We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech
Ranked #125 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Booked this hotel through Expedia and 2 days before we left the UK received an email saying they had to cancel as the Royal Family had requisitioned the place. They said as we hadnt paid we could find somewhere else! I tried several times emailing them as the dates they stated in the email did not correspond with our dates. I did not receive any reply so Expedia called them on my behalf - apparently the dates they mentioned in the email wwere incorrect and we would not be able to stay there. They gave the names of 3 other places that we might like to stay at and said they would help us negotiate similar prices. I asked them for details on one of them as I could not find any details online, saying thatwe were leaving the UK the following day. I heard nothing from them until I had been in Marrakech about 3 days. Their attitude was so poor, they seemed to emphasise the fact that we had not paid so it would not be a problem for us to book somewhere else. We were so looking forward to stay at this place as it looked so beautiful and was extremely disappointed. If we had cancelled then we would have had to pay however they did not have to compensate us in any way! I still do not know if it was a genuine reason for cancelling or did they just not want to homour our booking as we got such a good deal from Expedia on the price

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel and be let down like we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetteHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarSabraChapout, General Manager at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mrs. JanetteHereford,
First, I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused regarding your reservation at Dar Sabra and believe me, we would never refuse a guest if we are not obliged to do so as it was the case and we had to relocate all our clients, not only you, to other hotels with the same price as per each clients' bookings.
The "for the same price" words were only highlighted because clients are scared to pay more than they were expecting to pay so we wanted to assure them this would not going to happen.
We do hope that you may one day return to give us a second chance and we are truly sorry again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    93
    28
    27
    10
See reviews for
93
217
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My family just visited Hotel Dar Sabra and had an amazing stay. It's on beautiful grounds and you feel like you're completely removed from the rest of Marrakech. I must commend the entire staff at Dar Sabra - from the moment you walk into the door, you are welcomed by the friendliest group of people. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa that was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The restaurant on site cooks up delicious meals that are extremely fresh that we found there wasn't any real need to leave the hotel to explore other restaurants. My children loved the pool, the hammocks and the desserts! Denise and Hassan helped us plan excursions and were wonderful with the children. Such a welcoming place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarSabraChapout, General Manager at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear C.B;
First of all, a BIG thank you for taking your time to write on Tripadvisor.
It was a huge pleasure for all our team to welcome you and your family at DAR SABRA.
You are all very adorable and we thank you again for your support!
It is really great to find out that our food and services are getting better every day ! We only works with fresh food collected in the morning and prepared "à la minute" to our clients to make sure of its quality !
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you with your family again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just spent four days with friends at Dar Sabra and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The facility is outstanding. Once within the walls you feel like you are in a very special environment. The staff is attentive and as absolutely helpful as you will find in Morocco. The spa was great. The workout room was equipped functional and entirely fit for purpose.

There are five pools at the hotel. A main pool for splashing about, two lap pools and the suites each have a pool. There is plenty of water to go around. When we were there the entire place was booked and there was enough room to feel like you have a private place to yourself.

In full disclosure we were having a big party there...and it was fantastic. And my wife and I went earlier to see the facility in its "normal mode"...and we loved it.

Marrakech has been our wedding anniversary city for many years and this recommendation comes with a lot of experience in the city and surrounding areas. Dar Sabra is the real deal and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarSabraChapout, Directeur général at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Mr. Paul L.,
I would like to Thank you SO MUCH for taking 5 minutes of your very precious time to write a POSITIVE review on Tripadvisor.
We are so happy when our clients appreciate their stay at Dar Sabra but we are even HAPPIER when it concerns a special occasion as your 50th birthday with all your friends from all around the world ! We miss this awesome group so much !
We will never forget this weekend which was fantastic for all of our team too !
You were all so friendly; kind, respectful and I THANK YOU in the name of the whole team !
Why not maybe celebrate your wife's 50th birthday or a flashback weekend with your friends next year ? You are all ALWAYS WELCOME at Dar Sabra and we will be waiting for your visit with opened arms ! OUR MOST SINCERE REGARDS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was here for a long weekend for a private birthday celebration and the hotel was wonderful on all fronts. We were a demanding bunch and the staff really went out of their way several times to accommodate requests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CASnowDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarSabraChapout, General Manager at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mrs. CASnowDog,

Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking some of your precious time to write it on Tripadvisor.

We’re always happy when someone chooses to stay at our hotel. And we’re downright honored when you choose to spend a day as special as your friends birthday weekend.
Making his birthday a memorable one was the least we could do and we are happy we have achieved our goal !

We hope to see you and your group of friends soon. Maybe to someone else's birthday ? =)

Our warmest regards from Dar Sabra team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 day break at Dar sabra with friends, this wasn't our first visit and my wife words on arrival were " I feel so relaxed already" That's the thing about Dar sabra, whilst you are staying in a luxurious property with amazing gardens you instantly feel relaxed and welcome. The staff are attentive but discreet and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and unique in decoration, the bathroom in the superior Suite is amazing.
I would highly recommend eating at Dar sabra, the BBQ lunch near the big pool is fabulous and dinner on the terrace overlooking the lantern lit pool not to be missed.
I cannot find fault with anything and we will definitely be returning. Thank you to Adrien, Denise and all the staff for a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarSabraChapout, General Manager at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear client,
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a positive review !
It was a great honor to welcome you and your family at Dar Sabra.
Thank you for your great pictures and we are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.
Our warmest wishes,
Adrien Chapoutot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Lovely private villa with private pool and private garden. Wonderful to have large garden and space after busy time in medina. Tennis courts and huge pool for the kids. Food was disappointing and drinks were expensive.

Room Tip: Private villa was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennhmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel as part of a living social deal . We were impressed with the actual building . The room was lovely and so were the communal areas but it could have been so much better just by addressing a few issues.
The staff working in the restaurant whilst friendly enough could do with a bit of training. We had to ask most mornings for them to top up either the juice or the coffee pots, bring out some more bowls or spoons... This has been mentioned in previous reviews and obviously not been acted upon.
We also had to ask for pool towels very day .
On arrival we were informed about the shuttle bus that is provided 3 times a day into town and 3 times back which seemed great but the shuttle is at strange times of day eg into town at 9 but then back at 11 giving only 2 hours to get into town ( about 15 minutes ) find your restaurant , order and eat and get back to the shuttle . Another problem was that there were at least 3 different drivers who all seemed to have different places for pick up . One night when the shuttle didn't arrive to pick us up until 9.30 so we didn't get into town until 9.45 the driver wouldn't agree to pick us up later so we missed the shuttle back and had to get a cab back to the hotel and another night a different driver claimed to have been looking for us for 30 mins whilst we stood at the pickup point for 40 minutes , ringing the hotel to ask where he was and getting fobbed off whilst being hassled by taxi drivers. So do not rely on the shuttle instead budget for cabs to and from the hotel ( between 150 -200 dirhams depending on how good you are at haggling )
The TV in the basement room we had was very poor signal but the staff did try to improve this for us. The same can be said for the wifi but again the staff did help with this.
The food in the restaurant was disappointing because there was very little choice for vegetarians and not much Morrocan food. Again , the staff service in the evening could have been a lot better. It was very slow.

Room Tip: We didn't realise the hotel was so far from the centre and would have budgeted more for cabs if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarSabraChapout, General Manager at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Client,
First of all, thank you for taking your time to write on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry that our services were not in the level of your expectations.
We took your recommendations very seriously and we have already bought a lot more of pool towels and we have also changed the set up of our breakfast and assigned a fix manager to take care of the service and make sure the coffee is hot and the orange juice is filled up !
It was a pleasure for all our team to welcome you and your daughter at DAR SABRA.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you with your family again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#48 of 500 in Marrakech
739 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#164 of 500 in Marrakech
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#46 of 500 in Marrakech
418 reviews
3.1 mi away
Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#121 of 500 in Marrakech
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech

Property: Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech
Address: Douar Abiad, Circuit de la Palmeraie | Douar Abiad, Palm Grove Area, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Hotel Dar Sabra)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home at Dar Sabra Hotel. Located in a 2-hectare garden in the heart of the palm grove of Marrakech, Dar Sabra is a design and boutique hotel located 15 minutes away from the Medina and bustle of Marrakech and we offer a free shuttle to the Medina 3 times a day. Dar Sabra is an open air museum with famous contemporary sculptures, a sublime and cosy SPA with heated jacuzzi, 6 pools, tennis courts, table tennis, a gym, a free shuttle 3X per day between the hotel and the Medina. A very modern and luxurious 2 bedroom villa with private pool for lovers named Villa Di Rosa or several themes suites (contemporary superiors, Art Deco, Asian, Moroccan, African, Zen, Indian and Afghan themes). All rooms are air conditioned and feature a minibar, a flat-screen satellite TV, a hairdryer, free WIFI, and much more. Our chef proposes an international cuisine mixed with local flavors. The hotel also prepares Moroccan or special meals on request. The buffet breakfast can be served by the pool or in the restaurant with a large choice of fresh food. A free private parking on site is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing