We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Deux Tours(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jnane Tamsna(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmeraie Palace(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palais Dar Ambre(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Golf(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
347
100
27
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
100
27
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior suitevilla blanchepalm grooveclay tennis courtluxurious placeincredible hotelfree shuttle servicehired a carthe main housethe hotel offersrelaxing retreatswimming poolother guestsaway from the hustle and bustleorange juicemoroccan teawonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My sister and I stayed at Dar Sabra for five nights and enjoyed every moment of it. We arrived early and from the outset we couldn't have had a greater welcome. We had the most amazing Moroccan tea and cakes whilst we waited for our room to be ready (we only waited about 10 minutes) but got to absorb our amazing surroundings whilst we waited. We stayed in the Moroccan Room which was just truly beautiful, we were speechless!

We were also very pleased with the variety at breakfast and loved the fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh pastries and fresh pancakes. Such a good breakfast!! The food at lunch and dinner was also of a high quality and the service was also very good. There's not one negative thing we can think of to complain about. All the staff are so friendly, attentive, approachable, welcoming and we would like to thank them all so much for being so genuinely helpful and kind. You all do such a fantastic job!

It was our first time visiting Marrakech and we’re so glad that we stayed in such a beautiful and tranquil place that’s truly like paradise. The free shuttle service is also a really good addition and is available six times a day which is brilliant. If you want to keep fit, there’s also a gym which I often used – great and easy to operate, only comment would be to perhaps consider putting a fan or air conditioning in there as the room is already very warm. We also used the spa for facials, pedicures and massage which was also very nice.

We will definitely be visiting Marrakech again and when we do, we will definitely stay at Dar Sabra. You will certainly be seeing our faces again and hopefully very soon (and for longer)! We will recommend this place to everyone we know.

Thank you all so much for an amazing experience!
Merci Beaucoup de votre aide!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carissa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We went to Dar Sabra on a Groupon deal and it was the best choice we could make. This boutique hotel is so pretty, art lovers will really apprechiate this place as it is full of great sculptures and art objects. Dar Sabra is very intimate and relaxing, a perfect hide away from the busy Marrakech town centre. The free transferes are really handy to pop into town for a few hours and come back after you get bored of the heath in town. We had a couple of spa treatments: hammam and body scub when we arrived and a massage before we left which was very relaxing. The staff is excellent, very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Shaid to make our lunches and dinners so great and for Hassan at reception to make us feel so welcome with his smile. I would highly recommend Dar Sabra if you are in for some quiet time to relax and if you are after a bit of special luxury. We loved it.

Room Tip: African Junior Suit is beautiful, but a bit dark. The Superior rooms are full on, we loved them!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katanagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Dar Sabra was the last stop of our 2 weeks trip in Morocco. From the early times we were
Been planning our trip we had decided that the last days will be spent in a 5* hotel for total
Relaxation. Indeed Dar sabra was the ideal hotel for this scope as it is located in Palm Oasis,
15 minsBy car from the madness of downtown Marrakech and it’s Medina.

The area is called by the local the ‘’Beverly Hills’’ of North Africa and not only Morocco. In that area you will find Only 5* hotels and huge villas of the high class Marrakesh people.

Upon arrival we have been welcomed by the reception staff with a big smile and Mint tea. After a while they took us to the room.

We had booked a standard room. This category of rooms apparently that have been added at present as they are building now and half Of them, have just completed recently. Those rooms are at the end of hotel separate for the main hotel area and facilities. The room that have
Shown us, was exactly next to the building side, facing the wall of the hotel and surrounded by tall sidewalls giving a depression feeling. However everything was brand new in the room, very nice decorated and spacious but the surrounding was not nice.

Having explain our concerns to the reception they were kind enough to upgrade us and move us to a Junior Suite. If you can afford the extra costs strongly suggest to go for the higher class rooms/suite next to main building.

The Jr Suite was exactly underneath the reception at the Ground floor and was huge… same goes for the huge king side double bed. In the room you could find all the amenities to expect for 5* hotel, hair dryer, safe, big desk, fried, mini bar.
The bathroom was separate from the toilet and was also very big and nice. Rooms had a big plasma TV with satellite and hundreds of TV Channels.

Next to our room was one of the total 4 swimming pools available at the Hotel. The one next to our rooms was used like a private one as nobody else was going there, Most of the day. The big central pool was very nice between the bar and the restaurant and we spend our time mostly there.

The hotel offers shuttle service to city centre which is very convenient for those wish to see some action!!! as well as massage- spa centre and small gym.
We did not use any of those facilities but we have used on daily basis the Home Cinema of the hotel which next to our room and it seems nobody else knew about it.

The home cinema was great and nice fun as there were huge sofas, just relax, lay down and enjoy the movie. There a no of CD to choose from. If you go to Dar Sabra try to Find the home cinema.


As soon as we arrived at the hotel we got a positive impression. Around the gardens you will see many modern art painting and sculptures. We both like it and it is very to walk around.
This gives the hotel an artistic touch!! Of pop modern Art. Also we like a lot the huge green designer chair in the veranda , facing the main pool.

Indeed the staff is not visible at all-time which did not bother us at least. Always you will find someone to assist and serve you. Hotel staff was always willing to assist with a smile especially
The reception staff and the day shift in the restaurant, where they were doing their best to assist and listen to your request and comments. From staff only one guy from the evening bar staff
Had a wrong attitude and rely kind of lazy!! but after we talked to the Manager, surprise, surprise everything change on his approach!!!!...

For meals the only option is the one and only restaurant of the hotel where Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served.Food was nice, fresh and tasteful, especially their beef fillet!! Once of the best I have tried recently. If you stay a couple of day then will be ok but for more days iyou will get bored with same food every day. So you can take the shuttle bus to the center.

However Hotel management should considered to put some extra VEG options as for my wife being a Veggie, options were rather limited especially at dinner.

Breakfast was ok but for 5* hotel we had higher expectations!

Hotel has around 20 rooms and even it was almost full during our stay you could not see many people! Which for us was rather positive!!!..


Contrary to other reviewers we have been really happy with the Management of the hotel as in addition to the free upgrade we have been offered a late checkout.

We have choose this hotel for relaxation, doing nothing and recharge our batteries f after 12 days going around Morocco. This was what we wanted and this what we got.

Indeed the Hotel management has to look into minor thinks which can make a difference!!

If you looking for a lazy relax holidays go there!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ROULA-THANOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Dar Sabra is a tastefully appointed boutique hotel that blends chic European modern art with North African architecture and interiors. The rooms are large and luxurious, but not as faultless as you would expect for an apparent 5* - ours had a dreadfully noisy air conditioner and a faulty shower. We overlooked these minor but irritating issues because the hotel offered us relaxation on a massive scale. We had a Junior Suite, booked with Secret Escape with a ridiculous discount, which came with its own private pool area (well we shared it with 2 other rooms but never saw anyone else) which meant we only ever used the giant swimming pool once. We were left to our own devices completely and that's what we wanted.

The staff were invisible (no really, they were impossible to find) and yet they aimed to please, running back and forth in the midday sun at lunch time and despite the toiling heat and Ramadan fasting, always smiled. The free shuttle into town was very handy and we used it every day.

I didn't make it into the spa or hammam and the gym was small, dusty and very hot - I wasn't sure if it had air conditioning but it needed it.

The food could use some variety so we only dined at lunch choosing carpaccio, salads and exquisite home made ice-cream rather than the main courses which were decidedly unimpressive. Breakfast whilst not bad could also be improved, consisting mainly of pastries, pancakes, some cheese & turkey ham, fruit, cereals and occasionally omelettes made to order.

Staying at Dar Sabra is more like hiring a massive private villa, with a few housekeeping staff to help smooth your stay and a few other house guests dotted about. We hardly saw or spoke to any other guests which for us was perfect. However after a few days we were ready to move on to our next destination and I would have been bored to remain there any longer.

Would I go back? Probably not, but I wouldn't deter people from going here as long as they had the right expectations. If you are after 5* service and like to be waited on hand and foot you will be disappointed but if you just want to chill and be left alone, you'll probably love it.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites have their own pool - we were in the African room which didn't have the full length window but had a lot more privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BranksomeBeachTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I travelled there with my wife, after having read almost all comments on TripAdvisor. We were quite sure that we'll have great holidays. What a disappointment!!!

The resort and the rooms are very nice, and that's it.
The service is far, far, far away from what you expect in a so-called 5-star hotel. You can ask for everything - like in any palace, but here you are not sure you'll get it... Asking for the same thing 3 times is a need. Being on holiday with time to relax doesn't mean also that you want to wait for 20 minutes to get what you asked for.

I would be a bit softer in my comments if the hotel manager had been paying at least a bit of attention to our comments, but Mr Chapiteau just didn't care, he was very rude and said we can leave the hotel if we are not happy. I think it is truly a shame: a shame that you are told this as a client who paid £200+ per night, and a shame that this person is working in a client-oriented business. I would strongly advise my friends not to go to Dar Sabra. We have been already twice to Palais Rhoul, and there is no possible comparison.
Dar Sabra, you'll never see me again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayBayLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarSabraChapout, Responsable relations clients at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2015

Dear Sir, First of all, I would like to stated that your stay was not in June 2012 as you have mentioned on Tripadvisor, you surely put the wrong date because Tripadvisor do not allow you to write an review for an old stay ! Secondly, we are very sorry we did not delivery the service you were expecting before arriving in Dar Sabra. However, we are a 4 stars hotel and not 5 and I believe that's the main reason of your disappointment as you thought we were a 5 stars hotel.
There was definitely something wrong with your stay as M. Chapoutot is known for being welcoming and friendly to all guests and to invite the guests to share his table for lunch or dinner... and never, ever, ask them to leave unless you did something really REALLY unacceptable as his is very patient too and would never do that otherwise. So all I can say now, a long time after your stay, is that we are really sorry that you did not appreciate our hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews