We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing like a hollow shell...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech
Ranked #139 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very disappointing like a hollow shell...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I travelled there with my wife, after having read almost all comments on TripAdvisor. We were quite sure that we'll have great holidays. What a disappointment!!!

The resort and the rooms are very nice, and that's it.
The service is far, far, far away from what you expect in a so-called 5-star hotel. You can ask for everything - like in any palace, but here you are not sure you'll get it... Asking for the same thing 3 times is a need. Being on holiday with time to relax doesn't mean also that you want to wait for 20 minutes to get what you asked for.

I would be a bit softer in my comments if the hotel manager had been paying at least a bit of attention to our comments, but Mr Chapiteau just didn't care, he was very rude and said we can leave the hotel if we are not happy. I think it is truly a shame: a shame that you are told this as a client who paid £200+ per night, and a shame that this person is working in a client-oriented business. I would strongly advise my friends not to go to Dar Sabra. We have been already twice to Palais Rhoul, and there is no possible comparison.
Dar Sabra, you'll never see me again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBayLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarSabraChapout, Responsable relations clients at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 15 March 2015
Dear Sir, First of all, I would like to stated that your stay was not in June 2012 as you have mentioned on Tripadvisor, you surely put the wrong date because Tripadvisor do not allow you to write an review for an old stay ! Secondly, we are very sorry we did not delivery the service you were expecting before arriving in Dar Sabra. However, we are a 4 stars hotel and not 5 and I believe that's the main reason of your disappointment as you thought we were a 5 stars hotel.
There was definitely something wrong with your stay as M. Chapoutot is known for being welcoming and friendly to all guests and to invite the guests to share his table for lunch or dinner... and never, ever, ask them to leave unless you did something really REALLY unacceptable as his is very patient too and would never do that otherwise. So all I can say now, a long time after your stay, is that we are really sorry that you did not appreciate our hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    89
    28
    27
    9
See reviews for
88
207
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel is beautiful! It is one of the most relaxing places we have every stayed. We stayed in a superior room and it was just incredible. Lots of thought and detail had been put into it. With 4 different swimming pools to choose from you are very spoiled for choice. The free shuttle buses in to marrakech are very nice as you are reasonably far away from here. Reception staff are delightful and very helpful. Food was the only area that we were a little underwhelmed. And as you are outside of the city you dont have much other choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1983Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel is truly stunning. If you are into art or design, you will not be disappointed! With only 20 or so rooms, it has a boutique feel despite being on a large plot with a number of pools. If you are looking for a relaxing break into a gorgeous quiet setting then this is the place for you. If you want evening entertainment and being in the middle of things then you are best staying in the city.
The music in the restaurant despite being played on a loop during meal times was great, very buddha bar. It would have been such a shame if they had evening entertainment. Go on a package holiday if you want that sort of thing. The whole point of the hotel I think is that it is a retreat for the madness of the Medina. A seriously upmarket hotel. If you want entertainment, use the free shuttle to go 15 mins into the city.

The breakfast is very nice (yummy croissants, bread, cheese, ham etc with fresh orange juice). Yes the lunch and dinner menu is slightly limited but it's not the end of the world. The food was enjoyable, not amazing and could be improved but then I am a foodie and have high standards. It would have been nice to have more Moroccan food on the menu (compared to all the French) and out of all the food we tried, the Moroccan tagines were the best. You are in Morocco, why not enjoy Moroccan food but then perhaps the French (the majority of the guests) are less adventurous than us Brits?!

The pool service was a little slow at the beginning of the stay but we were in chill mode so what's the rush anyway? However they soon got to grips with the fact we were about for lunch during the day and came over. They even poured our cokes! And we would recommend trying the mint tea and buying yourself some sweets from the media to enjoy for tea time! The hotel staff were actually incredible particularly on reception (I guess as their English was so good!)- so welcoming, helpful, professional. We could not have asked for more.

And as for our room. We stayed in the Superior on a great deal. Seriously amazing. The best room we have ever stayed in. Massive. The biggest bed ever! His and hers sinks at either side of the room and a his and hers bath. Yes it takes a while to put the water in but worth the wait, why not have a drink while you wait. You're on holiday, what's the rush!? The superior also had an outside terrace. Again, fabulous. Tip - bring your own alcohol via duty free and enjoy there.

We loved it. The best holiday ever. If you want to get away from it all and enjoy chilling by a pool with a few little excursions into the city, this is the place for you. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien C, Directeur général at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Client,
I would like to thank you for your great review. You have described so well the hotel Dar Sabra!
We are delighted ! Thank you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were met at the airport and driven to the resort. We did venture off the main road along a dirt track which slightly worried us but it is only that way as the resort is in the middle of the tranquil desert away from any sounds except the birds. We were shown to our Superior Suite which was GORGEOUS – the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The huge bed was covered in rosepetals and they were also sprinkled in the bath. Our suite had its own private terrace and shared a private pool with about 7 other suites. We spent the majority of the holiday sat by the pool tanning. There was only about 1 child there so the place was very quiet. The wine was surprisingly nice (especially the red wine which they drink chilled), quite expensive but nothing compared to London prices. The menu in the restaurant was quite limited and I would have preferred to see more Moroccan food on the menu. Overall it was a wonderful holiday. On leaving the hotel you are charged 50MAD per day room tax and there were some errors on our bill. I would recommend paying for drinks and food in cash so that you can keep an eye on what is on your bill.

Room Tip: The superior suites were absolutely stunning. I would definitely stay here again if i wasnted a rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiBunny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien C, Directeur général at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,
I would like to thank you for you very good comments about our Hotel, the Superior Suite, bed size, staff, etc...
I am really happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you would recommand our hotel.
Lastly, I just would like to let you know that we have been working to improve the menu for lunch and dinner, mini bar and room service menu. Hopefully in not too long from today, we will have more Moroccan dishes options in the menu.
Once more, THANK YOU for taking your time to share your experience and I hope to welcome you again at hotel Dar Sabra.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

An exotic mix of contemporary buildings, nestled in 2 hectres of lush tropical gardens with a multitude of magnificant sculptures worthy of being in the Tate Modern... this is truely an extraordinary hotel. We stayed in a Junior Suite filled with African art and furniture. Although magnificant to look at, it lacked some immediate creature comforts; the toilet had no sink so you had to cross to the bathroom on the other side of the room to wash your hands, not easy in the middle of the night not wanting to wake your partner. The bath was ridiculously deep and square knowone in their right mind would use it.. taking numerous gallons to fill and not being comfortable to sit in, there was no drawers to hang or put your clothes only open shelves.. not good for ants and clothes were damp. The pool area was breathtaking as were the sumptuous covered canopy beds. We ate a couple of times at the restuarant and had breakfast each morning. The food was varied and well presented. I was unwell and I can not say enough about the staff and how kind and helpful they were, especially Denise and Sadia. A free shuttle bus took you to and from the square everyday and the hotel can orgainse your own driver should you wish. The only down side I have is the lack of entertanment in the evening. The restuarant and bar overlooks the infinity pool and lends itself perfectly for a backdrop for some music of the live variety.. not the one CD of awful music that played repeatedly. If the hotel did offer evening entertainment it could entice business from outside of the hotel as others do... it certainly has the spectacular surroundings to do so. I thought about staying in a riad in the centre and being in the thick of it. If that is what you want then this boutique hotel is not for you, if you want peace and tranquility then the Dar Sabra offers just that and allot more. I would certainly stay here again. Thanks Denise and Sadia for a fantastic stay.
Top tip: If you ask the way from a local expect to be drawn into a friends shop where you will either have to buy something or be held captive.
Top restuarant: Riad Oasis just off the square, roof top eating with air conditioning attentive service and great range of food at reasonable prices
To place: Palace Bahia, stunning ....
No no: they say you drink the tap water but it depends on from where, so drink bottled and don't have ice.

Room Tip: The African Suite I felt was not as nice as others.. lacked creature comforts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allthatisjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

A truly unusual stay at a quite unusual hotel. Service and food of a very high standard as were rooms and grounds of this Art House Hotel.It was a pity that that the bar closed at nine in the evening thus depriving one of a post dinner drink and that staff were over dilligent in removing sunbed towels(regularly happened at 4pm).However apart from these niggles have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mem186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel is pure bliss. Peace and quiet with just the birds singing. Amazing room; modern, clean, double bath made in marble, private terrace. 15 minutes from madness of the medina and the hotel provides a free shuttle throughout the day. Restaurant does good food although menu ever so slightly limited. If relaxation is required then this is most definetly the place. Loved every second

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chichester525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#49 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#93 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#170 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#47 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech

Property: Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech
Address: Douar Abiad, Circuit de la Palmeraie | Douar Abiad, Palm Grove Area, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Hotel Dar Sabra)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home at Dar Sabra Hotel. Located in a 2-hectare garden in the heart of the palm grove of Marrakech, Dar Sabra is a design and boutique hotel located 15 minutes away from the Medina and bustle of Marrakech and we offer a free shuttle to the Medina 3 times a day. Dar Sabra is an open air museum with famous contemporary sculptures, a sublime and cosy SPA with heated jacuzzi, 6 pools, tennis courts, table tennis, a gym, a free shuttle 3X per day between the hotel and the Medina. A very modern and luxurious 2 bedroom villa with private pool for lovers named Villa Di Rosa or several themes suites (contemporary superiors, Art Deco, Asian, Moroccan, African, Zen, Indian and Afghan themes). All rooms are air conditioned and feature a minibar, a flat-screen satellite TV, a hairdryer, free WIFI, and much more. Our chef proposes an international cuisine mixed with local flavors. The hotel also prepares Moroccan or special meals on request. The buffet breakfast can be served by the pool or in the restaurant with a large choice of fresh food. A free private parking on site is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing