We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book this! You won't regret it ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Al Mendili Kasbah
Ranked #89 of 1,165 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Alain & Catherine's little hotel is an absolute gem. After 7 nights, we couldn't bear to leave! The rooms are quirky & spotlessly clean, the swimming pool is stunning with its views of the Atlas Mountains, & the view from the roof terrace is beautiful. Don't be put off by its distance from Marrakech centre - after the madness of the Medina & the sweat of the souks this hotel is an oasis of tranquility. Don't be put off by the lack of a menu for lunch or dinner, either, every meal we eat was different & delicious. The staff here couldn't be better, & they made my birthday very special. This was one of the best holidays we have ever been on, & we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capability_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in April with my partner and 8 year son to celebrate a big birthday!
Could not have chosen better. Have been lucky enough to do a fair bit of travelling in my time and have stayed at some top hotels all over the world but this place is really special. From the moment you approach along a candle lit path, you enter an opulent, arabic setting. Our suite was wonderful, with doors opening out onto a terrace with a view of the swimming pool, gardens and Atlas mountains beyond. We choose to take our breakfast here and just phoned when we were ready to eat, what could be better? Dinner on the rooftop terrace with the setting sun, just blissful. I was slightly worried that it would be mainly couples and maybe not appropriate for an 8 year old boy but my son loved it, especially the food, swimming pool and the pool room! Alain and Catherine were perfect hosts arranging two trips for us, one to the medina (a thirty minute drive) and the other up into the mountains.
Before booking, I had been advised to stay in a riad in or close to the Medina but was so glad that I ignored the advice! It's a fabulous retreat after the hustle and bustle of the square and the souks.
Would definitely recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marialovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Need to relax?? Look no further ... after 3 nights in the Medina area of Marrakesh, this was just what we both needed. In fact, even without the Medina, this is just what we needed!!
We were picked up from our Riad (pre-arranged with Alain the owner of Mendili) in a lovely Porche Cayenne ... after about 30 minutes we arrived in the middle of nowhere and welcomed in person by the owners Alain and Catherine. We were given mint tea and hot towels then shown to our room one of 10; a suite on the first floor "El Memlaka" which was lovely with a huge en-suite, large bedroom/sitting area, safe, plenty of storage etc and the most stunning balcony terrace. It was all nicely furnished and decorated but the only negative thing for us was the mattress was far too hard. The balcony looked out on to the surrounding greenery, gardens, pool and uninterrupted views of the snow-capped Atlas Mountains with a deep blue sky for a backdrop and birdsong was all that could be heard (ever). We had booked B&B but Al Mendili is 30 mins from the city and having already spent 3 nights there, we did not need to go back - so had evening meals and the odd lunch as well. Breakfast consisted of bread, jam, honey, fruit, egg, fresh juice, tea/coffee and available until 10.30 and also available to eat wherever you want to eat it, we had it on our balcony each morning just dressed in our complimentary dressing gowns with the beautiful views in sight, definitely a chilled way to start the day. Evening meals could also be taken any where you chose to eat, from your room/the roof terrace/small restaurant area or one of the little boudoirs that are dotted around the building. One evening we were escorted up to the roof terrace only to find one table laid with table cloth and candles ready for us to have our meal with the sunset just in view and a waiter to ourselves! The only thing that you are not provided with is a choice of meals, there is one meal in the evening and you are unaware of what it will be until you sit down - but we aren't fussy eaters so it worked out for us; others may need to know or be given a choice of a couple of dishes in advance. The meals (3 course) although simple, were all divine and of excellent quality and taste (compliments to the Chef) with attention to detail and we are now hooked on Moroccan food. During the day we found a 3 mile walk in the area and then either read, listened to music or swam or went in the jacuzzi with the silence only being broken by birdsong or the resident peacock, hens and cockerel. There is also a spa which we did not use - but by all accounts it is also really good. Trips can be arranged if required, as can taxis - none of the staff pester you but are always there if needed. All staff are pleasant and courteous and although French is beneficial Alain speaks good English. I have never come back from a holiday so relaxed for such a long time as I have from here ... although I thought at first it may have been too quiet for us, it was just perfect and made me realise how much all of us need to learn to completely stop from time to time to re-charge, learning that skill is priceless!! We would love to return and would definitely recommend it to others. Alain and his staff will go out of their way to make you feel at home and will do anything to help - which includes ferrying your 'forgotten' hand-luggage to the airport when you realise you've left it behind and your flight goes in just over an hour ... 'forgotten' because you were so relaxed!!! But that is another story...!

Room Tip: All rooms face the mountains and are equally beautiful, our only disappointment was our bed was far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie5691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Kasbah. Sheer pleasure from the start. The food was great although would have liked a choice. The staff excellent. Surrounding, decor superb. Haven't stopped raving about it since coming home. I know where I'll be going when I need to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nidhi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for a 5 night break during April 2014 and had one of our best holidays. We emailed ahead to book an airport collection and the owner Alain emailed me back within a few hours. Both the owners welcomed us to the hotel upon arrival and we were shown to our room after a lovely Moroccan mint tea. We ate breakfast everyday on our terrace, lunch by the pool and dinner on the roof terrace, all the meals are a surprise and were very impressed. I'm very fussy about eating out as I hate paying for bad food but everything was wonderful. I particularly loved the breakfast as it was relaxed, you just called when you were ready to eat and they brought it to your room or you can eat by the pool if you wish. The hotel is beautiful, there are so many places you can sit and spend time, both inside and out. The staff are great, you never felt they were hanging around, however there was always somebody around if you needed them, and everybody's english was great. The pool was very quiet, some days we were alone for most of the day and the view of the Atlas mountains was a great background. A trip into marrakech is around 20-30 mins and can be arranged through the owners. We would definitely return to the hotel and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yung26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

spending a week here with my wife was without doubt one of the best breaks we have shared together. The staff here are amazing where nothing is too much and the setting is great for a romantic break. The food served here is exceptional in both quality and value, this Riad really does have a 1st class chef. Congratulations Alain and Catherine on a superb Riad.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sparklegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were here for a week and enjoyed our time here very much, it is the perfect contrast to the busy Medina. It is very peaceful and relaxing with just ten rooms, the views are fabulous and the hotel is incredibly clean. It is a lovely combination of Moroccan and French and everyone was very tolerant of our attempts to practice our French despite their own good English.
It has a pool table and a spa but you are pretty much just relaxing and enjoying each other's company as it is half an hour from the centre.
Each day breakfast was brought to our room and we had a number of lunches and dinners. They are a set price and up to the chef so all food is a surprise. If you do not like a dish or have any allergies etc they will replace it. We tried so many things we would not have ordered and enjoyed 90 percent of the food.
For me the reason people like the place so much is none of the above, it is the staff. The owners are on site to greet you (even on a late delayed flight), they checked out our tour guide as it was not arranged through them, they were always available to arrange taxis etc and very friendly. They eat by the pool or on the rooftop terrace and always catch up with you and see how your day is.
The spa staff were lovely and the cleaners and waiting staff were just lovely. So attentive, polite and excellent at their jobs.
We have been fortunate to regularly travel extensively both here and abroad and this is both the cleanest and the best service we have received.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have better view of the mountains, ground floor have instead access to gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie29_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
10.9 mi away
Riad Karmela Princesse
Riad Karmela Princesse
#12 of 1,165 in Marrakech
181 reviews
8.7 mi away
Palais Amador
Palais Amador
#32 of 1,165 in Marrakech
153 reviews
11.2 mi away
Le Palais Paysan
Le Palais Paysan
#95 of 1,165 in Marrakech
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#5 of 1,165 in Marrakech
134 reviews
10.4 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#11 of 1,165 in Marrakech
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chahar Mahal Palace
Chahar Mahal Palace
#682 of 1,165 in Marrakech
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mendili Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mendili Kasbah

Address: BP/27 Douar Laamrine Sidi Ghiat, Marrakech 40066, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,165 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £110 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Mendili Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you enter Through the studded wooden gate, kasbah Al Mendili reveals its overwhelming charm to you. Catherine and Alain will welcome you warmly in their posh and friendly surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Al Mendili Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing