We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a riad”
Review of Riad Aderbaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Aderbaz
Ranked #347 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
hoi an
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really a riad”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hafida was the perfect hostess and this was the perfect riad for 3 tired Aussies! With the pool in the courtyard, the rooftop lounge, washing machine and free sunshine for drying, we soon forgot how cold and wet we had been in Santiago. Hafida personally escorted us to a hamman after giving us tea and breakfast - nothing was too much trouble for her. She is currently going to night class to improve her English so that will soon be as good as her French and Arabic. This is a purpose built riad with the old building being gutted to provide all the mod cons inside a traditional house behind a huge door down a beautifully clean side street. The internet connection was the fastest and best since we left Aus - you go girl!

Room Tip: The top floor next to the washing machine might be noisy if you go in for afternoon naps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margueritespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    23
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
31
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We got a terrible small room. We just fit in the room, ourself and the babybunk for our baby. When we had the door open you could not get in the room. Close the door and then you have room to go te the bad room. We didn't got clean towels every day....dirty room but also a really dirty swimming pool. To dangerous to swim in, couldn't even see through the water. Coffee tasted like bleach. Only the bread was nice and fresh. Staff not motivated. The bed had a plastic underlayer. It was sweaty and it cracked...like everyone who stayed there pies in there bed.

This was our 6th riad in a row, but it was the worst we ever see in our live.

Room Tip: Don't take the room at te ground floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancadeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuances, Responsable relations clients at Riad Aderbaz, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Google Translation
Nous avons bien lu votre commentaire et très sincèrement nous en sommes désolés....Être désolés ne suffit et nous devons en tenir compte.....La chambre N°1 en rez de chaussée est celle en prix d'appel.....ceci n'excuse pas celà...... A partir de maintenant nous ne prendrons plus de couple avec un lit bébé.....Vous avez raison cette chambre est vraiment trop petite..IL est préférable de prendre une chambre au 1er étage pour 8/10€ de plus...Concernant vos autres réclamations; propreté de la chambre, de la piscine, café au gout de javel et manque de motivation du personnel (qui sont les propriétaires du Riad) nous ne pouvons que de nouveau vous présenter toutes excuses et veiller à ce que cela ne se reproduise plus.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirleft, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed here for one night on a trip from Tiznit to Fez and arrived early evening pretty exhausted already in the then 35C of Marrakesh:

good:
* awesome big room, efficient air condition
* extremely friendly and attentive staff
* good breakfast
* good location but very quiet street

not so goods:
* pool: they have one, but very small and without lounge-area around it - forget it: shower and then to the rooftop is a better alternative
* as others have noted: you don't get much privacy in the communal areas - albeit nice, they are small
* the place was hard to find (but aren't gems always?) - seriously: if you don't speak/read Arabic, just keep asking everybody "Riad Aderbaz" until somebody shows you the way... the map on their site is not very helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trypppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Our staying was nice and we appreciated many different things. Firstly, we did the check in at about 11 pm and when we arrived the owner assisted us to find the riad. The hotel is nearby the royal palace and the gendarmerie is very close, either. The area is very tranquil. The hotel is nice and simple. The room was good and comfortable. We had the air-conditioning which kept the room warm and we had heavy coverts the bed. I must complain a bit about the bathroom, instead. In fact, although the shower was very warm, there was not soap and we had to ask for it. Afterwards, they only offered 2 thin soaps for the whole permanence, 3 nights.The bathroom was smelling very bad, i suppose it was the sewer. They left our window open in the toilet but the smell was quite strong and we had to close the door any time. Also, there were little fly. The breakfast in the morning was in a nice area, very comfortable and we appreciated the owners getting up very early, preparing delicious food for the guests.there was cherry and fig jam, hot milk and coffee, mint tea and a glass of fresh orange juice. there was also some baguette. We did not like the arrangement of the breakfast tables. We had to sit and talk with other guests of the riad while doing our breakfast very early in the morning and this was uncomfortable. In fact, it was impossible to sit on your own, you must sit all together and if you do not talk it sounds a bit embarassing and rude. However, the hotel can book excursions and this is very good, and also they accept euros. They also changed the euros in dh when we need. The owners are very kind and helpful. Unfortunately the man does not speak english but just french, while his wife does.she is also very nice and she offered us some mint tea as a special treat. Neverhless, we were a bit disappointed when we left the hotel the last night because nobody was awake in the morning saying hello and we had nor a coffee nor our breakfast even tough we paid for it. It was the first of January, maybe the owners went to bed very late but we tought that if with guests you should be awake when they go and 7 am was not that early!

You must book your dinner the day before otherwise you cannot eat in the hotel. So, please, remember of doing that if you want to relax and have dinner inside the riad. This would be better and recommended because in marrakech there are not many restaurants for tourists. Alternatively, you can eat in the main square for a few money.

The hotel is also very close to the main square, a fair walking distance and very close to the bus station and the bus for the airport is number 19. they run since 6.15 am and every 30 minutes. It was very easy to get the bus in the early morning on the first of january. the roads were not busy and not dangerous at all. The services were still working. The bus station is in front of djemaa el-fna. If you prefer a taxi, the hotel can reserve one any time.

I would recommend the riad to every one who wants to come and relax in marrakech for a long journey.

Room Tip: Do not take the ground floor room: this was our room and although it was clean, still smell very bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossella91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

If you visit Marrakech you need airconditioning. Make that a must-have on your riad criteria list. Although Riad Aderbaz is small, it has airconditioning, well appointed rooms and a quaint dining room where we were served breakfasts of fresh bread, jams, and tea. The "pool" in the entry serves more to moderate the daytime heat than for swimming but also adds to the ambiance. Hafida and Said could not have been more affable. Hafida walked us to a local restaurant that was questionable on the outside but as most places in Morocco, stunning on the inside. The food was delicious and of course they had belly dancers to entertain their guests. Said drove his motorcycle to the nearest taxi port and had the driver come pick us up rather than walk the four blocks, which having done so we would have missed our train. Lastly, the cost is so affordable maybe because it is not in the center of the Medina, which I learned to appreciate - there was too much commotion for me and it is too easy to get trapped in the medina. It is located next to the Petit Palace where the king stays when he is in Marrakech and only a few blocks from the Place Djemaa el Fna. We took a bus from the airport, which worked well but make sure you have a map to get to Riad Aderbaz.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NextPlanetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Tucked away from the dusty hot Marrakech streets sits this heavenly oasis. The owner Hafida, and all her staff, are most welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and cool, with a very cool plunge pool, which is welcoming in the Moroccan heat. They organised a car from the airport which was lucky because we would have had a lot of trouble finding it. Having said that the location is superb, being very close to Jemaa El Fina. The staff also cooked a great dinner for us one evening. I would highly recommend this Riad. Another traveller who was staying here at the same time said he'd been to three other Riads but this one was in a class of it's own.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarren5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Porto, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

After getting married in early October, we decided to spend our honeymoon in Marrakesh, and we loved it. The hotel was located in a place that at first seems strange, but everything was ok, the people, the place... We enjoyed the staff, the design of the hotel, the breakfast! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franciscocheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#107 of 499 in Marrakech
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#252 of 499 in Marrakech
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#273 of 499 in Marrakech
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#131 of 499 in Marrakech
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 499 in Marrakech
935 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Mimoune
Riad Sidi Mimoune
#275 of 1,146 in Marrakech
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aderbaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aderbaz

Property: Riad Aderbaz
Address: 40 Derb Al Foundouk | Qt Sidi Mimoune-Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Aderbaz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situe a l'entree du quartier de Sidi Mimoun, mitoyen du nouveau palais royal, le Riad est a 08 minutes a pied de la celebre place Djemaa El Fna. Hafida et Said Aderbaz, frere et soeur, gerent avec beaucoup de serieux et de gentillesse le bien familial. Le Riad peut accueillir 12 personnes. Une petite chambre en rez de chaussee, trois en etage et la derniere sur la terrasse composent l'hebergement. Une petite piscine entouree de balustrades, ideale pour la securite des enfants. Un salon avec cheminee accueille les hotes pour les petits dejeuners. Une terrasse avec bains de soleil complete l'ensemble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Aderbaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aderbaz Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing