We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vegetarian food in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earth Cafe Marrakech

Earth Cafe Marrakech
Ranked #73 of 848 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Cuisines: Moroccan, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Vegetarian food in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I am so glad we found this cafe. Dont be put off by the bright orange interior, the food is simply amazing, and also healthy!
The lady who works here is such a great chef and is very talented. She made everything from scratch in a tiny little kitchen just near the seating area. Yes, its not traditional Moroccan food but if you are looking for something a little more light, but still filling and delicious, this is the place to go. (It's also a welcoming break from Tagines)

I wish I could have ate here more times.
Thanks for a great meal :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    323
    97
    63
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant with yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I went to Earth Cafe near the Jemaa El-Fna around 7:30pm. It was quiet, so I found myself a place to seat easily. There was another couple sitting on the first floor and after a bit another came down the stairs, so it was pretty quiet.
As long as you find the street that leads to the sub-street which the Earth Cafe is on, it is easy to find. There is a sign hanging above that points out the sub-street that the Earth Cafe is on (I entered from the Jemaa El-Fna). I was a little confused at first because the entrance is right by the kitchen. But head on in and find a place to sit. Within a few minutes I ordered from the small but tasty-looking menu. Not a whole lot of options on the menu. There are around 5 vegetarian and 5 vegan options, give or take. There are desserts and juices available too. The desserts were not classified as vegetarian or vegan though, so I don't know if they have vegan dessert options.
It was not long after I ordered that I received my food. I got the veggie burger, which ended up being 2 vegan rissoles on top of fry-like vegetables. It was tasty and flavorful, but I wish they hadn't used so much oil on the vegetables.
They speak english, which isn't a surprise in the Medina where it is common for the shop workers to speak 4-5 languages.
I was in a hurry, so if you are short on time it seems like a good place to eat. I think I was in and out in half an hour or less.

One thing I did notice that was strange was that they seemed to be selling genuine leather wallets there. I didn't ask the workers about it.I suppose it might bother some vegans/vegetarians.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SABinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Tasty food, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

If you want a change from tagines, this place isn't far from Jemaa El Fna. There's only 6 or 7 things on the menu and it's just a little room upstairs off the street, but it's well worth trying to find. Dont expect to be blown away by the interior but you'll walk away satisfied that you've sourced some of the tastiest veggie food on offer close to the main square. Defo one for any veggie visitors to Marrakech but im sure carnivors would be pleasently suprised by the food on offer, give the veggie burger a whirl, it's awesome!

Helpful?
Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Can't recommend highly enough! When people ask about the best meal I've ever had, I always mention Earth Café. Julien at Riad Khabia recommended this place to us in 2010 and even showed us how to get there. Fabulous recipes, healthy, and vegetarian. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iylana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“delightful vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Delightful vegetarian restaurant.
The food is amazing.
Definitely is the best vegetarian restaurant in Marrakech

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Earth Cafe Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Earth Cafe Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing