We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
Ranked #62 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
1 review
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Lovely Riad with great "1000 and 1 night" atmosphere and nice breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
92
214
37
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

Zamzan Riad was our home away from home in Marrakech. A peaceful escape from the hectic and intriguing streets of the souks. An easy walk to the Gardens Majorelle. Refreshing pool and beautiful terrace. Delicious food and charming owner....she could not have been more accommodating and welcoming!!
Truly the perfect stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Within the hustle and bustle of the Marrakesh Medina you will step inside the luxurious sanctuary that is the Zamzam Riad.
This quiet and spacious refuge has been beautifully styled, clearly using highly skilled artisans, classic French furniture, bespoke Morrocan lighting and finishing touches that you might not find anywhere else in Marrakech. The bed and bedding in our room was so comfortable I slept until 9.00 every morning. The Hammam and massage on the roof top terrace followed by sundowners accompanied by the call to prayer is a must.
The owners Marcus and Emma gave us a local's guide to Marrakesh and the inside track on what to do and where to go. The staff are so welcoming and can't do enough for you with a special mention to Aziz, a reassuring chaperone who will meet and walk you home through the Medina labyrinth after a night out. Zamzam's network of wonderful drivers and delightful local guide Ibrahim (he's a wizard you know) will make your stay an experience you will want to repeat again and again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackofMichaelshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Riad Zamzam which was recommended by a friend. We took one look at the reviews on trip advisor and Zamzam's own website and were totally captivated. We were not disappointed.
From the moment we arrived at Zamzam's huge front door we were under its spell. The building has been beautifully restored by Marcus with every luxury one could imagine and exquisitely furnished and dressed by Emma. Every detail of its interior has been carefully researched with no expense spared and the result is just beautiful. We were greeted by Imame, the manager, who spoke perfect English. Over cups of delicious mint tea Imame gave us a most thorough induction to familiarise us with the Medina by marking a map highlighting the surrounding area. She also advised us of services available in the Riad, places to eat and various excursions including a drive into the Atlas mountains. We were then shown around the Riad, including the rooftop terrace with its elegant sun beds and straw hats, the luxurious lounging area complete with cushions and sparkling wedding blankets, the hammam (a must have) and beauty room and the plunge pool.
We had booked the Berber Suite which is an extremely elegant twin bedded room with windows overlooking the courtyard. On the table there was a bowl of fresh fruit, along with pastries, fresh rose and bottled water. The beds were most comfortable with Egyptian cotton bed linen and light duvets and top quilts. On cool evenings, much to our surprise, we found hot water bottles in our beds. In the elegant bathroom with its round bath there were robes, plenty of fluffy Egyptian towels and delicious toiletries in silver containers. There was also an iPod docking station and Wi-fi in the room.
The food really was the best we had in Marrakech, Amina is a fabulous cook. We ate there every evening except one when we went to the famous restaurant called Tobsil (overrated in my opinion).Try Amina’s Lemon Chicken with almonds – it is amazing. I’ve tried to cook it since arriving home and failed dismally.
We tried the Hammam and massage in the Riad, which my husband enjoyed having hated it in the Caribbean. It is very relaxing and the massage is exceptionally good.
The Zamzam staff are all very good at their jobs and always greeted us with a cheery hello every day; nothing is too much trouble for them. Aziz, the porter is wonderfully calm and extremely efficient. Feisal who only just started on 1st March is a real star. He speaks very good English and I will always remember his big smile as he opened the door to us in the evening. He also walked to meet us and guide us back to the Riad from our taxi in the evenings. He and Aziz are absolutely wonderful and I especially thank them for all the help they gave us.
Imane, the manager is a very special lady. She is very bright and bubbly and altogether gorgeous. She greeted us every morning to find out how we were enjoying ourselves and to help us plan the coming day with brilliant suggestions of places to visit that we would not normally thought of (such as having a day at the local country club, or visiting the luxurious Marmounia Hotel for coffee and a walk around their delightful gardens). She is a fount of all knowledge and will ensure that you have the best holiday possible.
Imame arranged for us to have a half day guide to meet us at the Riad and introduce us to the sights including the Souk and ending in the Jemaa El Fna. This was great and I would thoroughly recommend it. It also helps you to find your way around the myriad of alleyways. I do recommend bringing a compass – we found it very helpful. You will get lots of offers from ‘helpful’ children trying to guide you to places – be aware that these children may not necessarily take you where you want to go and only want money.
We also recommend the drive to the Atlas Mountains in a very comfortable taxi with a driver who spoke perfect English. We visited the Berber House and had lunch at the lovely La Rosarie restaurant. All this was arranged by Imame and a fabulous day out.
Overall, visiting Marrakech is a real adventure, like stepping back into history. You can be energetic and walk all day or enjoy the stroll through the Souk and have a leisurely sandwich in the Café Epice, enjoying the view over the square. Stroll back to Zamzam and relax on a sun bed on the rooftop and read a book or venture further afield into the new town.
The local scene and its people are a photographer’s delight but the locals are not altogether keen to be photographed and I do recommend you ask before photographing them – especially the children.
Riad Zamzam could not be faulted and owners Emma and Marcus are great fun and very interesting to talk to. Both Emma and Marcus go out of their way to ensure you are enjoying your stay, and their love of Riad Zamzam is very obvious. They have both put their heart and soul into building a beautiful Riad and we congratulate and thank them both for an unforgettable time there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UTFDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

An absolutely stunning riad with friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble, we were looked after from the moment we stepped through the door. I cannot recommend it highly enough ; the warm welcome, the beautiful rooms, the guided tour of the medina organised for us, the superb lunch we enjoyed on the terrace, the hammam and massage in the riad's spa, I could go on and on. A wonderful place to relax after the hustle and bustle of the souk. I must make a special mention of the owners, Marcus and Emma. Two of the nicest people you could ever meet. I would go there again, just to see them!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

A chic and relaxing respite from the bustle of Marrakech, ZamZam Riad's modern boutique meets traditional Moroccan interior creates an oasis-like feel. The wonderfully helpful staff provides you with everything you need, from arranging for tour guides and transportation services to delicious gourmet meals. They can even arrange hands-on cooking classes with a market tour guided by the Riad's own talented chef (an experience I recommend!). With a gorgeous rooftop that overlooks the medina, and a lovely hammam, the riad truly provides everything you could ask for.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_ragz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Zamzam Retreat - Journey of Awakening - what a perfect holiday for me.
When I arrived Marrakech with a friend, neither of us knew what to expect. As soon as we entered Riad Zamzam, we instantly felt in love with this place. The decor in my bedroom was exceptional - I never stayed in a place where all details in the room seemed to be thoroughly taken care of and it was incredibly comfortable to stay too! Through the whole trip staying in Riad Zamzam, I felt as if I was staying at home (well, the only difference is that Riad Zamzam was a lot posher than my little two-bedroom-house back in England).... Yes - it was THAT comfortable.
I had several "package holidays" before, but I have to admit, this one was not like any others that I had in the past. The retreat was very nicely organised - from airport pick-up (I was amazed how knowledgeable the taxi driver was - he was like an experienced tour guide!) to Yoga (very physically- challenging - totally demolished my thought of Yoga!), souk tour, a trip to La Pause (first time riding a horse in a desert..), Hammam massage, a visit to the Atlas Mountains, and Reiki treatment and practices.... Everyday and every program I had was a surprise for me. I am still not sure how I can describe what I experienced in this... journey of awakening. Quite literally, to me, this retreat holiday in Riad Zamzam was a journey of awakening - both physically and emotionally. During the trip, I got the chance to really sit back, relax, and reflect. Having been a busy sales executive living in different cities and countries in the past 10 years, I didn't realise how uptight and competitive I have been until I had this retreat holiday (with 5 other retreaters).... And noticing how I have been and subsequently realising the fact that I can and have the power to do anything to change what I like and dislike in my normal life empowered me immensely.

All in all, I would like to thank everyone (especially to Emma) that I met in Riad Zamzam. The riad is magical and people there are incredible. I had a perfect getaway in Marrakech, and it's all because of you.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#35 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#70 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#21 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#31 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#86 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#22 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Property: Zamzam Riad
Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing