We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gorgeous property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech
Ranked #130 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you don't mind not being able to walk to old Marrakech, then Dar Sabra is a gorgeous place to stay. The location out in the Palmeraie is not such a problem because they had an efficient driver transporting guests to and from the Medina everyday at pre-designated times. The day and night managers are very kind, speak excellent English and were very knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast is adequate but could be better. The property is STUNNING in beauty and size. The room I stayed in is larger than my place in San Francisco. Overall, though the stay was memorable due to the staff. If anything, Dar Sabra has more of a "friend's huge house" feel to it than that of a hotel. In fact, I was relocated to an equally stunning property not for the last night of my stay because the Moroccan royal family had decided it wanted to stay at Dar Sabra. This was not a problem because Dar Sabra took care of everything and also allowed me to have the services of Dar Sabra's driver even after I was moved to the other place. My stay occurred over several nights more than a year ago, during the first week of March 2013.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouserou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    88
    28
    25
    9
See reviews for
87
202
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valenciennes, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We found Dar Sabra on tripadvisor for a last minute booking. This is definitely the right place to have a rest and also enjoy the very lively areas of Marrakech. Everything has been designed to offer a first class stay. The personnel is also very motivated to make your stay very close to what paradise might be.
So do not hesitate one second, book now and enjoy some days to discover the fascinating sides of Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank VA5969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I met friends here to see in the new year - we took 3 rooms in all. 2 were lovely, while 1 was in a basement, had little natural light & smelled musty. We hired a car between us, which worked well - the hotel is quite remote & I'm not sure how you would manage without one. The spa was nice & the food fine, if a little inconsistent. I had the same sandwich for lunch on 2 consecutive days & received 2 completely different plates, one (the first day) was twice the size of the other. The shower in my room didn't work properly but was fixed when I pointed it out.

The new year celebrations were fun & the staff were very helpful & friendly. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss in terms of service when the juice / coffee ran out etc, but otherwise, fine.

Overall, a mixed experience. I'm not sure that I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask not to be given a basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarSabraChapout, Directeur général at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for your review and your great rate of 4 of out 5 .
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed our New Year celebrations and that you have also liked the 2 suites you had during your stay in Dar sabra.
We understand that the standard room your friend had is not as nice as the superior suite you had and the junior suite your other friend had as both rooms were upgraded for free.
While I wish you had a better experience and I am disappointing to find out your club sandwich was not the same, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you will not regret.
My sincere apologies and warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This fantastic hotel is an oasis of peace in the middle of The Palmeraie in Marrakech! The staff is very helpful and always smiley, the food is delicious and you can enjoy it in your villa, at the restaurant or by the pool. If you are an art lover, you will definitely enjoy walking around the incredible gardens! I highly recommend Dar Sabra to all

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarSabraChapout, Directeur général at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you at Hotel Dar Sabra and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly on contact@darsabra.com for best deals. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Let's start by saying I am not a fan of Morocco or any part of |North Africa for that matter! So when my partner suggest a short break for Valentines Day in Marrakech I was a bit doubtful. However, Dar Sabra is away from the hustle and bustle of the city, set in beautiful grounds, with some fascinating sculptures. The grounds are well cared for. The pools were too cool to swim.
The room we were allocated was not the one we had requested, however it didn't matter as it was beautiful. Spacious, clean and very comfortable. It was also very peaceful. The breakfasts were excellent, fresh fruit, various cereals, made to order omlettes - delicious. The free shuttle into the city is excellent, the driver pointing out many places of interest and suggestions for sight seeing.
The staff were very good, as a previous reviewer said they could benefit from a little bit of training, but once you accept that the way of life is slower than ours it really isn't a problem. Reception staff were very efficient and spoke excellent English.
Two improvements that would make this really excellent would be tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and the fact that you had to run the water for about 10 minutes to get it hot enough to have a shower.
We had a wonderful stay and the chocolates and rose petals on the bed on Valentine's evening were a lovely touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of February. We were very pleasantly surprised on arrival to be informed that we had been upgraded from a junior suite to a superior. Well immediately I am afraid this makes us very biased as from then on how could we complain about anything haha.

The superior room was absolutely gorgeous and the design was fantastic elegant, beautiful and luxuriant. The highlight for us was the double sized bath. All of this was fantastically made up for our arrival with flowers everywhere.

A special mention must go to Hassan the receptionist he really bent over backwards to help me on many occasions. His English is excellent, he is incredibly friendly, cheery and welcoming the perfect host. A special mention he even mastered how to say grill hehe.

Everything runs at Moroccan time which means slowly. Having been to Morocco before I quickly remembered this and eased back into their pace, this makes it a lot less stressful.

The hotel is beautifully designed all over with no moments of peering behind the scenery that can so often be the case at hotels trying to be a certain style. There is genuine pieces of art dotted around with contemporary sculptures littering the grounds. Stunning pools all light up at night, a mix of modern and traditional architecture created a feeling of well thought out design.

My only real niggle was that the food was overpriced for what it was and lacked variety. If you want to just eat in the hotel then you may be disappointed. Saying that Marrakesh is only a free shuttle bus ride away takes about 10 minutes, where you will be overwhelmed with cheap amazing food.

All in all a truly wonderful time.

Thank You Dar Sabra.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Winter sun is what we wanted on our one week holiday and winter sun is what we got. We chose the Dar Sabra from a Voyage Prive special offer but the reviews on TripAdvisor and the look of the place on the website were very inviting. The property itself is of an unusual design but pleasing to the eye although the works of sculpture and art left me feeling as if we weren't really in Morocco. Three swimming pools looked very inviting in the 23c temperatures but in spite of reassurances at least one of them was heated, none of them were and this prevented us (or anyone else) from getting anymore than thigh-high is the freezing water! Still, very refreshing!! Meals in the cozy little restaurant (with beautiful log fire) were of quite an acceptable standard but were spoilt by being delivered luke warm. The reason for this is that the crazy designer forgot to place a door between the kitchens and the restaurant area thereby forcing the waiters to walk out of the kitchens, around the outside of the hotel and back into the Restaurant. Quite how the meals would be delivered during rainstorms, I can't imagine! The staff themselves were very courteous and helpful but a number of them were clearly in need of training as, for example, whilst attending the buffet breakfast, they would simply watch as the coffee or fruit juices or crockery ran out. Once this was pointed out to them, they were quick to scuttle-off and get replacements but it was the fact that this had to be pointed out to them by the guests. It became a little annoying in the end and lowered our expectations of the breakfast experience. So if there's anything that the management of the place needs to do as a result of this posting, it's INVEST IN STAFF TRAINING! It will prove worthwhile because the staff are keen to give a good service and please the guests. Finally, the room was quite pleasant and certainly offered loads of space. Our double bed was huge and comfortable. The shower was also large (2 occupants - no problem - 3 if you're lucky!) and there was a good supply of hot water. TV was a complete waste of time as the satellite signal was hopeless, but who cares - a good book, conversation or a game of cards were great alternatives. One little extra which would add to the comfort factor would be tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Just a few 'tweaks' here and there and this hotel would be a nice, relaxing place for a short stay. I think I would return at some future date.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#45 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#255 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#166 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech

Property: Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech
Address: Douar Abiad, Circuit de la Palmeraie | Douar Abiad, Palm Grove Area, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Hotel Dar Sabra)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home at Dar Sabra Hotel. Located in a 2-hectare garden in the heart of the palm grove of Marrakech, Dar Sabra is a design and boutique hotel located 15 minutes away from the Medina and bustle of Marrakech and we offer a free shuttle to the Medina 3 times a day. Dar Sabra is an open air museum with famous contemporary sculptures, a sublime and cosy SPA with heated jacuzzi, 6 pools, tennis courts, table tennis, a gym, a free shuttle 3X per day between the hotel and the Medina. A very modern and luxurious 2 bedroom villa with private pool for lovers named Villa Di Rosa or several themes suites (contemporary superiors, Art Deco, Asian, Moroccan, African, Zen, Indian and Afghan themes). All rooms are air conditioned and feature a minibar, a flat-screen satellite TV, a hairdryer, free WIFI, and much more. Our chef proposes an international cuisine mixed with local flavors. The hotel also prepares Moroccan or special meals on request. The buffet breakfast can be served by the pool or in the restaurant with a large choice of fresh food. A free private parking on site is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing