We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mogador Express Gueliz
Ranked #385 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Having arrived at this hotel on a coach tour and then read some of the reviews I was very concerned but it wasn't as bad as I had expected and much better than our experience in Casablanca! The reception was lovely and free wifi a bonus, the rooms were miles away but were clean and there was a fridge and a safe, though the safe had been locked shut and no-one came to sort it. Beds were as hard as stone. Bathroom was OK and we had a balcony overlooking the pool which was nice to relax on. Food was adequate with nice salads and in fact we decided it was better to give the hot stuff a miss and stick to the salads as they were tastier. Dessert not strong point but melon was nice. Point to note, no alcohol and limited choice of soft drinks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWMW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Mogador Express Gueliz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel was huge and sprawling. The room faced out onto the railway and main road which was teeming with traffic all the time. the room was not made up on the second day although they took our towels away but as we were only here two nights didnt complain just found a chambermaid to give us towels. It was too far to walk to the city centre. We would not return to this hotel. Wifi worked in the foyer. The restaurant manager was very pleasant, food acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing main road.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammisandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The rooms were clean and a reasonable size. Unfortunately we were on the side which overlooked a busy road and the railway station, so very noisy all night. The food was Moroccan and tasty with a reasonable choice from the buffet. The service is poor and staff surly. The location is poor if you feel like a walk but taxis into the main square are about €4-5. The exchange rate in the hotel was okay but there is a bank in the supermarket which is located underneath the hotel. If you are visiting Marrakech and like an alcoholic drink then I suggest you take it with you. Although the hotel says you can only consume it in the bedrooms, as long as you are discreet they turn a blind eye.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My stay at his hotel was adequate, was not overly impressed with it. The location was fine, not close to the old town, but close to the train and bus stations and the Gueliz area, which is the "ritzier" neighbourhood. It walked into the old town area which was fine, but I imagine in hot weather it would not be tolerable.

It was clean, the room was a good size and their was a satellite TV and fridge (not a mini bar). The pool area is pleasant and the restaurant (only the international buffet was open when I was there) has OK food, but not much variety, would definetly recommend eating elsewhere!

The room I stayed in was incredibly noicy. (3054) It was located next door to the cleaners station, or store room and I was disrupted at all hours by their walkie talkies and general chatter. The walls where also quite thin and I could clearly hear the room to the other side.

The staff were pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Avoid 3054 - right next to the maid's HQ, also the street side rooms would be noicy, the street...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyG_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I was slightly worried before arriving in these hotels, due to the critics I had found in TripAdvisor. So I would like to clarify some things in order to try to help other customers.

The most relevant question about this hotel and your possible experience in it is based on its location. This hotel is situated on the Hassan II Boulevard (take care as Google Maps places it on the Mohamed VI Boulevard, and it is not there; there is a mistake since there are three hotels from the same brand nearby; this hotel is situated where Google Maps places the Ryad Mogador Agdal, you will recognize it because this hotel has a U form with a pool in middle). This boulevard in in the new area of Marrakech (the area is called Gueliz) being the center of this area the railway and bus (Supratours) stations. Which means the hotel is very, very convenient if you are arriving/departing by bus/train. Or if you want to explore the new Marrakech (from the train station down boulevard Mohamed VI toward the Congress Palace). That is why on the web and other sites it says the hotel is 200-500 meters from the city center: from the center of Gueliz (the new neighborhood), not of (the old) Medina of Marrakech

If your idea is to explore the Jama Al Fna Square and surroundings, then this hotel is not really convenient; walking there will take you around 40 minutes to arrive to the Square. Of course, taxis are always available and should be relatively cheap (around 20-30 DHR).
On top, it is on the least developed part of the Boulevard Hassan II (the part of the avenue that connects the train station to the 16th November Place is much more lively), so getting by foot at night can be strange since roads in the area are not well paved and there are not too many street lights.

The hotel has a big supermarket just next door, although there is a letter sign at the entrance that forbids entering food or drinks from the exterior (I cannot understand the reason for this, since even the minibar in the room is empty).

Food in the hotel is lousy. I had dinner and breakfast and both were quite horrible, nothing really decent to mention. A lot of things, but none of them were decent quality. Even the staff were not really concerned about keeping the area tide and clean: as you arrive for breakfast most of the tables have been previouly used and do not get cleaned for a veeeeery long time. However, in the train station nearby (200 meters) there are a few coffee shops serving good expresso and a McDonalds, a Burger King and a couple more restaurants.

The room is pretty decent sized, good decoration, nice bathroom. Everything is in very good state, since I believe the hotel is just a couple of years old. I had a view on the pool, although at this time of the year it is too cold to use it. I can believe rooms heading towards the outside of the hotel can be very noisy, since the Hassan II Boulevard is quite a busy one.

The staff are not extremely polite, but they do they work fine. On my way out, I asked for a cab for the airport and at the reception they told me the approximate price (around 100 DHR), stopped a taxi for me and negotiated the price with the driver. Probably you would be able to get it cheaper on you own (it is just a 5 Km, 10 min ride), but having it all done for you makes things much easier. So not too much to complain on this side, although other travellers seem to have had really terrible experiences.

WiFi connection in the lobby is quite good. Altough other guests say they did not, I had a connection in my room also, slightly slower than the one in the lobby but decent enough.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank folomota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I've found out that the five stars represents the number of time you have to call the reception to get a bathtowel - and nothing happend - so I went down to the receptionist and finally got one, without getting an excuse og apology.

The hotel is situatede far from the city center. And you spend a lot of your time in a taxi or the shuttle bus.
You can find much better accomodations in a riad inside the Medina.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lionsanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I have recently visited Marrakech and stayed at the Ryad Mogador Gueilz hotel. I think the hotel overall is brilliant given the amount you pay for the rooms. I stayed in room 2004 and I think it was the best room they had. It consisted of a bathtub and shower along with conventional toilet and sink in thr bathroom. The room had a king size bed with a tv, fridge, air con, safe, balcony facing directly at the pool and loads of space to put your clothes. The staff were friendly and very helpful, although as mentioned before by other reviewers that the receptioniat looked miserable. The food were the traditional moroccon food like couscous and rice. The breakfast was great as it consisted of a variety of items from tea to cereals. The swimming pool area was clean and ready to use at all times. There were sunbeds placed along side the pool with large umbrellas for shade (I would warm people to use appropriate sun cream because the weather is imense, it was 43/44 degrees everyday when I was there). I would also advice people to use the supermarket which is located just outside the hotel and is connected to the hotel building as bottled drinks and water is very cheap there (I bought a 500ml water from hotel reception and it was 20 dirhams, the same water bottle was 3 dirhams at the aupermarket + there are lots of other things you can buy there. Its exactly like a british supermarket with underground car park).

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhyancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Mogador Menzah Appart Hotel
Mogador Menzah Appart Hotel
#370 of 501 in Marrakech
453 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#212 of 501 in Marrakech
647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#317 of 501 in Marrakech
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Relax Marrakech
Hotel Relax Marrakech
#298 of 501 in Marrakech
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#428 of 501 in Marrakech
105 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#444 of 501 in Marrakech
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogador Express Gueliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogador Express Gueliz

Address: Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Ryad Mogador Gueliz)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#209 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £27 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mogador Express Gueliz 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mogador Gueliz has an outdoor swimming pool and en-suite guestrooms with air-conditioning and satellite TV. It is located in central Marrakech, 1 kilometre from Marrakech Oncf train station. The hotel has 3 restaurants, which offer international and Moroccan cuisine as well as a selection of snacks and room service options. Free internet access is available in public areas. The Ryad Mogador Gueliz offers laundry and babysitting services. Car rental and free private parking are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mogador Express Gueliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Gueliz Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing