We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea of tranquility in a medina of madness”
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
Ranked #73 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Our taxi collected us from the airport and took us to the medina.. with a short walk to the Riad. I was pretty stunned by the Medina and wondered what on earth we had done. The minute the door to the Riad opened we breathed a sigh of relief!

The Riad itself is very well laid out and appointed. We were fortunate in being the only guests so we had the riad to ourselves. We were looked after BRILLIANTLY by a team of Faysal and Fatima. We enjoyed one of Fatima's hoem cooked meals the first night and, whilst expnsive, it was also one of the best we had in Morocco. Faysal was a generous host with his time and hospitality. He got us hooked on Morocan tea and gave us an excellent understanding of Moroccan/Islamin culture and life.

The beds were huge and the dipping pool was a nice relief when we had walked back from the Medina in 45degree heat.

The Medina itself is a crazy place and I can only compare it with my understanding of medieval Britain combined with waves of moped driven by everyone from 7 to 70 years old. I wouldnt wished to have spent any longer in the Medina than we did (3 days) but the opening of the door to the Riad always brought the most welcome relife and relaxation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at riad Zamzam for what we hoped would be a romantic anniversary getaway and we were not disappointed. What a great place!

We stayed in the Harem suite and it was just perfect. The riad seems to run on the idea that providing guests with luxury doesn't have to mean sterile, generic, big box type accommodation. It felt very luxurious, very comfortable, but also in harmony with the rest of Marrakesh.

If you go, be sure to take advantage of the spa facilities. A private hamman is a pretty rare thing in Morocco - it was WONDERFUL. They also offer dinner and lunch - we ate on the rooftop terrace one night and wished we had done it every night. The breakfast is pretty hearty too - not one of these roll and a yogurt type deals. Delicious food and the perfect atmosphere.

Lastly, we loved the accommodations and the spa and the food, but the service really put them over the top for us. We were assisted with everything we needed from itinerary planning to a ride across town where our car was parked. (There are much closer lots - don't worry) The day we met Faisal, the assistant manager, he waited with us FOREVER to get an unrelated matter figured out at the local police station. I couldn't believe the service - without any expectation of a tip or anything.

I would whole heartedly recommend staying here.

ps - there is a plunge pool in the courtyard that is icy cold and PERFECT after a hot day in Marrakesh. At first I thought it was dirty, but that's just the finish on the walls and floors. It was clean and cold and in a very beautiful setting. Stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Bookbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We had such a great weekend stay at the Riad Zamzam! The staff was very helpful and friendly, even helping us find a great parking spot! The room was the Harem Suite and it was cozy and clean, comfy bed, plenty of hot water and a great A/C unit. The Riad itself is a gorgeous renovation with a magnificent date tree springing up out of the center. Meals taken in the courtyard or on the roof were simply wonderful. After a hot day in the souks and medina, the plunge pool was a cool, refreshing treat. We had the Riad staff prepare a meal for us and it was divine! We took advantage of the on-site hammam and massage services and I cannot recommend them enough. Simply put: the Riad was the ultimate relaxing refuge after hot days out and about in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mixandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Aldo our treap was not going as we tought, as soon as we crossed the door of the riad, we felt confortable, and the attention we received from the administration was just excelent, they help us to contact a tourist guide, who by the way you should ask for, and just showed us how to move around in morocco.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yekagdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

My husband and I and our 2 and a half year old decided to travel to Marrakech with another couple and decided to look for a riad in the medina. Based on reviews, we booked 2 rooms at this boutique riad for 3 nights, and we were not disappointed. All of the good bits that you read in the reviews are exactly right. The folks that run this riad are welcoming, warm and sincerely want you to enjoy your stay in Marrakech. The riad arranged for airport pickup, which I think is a must! You can't drive right up to the front door to this place, so you in fact get dropped off a good ways away, meet one of the staff from the riad and walk the rest of the way through tiny streets. It was late when we arrived, the way was not well lit, and we were overall a bit overwhelmed as we made our way (as mentioned by the previous review), but once we entered the riad all doubts were set aside and we went on to have an amazing stay. Breakfast was absolutely fabulous on the rooftop, we ate wonderfully, the coffee was delicious. My daughter was treated like royalty! They offered to make her scrambled eggs for breakfast, which she loved, and which was above and beyond the call of duty, when they had already laid out a breakfast feast. This is a culture that really loves children, and she adored the attention she got from everyone! We were given wonderful advice on where to go, what to see, and where to eat. The rooms were just beautiful. We had brought a playpen for our daughter, but the staff had one already set up in the room, and there was still so much room to spare. Our bathroom was incredible, all marble, giant stepped tub, scented oils and soaps for use, bathrobes, and diffuse, warm lighting. The rooms are quite dark, but that is part of the charm, as each room has windows opening into the courtyard.
I can't say enough nice things about this place and the folks that run it and work there. They were such nice people, and it felt like we were staying in a beautiful home as opposed to a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cody-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

After an exhausting search for a riad in the medina, we finally settled on Zamzam-I am so glad we did!
We arrived late and were met by the taxi arranged by the riad-driving is eclectic in Marrakech-to say the least. What we hadn't realised was that you cannot drive into most parts of the medina and so we were met by Aziz from the riad, at the end of the drivable bit. he then took our bags and led us down some tiny alleys. It was dark, there were lost of people around, strange smells and sights-thwe further we went, the more my heart sank.
Around a final turn and down a tiny ally, we arrived. the door was opened and we entered. The most amazing smell of roses and amber came over us (this was a constant in the riad) and we entered to a beautiful courtyard with a little pool in the corner, scattered with rose petals and candles-it was amazing and such a shock.
We had the Berber Suite-which was really beautiful, but we were lucky enough to be there when the riad was quiet. Marcus, one of the owners, was kind enough to show us around every room. You would not be dissapointed wherever you stayed here. the Palm suite has a tv (the only one), but the Harem suite is very seductive, with the bathroom open in the corner of the room.

We found the rooms a little stuffy, as the windows open onto a courtyard which is a little airless-however, the air con is great and very quiet.

The overall impression is of a of a riad which every single detail has been so carefully considered-from the amazing lights everywhere, to the handmade soap, to the shape of the marble baths-nothing has been overlooked. Marcus and Emma have cleared worked very hard to achieve this look.

The service is what is so good about this place-nothing is too much trouble. When we got taxis to various restaurants, Aziz would take us to the taxi and meet us afterwards to ensure we got there. He would also walk with you to reaturants and bars and come and collect you when you wnated-really superb!
Faisal and Iman are both incredible-anything you want, at whatever time and it is done-no hassle, no fuss! The service is some of the best I have come accross.

Food-we ate a ligt dinner the night we arrived and the tagine was fantastic. Lunch is varied and very good-the kefta sandwiches were a big hit! Breakfast is lovely-yoghurt, honey, fresh fruit, Moroccan pancakes, omelettes, bread and home-made jams. The only quibble I have was that the tea is Lipton Yellow Label-not the worst, but not the best either. The coffee was wonderful.

I had a wonderful massage-the little hammam on the roof is beautifully done and very relaxing.
The roof is a great place-quiet and gets the sun all day, although there is a nice shaded area and umbrellas for those who want to avoid it! It's a shame that you cannot build pools on the roof anymore, but the cool courtyard pool was very welcome for hot feet after a days exploring.

The location is a little way out-about 20-25 minutes walk from the main square, but once you get your barings, this is fine. You should be prepared to be hassled-that is just the way it is here-especially as you will get lost many, many times. You may have a map, but there are no street signs and so it is next to useless!

Overall-this riad is wonderful-quiet, spotless, luxurious, utterly relaxing and a total treat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monster_munch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Wonderful authentic riad in a great location in the old part of the medina. Superb customer service, nothing too much trouble and wonderful value for money!! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliadurrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#70 of 499 in Marrakech
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#38 of 499 in Marrakech
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Emberiza Sahari
Riad Emberiza Sahari
#14 of 499 in Marrakech
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#69 of 499 in Marrakech
259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
588 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#36 of 499 in Marrakech
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#53 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £84 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing