We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, spacious, great service”
Review of Riad Palmier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Palmier
Ranked #497 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely, spacious, great service”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This place is amazing, we arrive the 1st of August, right in the middle of Ramadan and the highest heat you could ever imaging (117C), it was very nice to come back to our Riad to refresh our selves in the pool, even tough the size is small, just for the 3 of us was just fine. The service is the best part, they will do whatever they can to make you feel comfortable, they will help you find taxis, tours, anything you want. My husband asked one of them who is a soccer fan to get a Barcelona T-shirt at the market because we couldn't find a lower price and he did, he even gave us Moroccan music as souvenir. The manager Jean-Fracois is great, he was there every day to make sure everything was ok with us and in case we needed help for anything. The rooms were spacious with AC, although bathrooms were a bit warmer due to have the water heater on, we had to open the bathroom window to maintain the heat out. Decor is wonderful, we really loved it there. We had a dinner on the roof, we couldn't hear any sounds from the streets, that was very nice. In the morning you wake up to the sounds of the birds. Badi palace is next door and Jemma plaza is just a 10 minute walk. I definitely recommend this place to all.

Room Tip: centric, 5 star riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larusaphilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed in Riad Palmier in March and i must say even then the weather was very hot. The hotel itself is great. It looks and feels lovely. Our room was nicely deigned and quite spacious. We loved the en suite shower room. On the roof of this hotel you can relax on the terrace or in the tent. The only minus is the swimming pool. It's very small. The staff and the owners are amazing. Honestly we couldn't ask for better service. They will bring your food whenever you want it and wherever you want it. For example you can ask to have breakfast on the roof at 10am and it will be there :D Their food is very fresh and cooked by a proper chef (typical morrocan cousine ). Staff can speak good english comparing to most places in Morroco. - everybody speaks french. Hotel is located right in the middle of the old city So you have 5-10 min walk to all the markets, restaurants and the main square. Although it is inside of a busy city you cannot hear almost anything inside. It was very helpful after all the noise in the city. I would recommend this place for people planning to visit Marrakech for 3 days and then stay somewhere outside Morroco. The hotel is lovely but as soon as you will go outside people won't stop bothering you to come into their shop and buy stuff. Aww and don't pay the taxi driver on the airport more than 80 dirhams. They will try to charge you 300 but a normal price is 60 so when you are giving them 80 you are already overpaying. Overall it was a really lovely and interesting stay i would go back there again, But only for 3 days

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the 1st floor so you won't hear people when they are eating their breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Charming Riad with a great location - when we arrived at the Riad the staff welcomed us very warmly. And showed us our rooms. They also gave recommendations on what to see and where to eat. The romms are have a great individual maroccan style design. after a day in the souks the riad is a haven of tranquility. From the rooftop terrace you can see the storks at the badi palace. I also recommend to order once or twice Maroccan food in the Riad, the servings are huge and delicious. Overall a great place in Marrakech

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We were bowled over by this place from start to finish! Firstly, it is in such a fantastic location- just a short walk from the souks and around the corner from a taxi rank and Kosybar. What more could you need?! The decor is so tasteful and romantic, with fresh roses everywhere, candles and jasmine scent in the evening. We stayed in room 6 and loved it. The service is impeccable! The French owners and Rashid and Fahoud were very attentive and discreet- offering us tips and advice whenever we needed it. Fahoud even collected our bus tickets for Essouira to save us time! The evening meal was the best value for money out of all the restaurants we visited and absolutely delicious. Yes the breakfast gets a little repetitive but its included in the price of the room so who cares?! Its nice anyway! It did get a little cold at night but the heater in the room was switched on for us every evening so we would arrive back from a hard day of exploring to a cosy room. We loved the private balcony- although I'd expect that it would get more use at a warmer time of year. The communal roof terrace was great- probably because there weren't many guests so it was possible to have the whole sunny terrace to ourselves at certain points in the day- it was possible to sunbathe even in February!
The only criticism that I can think of, that I guess would common to all riads of the same design is that you can hear everything- from the birds, to the mosques' calls to prayer and (unfortunately) the other guests. Perhaps they should be reminded that everything can be heard and so they should keep it down a bit? Anyway a pair of earplugs wouldn't go amiss! Its mostly quiet, but the noise of other guests when we were trying to sleep- particularly early in the morning- annoyed me. Although my partner didn't notice the noise- so perhaps I'm more sensitive. However, I had a pair of earplugs that did the job when necessary!
In all, the beauty, great service and location made this one of the best places we've stayed. And we've experienced 5 star hotels. This is a different kind of place to stay but still upholds high standards.

Room Tip: room 6 only has one next door room, it has a door to the bathroom- which apparently some rooms don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Really enjoyed our five night stay at Riad Palmier. Rooms are traditonal,clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is served wherever you choose around the Riad and whatever time you like. The location is brilliant, near the palaces and Jewish area with a number of different roads that can take you to the main square.

The Riad staff were excellent, friendly and informative and couldn't do enough to help you. They gave us advice,directions,booked restaurants and even cooked us a gorgeous tagine one night. Tasty and very reasonably priced.

We also took advantage of the on site hammam,gommage and massage which was delightful.

If you're looking for a traditional relaxing stay in the heart of the madness of Marrakech then you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I was just at this Riad with a friend for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The owners are French and very hospitable with lots of useful information and suggestions. The room was comfortable but recommend bring wool pjs in the winter to make sure you sleep comfortably although the rooms do have a heater/air conditioning unit on the wall inside. This makes some noise so we only used it for heating up the room while out at dinner and then turned it off. We stayed in room 7 on the sunny terrace which was lovely in the morning to sit in the sun while eating breakfast. The location is very convenient right beside the ruins of the Palace Badia with a view to the palace walls and a flock of storks nesting on the walls making their sounds and honoring us with their graceful presence.

Room Tip: Room 2 seems to be a very spacious and romantic room. We had room 7 on the terrace which was nice b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This Riad is goregous and the staff are all lovely and very friendly. We literally hibernated in the riad as Marrakech was a little overwhelming! I loved all the candle light and the tent on the roof terrace was our favourite reading spot. It's in a brilliant location, right in the heart of everything but just set back enough away from the main square. I'm so pleased we stayed here as it really made our holiday! the food is very reasonable and delicious and the rooms are very comfortable. Couldn't fault it!

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra to get the room with the balacony which was lovely to have our breakfast on ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaGilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#214 of 499 in Marrakech
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,215 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 499 in Marrakech
1,987 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Turquoise
Riad Turquoise
#92 of 1,139 in Marrakech
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Palmier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Palmier

Property: Riad Palmier
Address: 22 Derb Berrima Touareg, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Palmier 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Palmier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Palmier Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing