We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent riad - highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Riad Chalymar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Riad Chalymar
Ranked #208 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Sheering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent riad - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at the Riad Chalymar for a long weekend and I couldn't fault the place. I'd definitely go back and recommend to any of my friends/family wishing to visit Marrakech. The location was great, 2 minutes walk to the nearest bar/restaurant and 10 minutes walk to the Jemaa el Fna square. Ideal location, and very peaceful within the riad despite being so close to the hustle and bustle of the centre. The riad is hidden away down some narrow streets but very easy to find. If you book for 3+ nights they offer free airport transfers.

The staff were amazingly helpful and always happy to help with any requests. Staff spoke both English and French. We arranged to have a meal cooked in the riad one night and it was really lovely, they cooked exactly what we requested (there's no menu as such - we opted for a vegetarian tagine) and it was really tasty. It's also possible to get alcohol in the riad (which is lovely when sitting on the terrace roof watching the sunset) - just ask for what you'd like and if they don't have they'll pop out to the supermarket to get it for you.

While we were there, we went on a tour organised by the riad to the mountains (and 7 waterfalls) and ended up with personal service - the riad owner took us there in his own air conditioned car, meaning the trip could be totally tailor made for us (we could stop wherever we wanted along the drive for photos, to pop in to shops etc). It cost slightly more than some tour operators in the town were offering the trip for but in my opinion the personal service (and not having to be on a big hot tour bus) were worth the extra.

The riad is very spacious. I believe it has only about 5 rooms, but plenty of communal areas. There's the roof terrace with about 6 sun loungers, a sofa and a couple of comfy chairs, and a double sun lounger. There's another area with sofas to seat about 12 people on the 2nd floor. And on the ground floor there's a small pool, a table for 2 (for breakfast etc), and a sofa lounge with TV and a larger dining table. Plenty of space for some privacy if you require.

It's a useful note that if all the double rooms are booked you can book one of the twin rooms and they will push the 2 beds together and provide the appropriate bedding (it also works out a bit cheaper!).

I can confirm that the hotel is also gay friendly.

I'd highly recommend this riad to any friends/family wishing to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    40
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
67
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

The Riad Chalymar is in a perfect location - just 5 mins to the main square. The riad is beautifully laid with a lovely plunge pool and brilliant terrace and lounge area. We stayed in the ground floor room which is smaller than the others, but we found it absolutely fine - especially with all of the other spaces within the riad. The service is fantastic Said and Yousef looked after us all of the time with endless mint tea and water and a lovely meal. It was a real oasis of calm in the midst of an exciting city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Gems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our three day stay in Marrakech was delightful thanks to the personalised service given to us by Jean Paul and his knowledgable staff. All their suggestions were spot on and they went out of their way to ensure that our stay at the Riad was flawless. The rooms were very clean and nicely yet simply decorated, mixing traditional Marrocan style with the modern. The rooftop seating area was perfect for sunbathing and watching the sunset, and the dipping pool on the ground floor was refreshing. The Riad is also centrally located in a safe area near to the souks and the old Jewish quarter, with plenty of great dining possibilities nearby. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank California_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Riad Chalymar is an oasis of calm in the centre of the medina. My partner, teenage son and I spent a wonderful four nights here. We shared a simple, clean and comfortable room with en-suite facilities and air com. great decor. Jean-Paul, Zakaria and his team could not have been more hospitable. We had read that no-one in the riad spoke English which would not have been a problem but Zakaria spoke excellent English.
Nothing was too much trouble, one night Zakaria cooked us a fabulous tagine which we ate on the roof terrace under the stars. A fabulous and delicious meal. On another memorable day, Jean-Paul drove us to the Ourika valley to the waterfalls - he was an entertaining and informative guide and we enjoyed our time with him.
The riad is in the centre of the medina only five minutes from the mayhem and excitement of Djemaa El Fna, the main square. I tried to return to the riad in March but they were fully booked. There are only about half a dozen rooms and it's fantastic value for money so it probably books up fast. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos/Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

I travelled here with a friend - 2 women travelling alone relying on French not spoken in 15 years.

Booked after reading reviews on here and was not disappointed.

Riad Chalymar is a fantastic little get away that delivers on all its promises.

While the rooms look a little smaller in reality than the pictures they are all wonderfully decorated and more than adequately sized. Chalymar has its rough edges, but the staff, the decor, the location and wonderful views make it a really comfortable, hospitable and enchanting place to stay.

Me and my friend found the staff to be a delight who were happy to help at any time of the day, providing endless cups of coffee, juice or mint tea on request. The breakfast was wonderful: taken on one of the terraces it makes it an even more special experience to start the day with.

The rooms may have no locks ( bolts inside and outside rooms instead) but it would be difficult for someone to actually steal anything as there is no way of entering the riad without a key , so no worries there. Unfortunately, we didn't have a chance to saviour the Riad food on this occasion, but it looked and smelled divine from what we saw! Our first walk to the Riad did seems rather labyrinthine, down narrow Medina streets, but the helpful little signs make it a doddle , so you will not get lost .

If you want to go out for the day and are not sure how to go about it - just ask! General advice about Marrakech, a lift or even a tour (for a small fee) are all on hand from Jean-Paul, Zach and the Chalymar 'family', who are all too happy to help . The staff also speak a range of Arabic, French, German, Spanish and English - all fluent! So there is a good chance there is someone there to help if you need it

The airport transfers made all the above even better. Only word of warning I have - there is no toilet door (curtain in our room instead) so to us Brits - make sure you are comfortable with who you are travelling with.

Jean-Paul has a wonderful place with fantastic staff who make the stay homely, comfortable and a brilliant experiance. Not perfect, but amazing becasue its not!

Shell and Tash

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

We booked this Riad online, the photos were stunning but we had no idea what to expect.

We were greeted at the airport by the lovely Alex who spoke no English. When we arrived at the Riad we were dropped at the side of the road and taken down a series of dark alleys until we reached the Riad. Which was a big culture shock. esp for 2 girls travelling alone.

Our room was beautiful. Breakfast was plentiful - but very carb-y so beware if you are weight watching!

The only problem was the language, no one at the Riad spoke English. Which I enjoyed and found quite funny. But when a hole appeared in our ceiling (there was a flood) it was difficult and frustrating - but only because of my pigeon French.

The sun terrace was hot and stunning.

The Riad is minutes from the market square and we just took the bull by the horns and emersed ourselves in the culture. Even at night we didn't feel scarred.

If you aren't too familiar with your travel partner - there are no bathroom doors!!

I would stay here again - but with a phrase book!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelley032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

I have just returned from 4 nights at this wonderful Riad. It's less than a 5 minute walk to the hussle and bussle of the main square (ATM's, taxi's, market) however you'd never know it due to its tranquility. The rooms are of generous size and well appointed and Jean-Paul the owner, has taken great care to ensure all rooms are unique and extremely comfortable. The rooms don't have locks however given the location of the Riad and the set up it is virtually impossible for anyone to enter who is not a resident. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Jasmine room at £55 per night - it was worth every penny plus more. The room opened out into the courtyard and pool area which felt exclusive to us. The only negatives about the room is that because its on the ground floor it is quite dark during the day however given we are not the type to stay around in rooms during the day, this didn't bother us. Also, if other residents are inconsiderate this room can be noisy, at night. The roof toop terrace is an absolute suntrap and offers some spectacular views of the Atlas Mountains and I thoroughly recommend taking breakfast (which are awesome) up there. The staff will do absolutely anything to ensure your stay is a memorable, happy one. They are 100% genuine and do not angle for tips. Besides breakfast, we did not eat here at night (due to the proximity to the food stalls at the market) but saw food being prepared and it looked wonderful. Please don't let the lack of reviews on this site put you off staying here. It is an absolutely brilliant Riad, safe, friendly, relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#84 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#188 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#172 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#126 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#240 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ralhaya
Riad Ralhaya
#204 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Riad Chalymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Chalymar

Property: Le Riad Chalymar
Address: Derb Sharij No19, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#137 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Riad Chalymar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Riad Chalymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Riad Chalymar Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing