We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to go back anytime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mogador Express Gueliz
Ranked #399 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I have recently visited Marrakech and stayed at the Ryad Mogador Gueilz hotel. I think the hotel overall is brilliant given the amount you pay for the rooms. I stayed in room 2004 and I think it was the best room they had. It consisted of a bathtub and shower along with conventional toilet and sink in thr bathroom. The room had a king size bed with a tv, fridge, air con, safe, balcony facing directly at the pool and loads of space to put your clothes. The staff were friendly and very helpful, although as mentioned before by other reviewers that the receptioniat looked miserable. The food were the traditional moroccon food like couscous and rice. The breakfast was great as it consisted of a variety of items from tea to cereals. The swimming pool area was clean and ready to use at all times. There were sunbeds placed along side the pool with large umbrellas for shade (I would warm people to use appropriate sun cream because the weather is imense, it was 43/44 degrees everyday when I was there). I would also advice people to use the supermarket which is located just outside the hotel and is connected to the hotel building as bottled drinks and water is very cheap there (I bought a 500ml water from hotel reception and it was 20 dirhams, the same water bottle was 3 dirhams at the aupermarket + there are lots of other things you can buy there. Its exactly like a british supermarket with underground car park).

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhyancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

Have just had a girlie getaway to Marrakesh and stayed at this hotel. Like the last commenter we couldn't find any fault with it. It's exactly as it looks in the photos, (most hotels are not) the staff were friendly and very accomodating with our requests and needs. Nice clean rooms and well air conditioned for the night heat. It's a short taxi ride (always set the price before you get into the taxi) from Gueliz, which is the new town, it's great for all your modern shopping if you don't fancy the souks. We also spent the day at the Nikki Beach on the outskits or town, it's very pricey but if you don't mind that then you have to do it! I'd go back anytime and stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mooze810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Just spent a very enjoyable week here, and everything was to my complete satisfaction. Rooms kept spotlessly clean, hot water when I needed it, breakfast good (although I'm very easy to please here - some coffee and juice suffices usually, but there's a lot more on offer should you want), I was able to come and go as I pleased (sometimes not getting back until 3 or 4 in the morning), wifi in the lobby so i could check emails/the web when i wanted (couldn't from room, but nvm). Only downside was there was nothing good on TV in English (only 1 English channel from memory), but who goes on holiday to watch TV anyway?

Yes it's a bit far out, but easy to walk into centre of Gueliz from here, and lots to do there, plus only 30-40dh to the main square in a cab. The entrance staff loved me for wearing a Morocco shirt - they insisted on having pics taken with me! I felt like a star in demand lol. Like most people in the city who I got to know they referred to me as Meester Geoff, and I kind of liked that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShotsGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The hotel has a good service, friendly staff, and breakfast was Ok, but it stays too far from the centre of Marrakesh. And by too far I mean almost impossible to consider walking to the square Djemaa el Fna. The solution is buying the ticket of the city tour bus, because you can get in and out as you like and there is a stop not far from the hotel.
The rooms are clean and nice. The air conditioning was functioning but beds are too tough.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pauclaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The hotel room was clean although not well built - the window in my room was literally falling out and as it was windy the night I arrived, it was very noisy. The bed was so hard, it was like sleeping on the floor. I had to use the spare blankets and quilt under the sheet just to get to sleep. The management and desk staff were extremely miserable and rude - but the general staff and cleaners were polite. My friend came to meet me and I greeted him with a kiss, as is usual, the manager called him aside and told him not to touch me!!!! Like being at school. Breakfast very basic and not very exciting. Cheap - but you get what you pay for and there is far better hotels than this - avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leighmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This is a standard average business hotel.
Rooms are clean, comfortable and western-style, but there is nothing that made me feel the magic of Marrakech. Service was ok, but not perfect, i.e.: air conditioner wasn't working (hopefully, there was no need for it in October).
The location is really inconvenient, 45 minutes by foot from the Medina, nothing interesting in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polpi_viaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The staff were friendly and very helpful considering that we went during Ramadam and they have not had a great deal of sleep and food to eat for the pass fortnight , however this did make the service for dinner over an hour later than usual. ( Which we discovered on our second night ) there where no notice's in the hotel notifying you or this .
If you do go to this hotel we recommend that you buy your own drinks from the supermarket which is next door to the hotel as you will get drinks 3x less then if you purchase them in the hotel itself. you would have to sneak them into your room.as the hotel do have notices up requesting that you do not bring in food or drink from outside .
We went half board the food was not great but edible (not very good for a 4 star) and things seemed to be served again every night, there wasn't much change in the menu . Breakfast was very limited in what was available.
We were given a nice room over looking the pool which was lovely and very peaceful. The room was always very clean and tidy, but when you used the shower it would take ages for the water to be empty (sometimes as long as overnight), plus it could be flooded very quickly and easily. The beds were very hard and solid and was difficult to get comfort when sleeping.
The pool was very big and cool which is what you need when it is so hot.
at the poolside if you do want shade not all the umbrellas work and you would need to hunt around until you found one which would work.
From the hotel to the old town it is a 45mins walk (would not suggest it in the summer months as it does get very hot and tiring), do not pay a cab more than 20 dhs ( during the day, 30 dhs at night) as the cab men will try and rip you off.( one cab driver wanted 50dhs for the 10mins drive ). if you are planning to travel further out by train station, the is only a 5mins walk away. the old town is lovely and visiting the Souks for presents is a is an experience. make sure that you haggle for what you want as prices do start of very high and are expensive (if you get it for less than half to what it was originally that will be a bargain).

We not recommend that you stay in this hotel more than a week. Two- Three nights maximum is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chantye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Mogador Menzah Appart Hotel
Mogador Menzah Appart Hotel
#352 of 501 in Marrakech
459 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#217 of 501 in Marrakech
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#316 of 501 in Marrakech
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Relax Marrakech
Hotel Relax Marrakech
#305 of 501 in Marrakech
49 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#449 of 501 in Marrakech
1,092 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#428 of 501 in Marrakech
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogador Express Gueliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogador Express Gueliz

Address: Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Ryad Mogador Gueliz)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#211 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £28 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mogador Express Gueliz 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mogador Gueliz has an outdoor swimming pool and en-suite guestrooms with air-conditioning and satellite TV. It is located in central Marrakech, 1 kilometre from Marrakech Oncf train station. The hotel has 3 restaurants, which offer international and Moroccan cuisine as well as a selection of snacks and room service options. Free internet access is available in public areas. The Ryad Mogador Gueliz offers laundry and babysitting services. Car rental and free private parking are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mogador Express Gueliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Gueliz Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing