We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing riad out of the way of busy Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
Ranked #61 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great relaxing riad out of the way of busy Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Superb rooms in a very tranquil riad in the north of the medina. Staff very friendly and helpful, great roof terrace and the best food we've had in Marrakech - its worth staying in to sample their superb cuisine rather than trekking busy Marrakech. Would highly recommend this riad to others.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonitodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
93
214
37
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have just spent 3 nights at Zamzam. We couldnt fault anything. We have never been to Marrakesh before and we are really pleased we stayed in the old city instead of the new part. The staff were kind and helpful. The taxi could not get to the door but we were always met by one of the staff to make sure we got to the riad safely. Its easy to get lost in the back streets. The rooms were stunning and Marcus and Emma have thought of everything to make your stay a holiday to remember. We will defintely return and have already told our friends that must visit and stay at Zamzam. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I sent 3 days/nights in this Riad. Absolutely terrific accomodation, exquisite food and delightful hosts Marcus and Emma. Ideally sited in the Medina and easy access at night. The atmosphere is wonderful and I'd highly recommend this Riad over 5 star generic hotels. Quite a unique experience.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Palm suite. Al the suites are good, but loved this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephend355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Zamzam transport picked us up at the airport. Arriving at the Riad, a Maroccan dinner was awaiting us, and after that 4 days of spicy adventure. The Riad is placed in a quite area of the Medina.
The interiur is a stunning contempory Maroccan design, hand picked by the two english owners Marcus and Emma. The rooms are cool, and private, the tranquil roof garden spa is a heavenly place to spend a few hours reading and relaxing in the sun, you feel there is a lot of heart put into the place. The staff af zamzam is like a small family, extremly helpfull, they opend the kitchen and cooked a meal, a late evening, because a couple had a bad restaurent experience, and came back hungry, we enden up dining at the riad almost every night. When ever you enter the riad, you are personally greated, with mint tea, or what ever you need. Our teenager son, made friends the the staff, who gave him free coke, when he took a swim in the cold pool.
Marcus and Emmas understanding for what we wanted to see, helped us get the most out of our short stay.
We will return, and spend time with our new friends at Riad Zamzam, and can warmly advice others to pick this Riad.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mette_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Met by the Riad's manager once our taxi dropped us off, this was a taste of things to come... one to one service and attention from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. We travelled to Marrakech for a friends wedding and Riad Zamzam had already been recommended to us, we understand why. They couldn't do enough for us and were happy to arrange everything we needed for our trip in a relaxed and friendly manner.
In terms of food, the standard was very high for both breakfast and lunch. All food was freshly prepared on site and definitely made with love and care. On our first day we were lucky enough to have lunch on the roof terrace whilst soaking up the sunshine on the Riad's sun loungers. Having arrived from grey London, this was bliss. One word of advice though, things do run on Moroccan time but once you get your head around this, you can really relax and enjoy the experience.
The Riad's accommodation is really striking. Like a true oasis in the desert, you enter through a doorway off a small alleyway. Once inside you walk into a beautiful courtyard and reception room where hot, sweet mint tea is served on arrival. We had the Palm Suite which is the largest and most striking room in the Riad. Beautifully and sympathetically decorated, it was also very clean. The best part of the room though was the walk in shower.
Getting around the Medina in Marrakech is a bit of a nightmare in terms of navigation. The hotel have two regular guides and staff on hand to help you get around and not get lost. If you intend to explore the Souks, take our advice and the Riad's and take the guide. 300 MADs for around 3-4 hours it is so worth it and they'll give you the history and help you get best prices. They'll also get you home in the maze that is the Medina so priceless really.
All in all we loved our trip to Marrakech and Riad ZamZam. If you want to be closer to the Souks and main square then there are other places you can stay but if you want to experience real Marrakech, be well looked after and made to feel at home then you should consider ZamZam.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

If you want a typical holiday experience where the accommodation is easy to find, the location is predictably touristy and you have very little contact with the real people and place you're staying then give Zam Zam a miss. However, if you want a unique and authentic immersion in Morrocan culture and life- along with five star accommodation and extremely friendly and professional staff- then Zam Zam should be top of your list for a visit to Marrakech.
We spent four nights at Zam Zam for our honeymoon and despite being disorientated by the intensity of the medina (on our last day some guy had built a shop/tent in the middle of the road making it impossible for traffic to pass!), hassled by the occasional hustler offering to show us the way and frequently having to dodge mopeds, bikes and donkeys we can honestly say we've never been anywhere like it. The medina was total sensory overload; the Riad total serenity. The contrast between the utter life affirming chaos of the nearby street and the complete stillness when you enter Zam Zam is magically weird. You literally hear nothing- incredible!
And the Riad itself is clearly a labour of love for owners Marcus and Emma- it wouldn't be overdoing it to say the interior design is work of art. We could have spent hours just looking at the filigree light shades. The beds were obscenely comfortable, the shower like something out of The Arabian nights and the public spaces (balcony, lounge, plunge pool and terrace) delightful.
Overall, this was a holiday we'll never forget (which is just as well as it was our honeymoon!), not only for the vibrantly crazy location but for the genuine warmth and hospitality of everyone who worked at the Riad. Faysal, Imane, Fatima and Aziz were totally professional and utterly charming. The dictionary definition of service.
Make sure you have the hamman and massage as it's amazing. Plus the cookery lesson is tops.
Once again- thank you for a heavenly honeymoon, and if we visit Marrakech again we'll definitely be back. Love Mike and Paula x.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micknello68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Mike and Paula, WOW what a wonderful review I am so please that you had such a great time with us at Zamzam for your honeymoon. It was a joy doing the cooking class with you and meeting you both, its such a passion of mine it's so great to be able to share it. I will pass on your comments to our hard working team, it really makes all their efforts so worth while to have guests have such a great time. After all it's why we opened Zamzam.

Thank you too to all of our wonderful guests who have left reviews. I hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at beautiful Riad Zamzam. Absolutely fantastic service, delicious meals (and really good value compared with other restaurants in Marrakech), peaceful and clean. Also, Marcus and Emma's excellent local knowledge and suggestions really helped us get the most out of our stay. My favourite moments were the Moroccan tea reception on arrival (just what was needed after an Easyjet flight) and our first Moroccan evening meal on the roof terrace. Bliss!

Room Tip: We had the Rose room which was a beautiful big room opening out onto the patio on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#34 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#74 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#21 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#31 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#81 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#22 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Property: Zamzam Riad
Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing