner we never ate the same food. We are not keen on italian so we did not go there but one night we went to the moroccan restaurant and the foood was nicer than the main restaurants and you can book there as often as you want during the week but it does get booked up so book early. Unfortunately me and my son were both ill the next day after going to the morrocan I dont know if it was the food or the drink but I ate so much over the holiday it could be anything.

The alcohol is excellent and there is plenty of it. Because we have our soon we could not stop out for the evening entertainment so we grabbed a bottle from the restaurant and headed back to our room which was lovely. One night we asked for a bottle from the bar and they were reluctant to give this out until we explained that we could not sit out in the bar as we had to put our son to bed. People are still allowed to smoke everywhere which I was not to keen on, but not in the restaurants fortunately.

We did not see much of the daytime entertainment and could not sit round the pool with a little one to much as he was unsettled but the pool surroundings were nice although the pool was absolutely freezing. We ended up going to the indoor pool which was a little warmer but not much. 2 days it was too cold for my 9 month old son. They should heat it a little more.

We went the first week of November and we were lucky with the weather it was 27/28 degrees everyday except the last day.

The hotel is quite a way out but that never bothered us. We walked down to a supermarket about 10 mins down the road but I got beeped a lot so cover up if you do go for a walk.

Fooodwise we managed to feed our son the food that was there mashed up as there is always pasta and potato and one day the staff kindly cooked some mashed potato and meat for our son especially which was good but if your baby is not ready for this I suggest you take jars or pre-order these for when you get there as you can not buy anything there.

The only improvement I would suggest to make is that they should have some toys and soft play mats for young babies and toddlers.

Although my son was teething and me and him were both ill I did have a good time and I am sure anybody would young and old.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaatilaoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury UK
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week from 8 November. The staff are excellent, in particular Raja on reception. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them. We had read mixed reviews before travelling but like everything else, you read them and make up your own mind. We emailed the hotel before we left asking for adjoining rooms and, on arrival we were greeted with warm smiles and the requested rooms. One of us was celebrating a birthday while we were there, Raja arranged everything; all we did was tell her the day and the rest, as they say, is history. Warm wishes, a gift in the room, champagne and cake at the beautifully decorated table in the evening... wonderful. There is a heated pool which is useful at this time of year as the main pool is not the warmest I've ever been in, not that I went in further than my ankles! The food was varied and we didn't have any trouble finding different things to eat each night or for that matter at breakfast either. We had freshly made omelettes every day, choose your ingredients and the chef cooks it there and then. We learned a little Arabic at the pool, even if it was only the number for the towels needed each day! We didn't experience any of the problems regarding sunbeds that others seem to have done either but perhaps it would be different at the height of the season. The entertainment was not too professional but what it was lacking in professionalism was more than compensated for by their enthusiasm! It was a little annoying that the last shuttle bus returned to the hotel at 5:20pm from Marrakech but for those much braver than us, the taxis are plentiful. Sandra, the Thomson rep is brilliant, knowledgeable and helpful. Our only real gripe is the flies but there is absolutely nothing anyone can do about that and it would be nice to be able to make coffee in your room; it was cold by the time we carried it back. Would we go again? Propably not, particularly at this time of year, we prefer somewhere warmer (our research was flawed, no-one elses fault) and, as other reviewers have said, there are so many other places that we'd like to visit. So saying, go and have a relaxing time; we did.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkladywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We have just returned from an 11 night holiday and loved it. The hotel represents incredibly good value and so I don't really understand the complaints about self service etc. The food and selection was good. We didn't have a problem with the bar service and were amazed that all the drinks were included.

Our room was large and comfortable, it was always cleaned in the morning and there were lovely touches, with towels folded in different shapes scattered with rose petals. Several bottles of mineral water were also provided in the room.

During our 2nd week the weather cooled down and it was cloudy. There's not alot to do on a duff day at the hotel. But Marrakech is only 20 minutes away and we took a taxi to explore the Atlas mountains. There are taxis just outside the hotel and they will also act as guides.

The entertainment staff were delightful and worked very hard from 10am to Midnight - but the evening shows were awful. There is nowhere to go in the evenings so some good entertainment would have been welcome.

The swimming pool is huge, but FREEZING cold. The pool area is kept well and very comfortable, but we never managed to get the comfy sunbeds with the big mattresses - we couldn't work out how people saved them. But the deckchairs were fine and plentiful with umbrellas.

We would come again - but at the end of October as the weather seems to cool down in November, although we were very lucky our first week.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xCarolynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Average hotel with some nice points but on the whole, simply average. Totally over rated by Thomson/First Choice etc.
First point, location of rooms. You certainly wont gain much weight here with all the walking you will do. Our room was an endless distance from any facility. I am not unfit, would hate to see an elderly or unfit person cope with the distance from reception to rooms!
On arrival at 2.20pm our room wasnt ready. We were told to have some lunch, which we did, but the food was lukewarm. There was a lot of "tooing and froing" to reception. Finally around 3.30pm we got a key to our room. Our safe had not been reset, and it took us four phone calls and an hour and a quarter to get someone round ro fix it. So we pretty much missed most of the day.
We dined that night in the Italian. Awful. NO service, absolutely ZERO service. This is buffet to the max. Okay if thats what you like, but for us... no go... We were disappointed the "a la carte" restaurants did not provide waiter service.
Same at the bars. NO service. Would queue at times for over 25 mins to get a drink.
We ventured out a lot, and in the end, rarely used the all inclusive facility aside from taking one or two drinks. Drinks tasted "soapy", so we resorted to drinking the rose wine which was fine.
Theres nothing really bad about the place, but nothing at all really good either.
Staff are pleasant. Lobby staff very helpful. Its just one of those hotels we wont remember anything about. Just average, non memorable, nothing to write home about.
There are no tea coffee making facilities in the room, and its a LONG way to get some, so do take a travel kettle and some coffee.
We had bad electrics in the room, I nearly had a nasty shock, plug burned completely out.
Having walked the endless walk one night from lobby to room, our keys didnt work (this happened three times). BACK to lobby to try and find someone... oooooh sore feet!!!
In hindsight, would have preferred to have stayed in a rhiad in the medina or a simple B&B hotel to use as a base.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Travelled for 1 week at the start of November with my wife through First Choice. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Staff are all very friendly although not as good as I have seen in the Carribean. Not much evidence of waiter service. 90% is self service. 3 bars in the hotel all pretty well stocked. Large self service restaurant serving a wide selection of foods. Each day the menu changed but it is more of the same. Lots of meat, fish, vegetables and fruit and for those who need it pizza and chips !
Pool area is pretty good with loads of sunbeds. No shortage of these or umbrellas. The padded beds where normally taken early in the morning but we still managed it one day. Contary to other reviews, the staff do clear the beds early in the morning if they haven't been occupied. People tended to come out at 6am and reserve the beds and then not turn up till 10am. The look on their faces was classic ! Pool is very cold as the temperature drops to about 10 deg at night but after a few hours int he sun, was very refreshing. Some construction work happening at one end of the pool side but no noise from this. Jackhammers were used from about 8pm to 9:30pm but you can't hear them except round the pool side.

Location wise, as others have said, it is in the middle of nowhere but there is the free bus which will take you into town.

Some things that really stood out :-
Management very involved in the day to day running - very visible
Lobby area is very pleasant to sit in day and night.

Some things that could be improved :-
Tea and coffee making facilities
Waiter Service in bars / pool side
Non-smoking areas inside
Waiter service in speciality restaurants

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMothersele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Just returned from a week at this hotel.
Two adults two kids.Greatly enjoyed our stay and were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel.We thought the hotel and entire trip (booked through Thomsons) was fantastic value for money.
The only slight negative was the evening entertainment - they tried hard!

Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDebWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#115 of 500 in Marrakech
2,802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#106 of 500 in Marrakech
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#83 of 500 in Marrakech
372 reviews
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing