We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medina Marrakech”
Review of Riad Dar Othmane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Othmane
Ranked #380 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Medina Marrakech”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We chose this Riad because of the good reviews and the good price and it was the best choice! The place is in the middle of the Medina of Marrakech, but it's perfectly quiet. Hassan is a wonderful host, he makes you feel welcome, is very helpful and attentive, respectful and polite. At our last night he cooked a wonderful dinner for us and made us feel at home in a place that is very different than where we come from. A great experience, we can only recommend the Riad Dar Othmane. Best place in town :)!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    33
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
86
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho USA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed in this accommodation for a five night period in January 2013, not the best time to be in this part of the world except one can expect to be one of the few tourists types wondering around. The Riad was clean and appeared to be well maintained and is in the center of the Madina...make sure you call ahead upon arrival so that Hassan can meet you where the taxi will drop you off and direct you...otherwise, I can almost guarantee you that you will get lost, even with a GPS locator. Better yet, have the Riad arrange transport for you from the rail station or the airport. This service even includes a luggage service where a man appears out of no where upon your arrival in the old city and takes your luggage in a hand cart directly to the Riad....don't forget to give him a bit of a tip to keep him happy. The confirmation email for this service from the Riad will recommend a recommended amount.

We recommend this friendly accommodation. Inquire about a meal prepared and served in the Riad...excellent food and a bargain.

Room Tip: Just ask Hassan, he will take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyIdahoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We are just back from 7 nights in Marrakech and highly recommend Riad Dar Othmane! Hassan was a perfect host and spoilt us for our wedding anniversary. He was very helpful and attentive and made us feel like part of the family, showing us the best way to get about the medina and to the square etc. You simply MUST try his Tagine, it is excellent! Breakfast is tasty and filling and the rooms are very clean and tidy. It is a beautiful Riad and is a quiet oasis amongst the busy Medina. We look forward to staying here again when we next go to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serialkillerjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed in this Riad for 5 nights and we could not have find anything like this!

Service provided by Hassan was excellent, breakfast was plentiful and really tasty, the room was very cosy and really clean!

At the beginning we thought it was quite far from the square but it allowed us to experience the real Medina and real locals' life away from tourists! And when we got used to the way it was just a 15min. walk full of wonders and real Marrakech culture.

I would advise you to accept the airport pick up service provided by Hassan, it is quite difficult to find the first time!

It was an incredible experience and I would encourage everyone to stay with Hassan!

(I'm writing this in behalf of my parents, translating it from their own opinions in Spanish. They wanted to write the comment but are not very good with technology)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaMMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DESIR7_11, Gérant at Riad Dar Othmane, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
hi there,Thank you so much for your sweet and kind words which were appreciated by all of us at riad nejma lounge.
We all look forward to your next visit..
Hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carugate, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Hassan is very nice and helpful. The place is small but still luxurious as a riad should be, price is incredibly low for the quality, welcome tea and breakfast are very good. Just consider that rooms are a bit narrow (but long) with no privacy as walls are subtle (but there are few rooms, so it's not a noisy hotel), anyway clean place, good furniture and decent bathrooms. Considering the price, it's the best you can have!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Everything was more than perfect during our stay in this wonderful riad. We had spacious, clean room, nicely decorated, very nice patio and interior. Plenty of hot water, excellent service and a great quiet place to relax in the busy medina. Hassan was extremely helpful to provide any information and treat we needed. He is always there to help and offer anything needed. Thank you so much for making our stay wonderful!

Location was difficult to find, google maps points to a different place (this was the correct one: 31.630976,-7.981172). There is even no sign on the door! So impossible to find by your own. Hassan gives good advice by email to find it, by looking for trolley men.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank io9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2013

A superb, tiny Riad 5 minutes walk from the main square. Still no street noise.
Hassan, the manager, gives you all the help you need, and lets you alone when you prefer that.

There are no signs for getting there, so my advice if you don't know Marrakech very well is to take the possibility to be caught at the airport by a taxi from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyvindso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#244 of 499 in Marrakech
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Mchicha
Riad Dar Mchicha
#266 of 1,148 in Marrakech
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad des Etoiles
Riad des Etoiles
#37 of 285 in Marrakech
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Amskal
Riad Amskal
#484 of 1,148 in Marrakech
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Nael
Riad Dar Nael
#647 of 1,148 in Marrakech
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Bibtia
Riad Bibtia
#444 of 1,148 in Marrakech
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Othmane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Othmane

Property: Riad Dar Othmane
Address: 198, Derb Essakaya - | Essibtiyine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Othmane 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Othmane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Othmane Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing