We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Week in Love with Morocco...Zam Zam style.”
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
Ranked #60 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A Week in Love with Morocco...Zam Zam style.”
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Close the heavy metal door to the bustling Medina and be wrapped in age old opulence. The serene pool, strewn with colorful flowers, welcomes you to the riad's serene mood. Sit and sip mint tea while you watch the top of the palm tree, located in the center of the coutyard's garden, gently sway back and forth and hear the Call to Prayer call to the faithful from the local mosque.
Our suite was plush, comfortable and cool- we wanted for nothing. The thoughtful staff made fresh fruit and water available everyday for us thirsty tourists. Emma, Marcus and Mohammed organized our daytrip to La Pause in the mountains, our guide into the Souks and our unbelievable day spa experience right there at the Riad. If you do nothing else, please take advantage of the Hammam, the Tourkish Bath that is commonplace among Morrocans. For Americans, it can be alittle disconcerting to be bathed by another person. But, I beg you, shed your insecurities and inhibitions for just one moment and give yourself over to a truly relaxing experience. The staff was caring, kind and a wealth of knowledge. The food prepared for us was spectacular. If you want to immerse yourself in the real Morocco, you can choose no better place than the Riad Zam Zam to direct your journey.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivepearlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
94
214
37
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Even before we left England Emma and Marcus helped plan our itinerary recommending restaurants, organising a trip to the Atlas Mountains and arranging all the transport. The new, spacious airport makes arriving in Marrakech a real pleasure and finding the Riad could not have been easier as Emma and Marcus had arranged transport from the airport and, on arrival in the Medina, we were met and guided through the maze of streets to the Riad.

The Riad is luxurious. Recently renovated and furnished to the highest of standards it’s hard to imagine a better place to spend a holiday. With well appointed bedrooms and plenty of open, public spaces the Riad is more than a home from home. Service was excellent with Emma, Marcus and their staff making certain that all the guests were well looked after. Their local knowledge means that Emma and Marcus can advise on the best restaurants to visit, organise trips, recommend things to do, and advise on places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble. For a first time visitor Marrakech can be a daunting place but Emma and Marcus make it easy to explore this fascinating and interesting place.

Riad Zamzam is located in the quieter Northern area of the Medina, far enough away from the hassle of the main tourist attractions for some peace and quiet but nevertheless it is only a short walk (15 to 20 minutes) to the Souks and main attractions of Marrakech. True, it takes a little time to learn the route through the maze of narrow streets and alleyways but once mastered exploring Marrakech on foot is an experience never to be forgotten. If desired, Emma and Marcus will organise a guide to help you find your way around the Medina and ensure that you see all the sites. Of an evening the staff are only too happy to organise transport to the local restaurants and night spots.

With a roof terrace and courtyard in which to relax, take breakfast, have a drink, take a snack or have lunch visitors can enjoy peace and quiet in the Riad away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. There are so many excellent restaurants in Marrakech offering just about every style of food imaginable that the visitor is spoilt for choice. Despite the choice of restaurants dinning in the Riad is strongly recommended. The standard of food was excellent with high quality local Moroccan dishes on offer during our stay.

For a short break or a longer holiday Marrakech offers an insight into a different way of life with so much to do and see that the visitor is spoilt for choice. Riad Zamzam offers a luxurious location from which to enjoy the pleasures of Marrakech. If you fancy a holiday with a difference and an unrivalled level of service then the Raid Zamzam is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridgebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cognac, France
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We were struck by the friendly welcome to luxurious Riad ZamZam. Emma and Marcus helped plan our holiday visits and trips, and with their dedicated taxi service everything went smoothly. The food, planned by Emma was just right, a blend of Morrocan and european. Without their help and advice we couldnt have enjoyed our trip so much. I can certainly recommend ZamZam to anybody wanting to explore Marrakech and the Atlas Moungtains. Maurice Auboin Cognac France.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauriceauboin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-s-Mare
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2009

From the moment we arrived at the airport we knew our stay at Zamzam was going to be different. Emma and Marcus had arranged for a taxi to collect us, having even told us the driver's name before we left the UK. This kind of attention to detail and meticulous service from Marcus, Emma, Mo and all the staff was to be a hallmark of our visit. Nothing was too much trouble, and they were always able to recommend places to visit and places to eat (and always very interested in our feedback afterwards). Mo is a born organiser and kept ahead of our plans no matter how many times we changed them!

The riad itself is just magical. You enter from a labyrinth of chaotic Medina streets into an oasis of calm and refinement. The rooms all have their own character, and are brilliantly thought out and beautifully finished. The bathrooms in particular are stunning, and backed up with enough plumbing technology to put most hotels to shame - It's my experience that this can be the achilles heel even of much more expensive establishments.

The roof terrace and the courtyard are great places, whether to read a book in the sun, chat with other guests or pick Emma's brains about the local attractions and culture. Breakfast on the terrace is a great start to the day. We stayed at Zamzam for a full week, and ate there in the evening a few times. The food was always excellent.

The location has been extensively discussed in reviews here, and for us was just fine. Zamzam is far enough away from the Jemaa for some peace (you'll understand if you have visited the square!) and just a few minutes walk to either the Medina wall or the souks. We walked in and out of the square a number of times, and you soon get to learn the route. The staff are happy to help out, and will walk you to and from nearby taxi stops as required.

Overall, Zamzam is very highly recommended and I'm looking forward to my next visit...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We went to Morocco to relax, try a few interesting restaurants, do a little sightseeing and to take in some sun. Well, we didn't have much luck with the sun; we had uncharacteristically bad weather for most of our stay. Luckily we were staying at an amazing riad which made the rainstorms bearable! Even though it wasn't really what I had in mind when we left London for Africa...sitting in front of a fireplace, reading a book and zipping a glass of nice Moroccan wine isn’t a bad way to spend a holiday when the rain is poring down outside.

Zam Zam is a fairly new riad that's immaculately decorated, they have a great wine selection and the staff is help full and friendly J If you’re going to Marrakech this is definitely the place to stay.

Anna

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaukswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate twenty years of marriage and Zam Zam was our pefect introduction to Marrakech.
Not only a warm and personal welcome but a lovingly restored environment full of character and beautiful objects. It is certainly tucked away in the north of the Medina but reflects perfectly the labrynthine nature of the Medina and has the advantage of being a peaceful retreat from which to explore the bewildering and exciting souks, tanneries and cultural attractions of Marrakech. We were given every attention by Marcus, Emma, Mo and the rest of the staff who were even willing to come and meet us if needed. Thankyou!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LudwigLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We had the most fantastic time when we stayed at the Riad Zam Zam earlier this month, a visit to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. Whilst deep in the heart of heart of the medina it was an oasis of calm and serenity as soon as we walked in the door and I, unlike one of the previous posts ,would not have changed the Riad's location for anything ! It is almost medieval in it's ambience, hustle, and vibrancy, almost other wordly and yes, very different from ours but all the more exciting for that.
Emma, Marcus and Mohammed looked after us brilliantly and went to a great deal of trouble to ensure our stay was all that it could be. Our room was beautiful, the court yard cool and the roof terrace very chic !

We will be reccomending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarunitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#52 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#73 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#20 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#30 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#84 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Property: Zamzam Riad
Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing