We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad - but be warned if you are not bilingual”
Review of Riad Chamali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Chamali
Ranked #39 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad - but be warned if you are not bilingual”
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Riad Chamali is a lovely guesthouse in the middle of quite a suburban area (about 20mins walk from the main square). It's almost impossible to find on your own, we arrived at dark and were actually a bit scared! It does seem to be in quite a shady part of town.
Unfortunately the Riad did not send a driver to pick us up, even though I had asked for one... maybe this was a mistake due to the language barrier, but we ended up having to get a taxi from the airport, then paying a local boy to take us to the Riad!
I would advise anyone who is booking that the staff there speak NO ENGLISH at all, not even a little bit. We struggled a bit to converse with the staff there, although this is due to our own ignorance as they spoke French, Spanish and Arabic, but unfortunately no English. This made it difficult to ask for things we needed... on the first morning we wanted to ask where things were, how to book tours etc, but weren't able to - although we did get by with my very basic French!
Our room cost €60 a night, it was a very nice room, big and with a WC/hot shower, although it wasn't as cheap as I thought it would be. I think Marrakech has been hit by the tourist boom so don't expect things to be as cheap as you would imagine!
Breakfast was lovely, fresh breads, butter and jam, with coffee or tea. The staff were all very nice and professional, but I would say if you don't know ANY French or Spanish to consider this before booking the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckiboo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    84
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
162
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2009

I booked Riad Chamali after searching many Riads on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed! I am so glad we did, as it was everything we were looking for. For a couple in their twenties on a budget, but not wanting to rough it (been there, done that!) this was the perfect choice. Beautiful Riad - The photos on here can't do it justice! In a local part of town and close to the Medina, it is sooo peaceful after a days haggling in the Souks! Sun loungers to relax on, and a lovely yummy breakfast! The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. The only thing I would be aware of is that very little English is spoken but please don't let that put you off, if you can speak basic French that would be fine!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenAndChrisHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

I feel so lucky to have found this Riad after reading so much about so many. Starting with helpful emails from Marina before we arrived, to sublime breakfast with Moroccan bread, courgette jam and great coffee on the terrace in the mornings, from the sound of the water trickling around the small pool in the evening to the incredibly comfy beds, from a cold beer on the terrace listening to the sounds of the city to the almost-good-enough-to-eat toiletries in the bathroom, this place was just incredible.

Once you learn your way to get there (I was tempted to leave a rice trail the first time we ventured out) it's great to be a little way further out from the chaos of the Place Jma el Fnaa but you are still close by to the medina, the Palais Bahia and the Saadien tombs.

Why anyone would want to stay in a big international hotel in Marrakech when you can enjoy an amazing level of service in a traditional, authentic setting such as Riad Chamali is beyond me!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raqueluchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Being at Riad Chamali for our last trip in Marrakech, was the best thing that we have done!! This riad, is very well decorated, located in small street of the medina, it's a very quiet and pleasant place. Being in the small swiming pool after a hard day in the hot Marrakech, was so nice! The service is very good, the cook is great, I definitely recommand this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I booked to stay at this riad with my boyfriend for our first night in morocco before we left for Fes and it certainly set the bar incredibly high for the entire trip.

Our room was gorgeous, simple white decor, large clay wet room, with views out over the plunge pool (the most welcome feature of our entire trip). The rest of the riad was even better. The terrace was perfect, lots of areas for basking in the sun (if you can handle it) a shower for a cool down and shaded cosy areas for the evening.

All of this cost us 40 euros a night, which was the best value for money we found in morocco. Its a little further out from the main square but on the walk you explore the real marrakesh (when not dodging the mopeds!)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

My friend and I (both female) stayed here for three nights in the Gnaoua room., and I thought what we got for the price, which was only 30 euros, was excellent. Ok so it was a shared bathroom, but the communal areas were attractive, the staff were lovely, bringing us breakfast on the terrace, and the place was spotless. We looked at other places but would have had to stay in a dorm for the same money. The riad is located by the Royal Palace, south of the mellah, which is about a 20 minute walk from the square, so isn't brilliant if you don't like walking. However on the way you pass through many interesting sites, the mellah market (a much more authentic feel than the main roads of the souks), the excellent kosybar and tanjir bars for a late night drink, lots of hammams, shops etc. Seeing some reviews of other riads makes me think people have unrealistic expectations of what they will get for their money, so don't expect luxury rooms or 5 star service or no- dirt on the street, local kids being kids, dust or hassle because that is what marrakech is like and if these things offend you then you shouldn't go there. But if you like simple clean attractive accomodation with lots of character then this place is great and I would go back tomorrow!

  • Liked — Location, the terrace
  • Disliked — Shared bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey4009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#12 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Opale
Riad Opale
#596 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#26 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#7 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#13 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chamali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chamali

Property: Riad Chamali
Address: 49 Bis, Derb Zemrane | Quartier Berrima - medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Chamali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic medina of Marrakech, Le riad Chamali welcomes you in a traditional building. Masked by its unassuming facade, lies a heaven of luxuriant calm. Pass through its portals to enter the enchanted world of a traditional medina, where you will be embraced by the Moroccan art of living and overwhelmed by so much to discover. Personalized service with a caring staff to enjoy the tranquility of the nine comfortable rooms, 2 patios with swimmingpool and orange trees, and a huge Terrasse. Airport transfert, evening and traditional cooking, car rental, excursions in the neighborhood. Many services to make your stay with us unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Chamali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing