We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad, Great Location, Friendly Staff”
Review of Le Riad Chalymar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Riad Chalymar
Ranked #193 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2009

I have just returned from 4 nights at this wonderful Riad. It's less than a 5 minute walk to the hussle and bussle of the main square (ATM's, taxi's, market) however you'd never know it due to its tranquility. The rooms are of generous size and well appointed and Jean-Paul the owner, has taken great care to ensure all rooms are unique and extremely comfortable. The rooms don't have locks however given the location of the Riad and the set up it is virtually impossible for anyone to enter who is not a resident. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Jasmine room at £55 per night - it was worth every penny plus more. The room opened out into the courtyard and pool area which felt exclusive to us. The only negatives about the room is that because its on the ground floor it is quite dark during the day however given we are not the type to stay around in rooms during the day, this didn't bother us. Also, if other residents are inconsiderate this room can be noisy, at night. The roof toop terrace is an absolute suntrap and offers some spectacular views of the Atlas Mountains and I thoroughly recommend taking breakfast (which are awesome) up there. The staff will do absolutely anything to ensure your stay is a memorable, happy one. They are 100% genuine and do not angle for tips. Besides breakfast, we did not eat here at night (due to the proximity to the food stalls at the market) but saw food being prepared and it looked wonderful. Please don't let the lack of reviews on this site put you off staying here. It is an absolutely brilliant Riad, safe, friendly, relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2008

I found this Riad through I love Marrakech and on[-]. It has an official website but this is in French. While I found no reviews the webiste was good and it was the best Riad I found for my criteria and value for money ( I searched alot!) so I went "trip advisor" blind and it definately paid off!

The location was very central and only a few minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna Place. It is down a maze of alleys which are common place in the medina so dont be put off by this, or be shocked when you arrive. They really are easy to navigate and I cant say I felt unsafe at all. Plus it is worth it to be that little bit of out of the hustle and bustle as it can get pretty tiring.

The owner Jean-Paulwas very approachable and accomodating. he met us from the aiport and we booked an excursion through him into the high atlas - I would definately recommend this - it was beautiful. He arranged transport and accompanied us to make sure it all went smoothly - it was definately nice to have him take the responsibility away from us.

He moved to Morroco from France onlly a few months ago and has refurbished so everything is new and there is a boutique fele to the place. It is nicely decorated with some decorative pieces in each room. It was also very clean and staff cleaned it thoroughly on a daily basis - especailly communcal areas. The terrace is relaxing and it was nice to be able escpae the hustle and bustle and chill up there with a book or sunbathe.

Breakfast is freshly squeezed juice with a selection of teas or coffee, fresh bread, pastries and preserves which was nice and there was a basket of fresh fruit. We didnt eat there in the evenings but we saw others who did and they seemed to take much care and effort over preparing the evening meals and the setting and even put on entertainment (belly dancers etc!). The staff and Jean-paul were really accomadtion so I am sure they would meed any dietry needs.

There are a few things that I will mention that didn't bother us but may be really important to others - The rooms did not have individual locks. You could attach your own padlock to the door brakcet if you were really concerned but this would stop your room from getting cleaned daily and we really didnt feel it was needed. The staff were ther 24-7, they were really helpful and appeared to be very trustworthy. Jean-Paul looks after them well so there are benefits for them to look after his guests! The Riad courtyard layout would also make it difficult for other guests to enter your room without being noticed and others could not get into the Riad without a front door key so it felt pretty safe.

The open courtyard layout (and I think this will be common in most Riads) did seem to mean that some noise travels within riad and we could sometimes hear other guests who were dinning or in communal areas. That said however, staff did take control of one situation where some guests were being particularly loud during our stay.

The staff were friendly and helpful but I did find it a challenge of my french skills as most of them spoke only basic english. That said however, any travel within morocco will test your french as most people spoke only a little or no english!

I would definately recommend this Riad. He seems to have already generated a healthy lot of bookings so I dont imagine it will take too long for this place to get really busy.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank see_ski_eat_live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank K66S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeankra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ennerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Troad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank javier s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#296 of 501 in Marrakech
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#209 of 501 in Marrakech
222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#174 of 501 in Marrakech
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#90 of 501 in Marrakech
399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#47 of 501 in Marrakech
416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Fabiola
Riad Fabiola
#294 of 501 in Marrakech
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Riad Chalymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Chalymar

Address: Derb Sharij No19, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £35 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Riad Chalymar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Riad Chalymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Riad Chalymar Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing