We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Ranked #66 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Pros :
Very good location, close to the Medina, Jemaa el Fna square, etc...
Rooms are large, clean, modern and beautifully appointed.
Bed and pillows are very comfy.
Beautiful swimming pool.

Cons :
Bathroom is a little bit dark (and the light in the bathtub didn't work, so it was VERY dark !)
Shower system is not practical : either you have a ceiling shower which if you use it will flood the whole bathroom a few seconds, or a regular shower with a very poor jet, I hate it.
Air conditioning doesn't work very well.
Complicated lighting and TV system.
There is not THAT MUCH choice for continental breakfast.

Conclusion : a very nice hotel... but not a true 5* to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra-Bruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre précédent séjour à l'hôtel & ryads Naoura Barrière.
Nous avons pris bonne note des améliorations à apporter dans le détail de notre service mais aussi de nos installations. Nous travaillons sur ces points afin que les désagréments que vous avez connus ne se reproduisent pas. Nous espérons que vous nous redonnerez une chance de vous prouver le niveau que vous êtes en droit d'attendre dans notre établissement.
Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    174
    67
    19
    7
See reviews for
188
353
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
falmouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I stayed for four nights in a Deluxe Junior Suite at the Naoura Barriere last week. Arriving at the hotel, the front of house and reception staff were welcoming and efficient. A charming female member of staff showed us to our room and painstakingly explained its facilities, by which time the bags had been brought up. The room itself was both well equipped and well decorated, with a large bedroom, two bathrooms, a walk in wardrobe and spacious balcony overlooking the pool. A brasserie lunch seated near the pool was good, but the service extremely slow; food, menus etc being delivered only after numerous requests. However, this was the sole occasion where service fell short and appeared to be the combined result of fewer staff on Mondays and the Manager being absent. Other than that, we found service at the Hotel to be very good throughout. We loved the pool area, which is a serene oasis surrounded by a variety of calming vegetation. The Poolboys are excellent and mostly speak good English. Equally, the girls who bring refreshments to guests laying by the pool are smiling and obliging. Our only dislike was the overloud and intrusive piped music which emanated throughout the day from the sound system which surrounds the pool. On several occasions we asked for it to be turned down as, we observed, did other guests. This proved to be effective in suppressing the continuous loop of popular songs by 'other artists', but was less successful in drowning out the 'techno-funk' reel, leaving only the repetitious, computer-generated bass note to tease the psychological limits of relaxing guests! To be churlish about it, and considering the age demographic we witnessed around the pool, it was more ClubMed than 5-star hotel. The same negative comment applies to inside the Le Fouquet Restaurant on the one night we dined in. There, we found the noise of the 'background' music so loud, we had almost to shout at one another to make basic conversation. We took breakfast on our first morning at the main buffet by the pool, and did not repeat the exercise! In both presentation and content it resembled an East German food supermarket at the height of the Cold War, with poor quality juices, tired looking fruit, pancakes and crepes which were thick and not cooked through, and eggs to order, whatever the style, mostly deep fried in oil. Tea was a disaster and coffee not much better. Thereafter, we took breakfast on our balcony. At no extra cost, it was a timely revelation and excellent in all respects. Food in Le Fouquet was well presented and beautifully cooked, catering for most tastes; we particularly liked the Moroccan specialities. The Wine List (mostly French claret) was pricey and we were surprised there appeared to be no Moroccan wines on offer. When in Rome! The Bar is large and appears to be largely underused, other than as a base from which to supply guests elsewhere. This is a shame, since the main barman makes a mean cocktail, with all the theatre of a Hollywood movie. A note here for future guests who come from countries, like the UK, where smoking is no longer permitted in public places. Expect your fellow guests to be smoking, whether by the pool or in the public rooms! Pre-arranged transfers worked well at Euros 50 each way. In sum, we thought the hotel provided just the sunny tonic (the weather was blissful) we needed after the relentless summer rain we have experienced in the UK of late. It is wonderfully central and represents good value for money. For us, without the few nagatives mentioned above, it would easily have warranted an 'Excellent' rating.

Room Tip: Second floor Junior Suite worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for visiting Naoura Barriere Hotel and Ryads. We well received your comments and especially about the breakfast buffet and the music loudness around the pool and at the restaurant. We did take measure already to arrange these facts you esperienced.
We hope having the pleasure to welcome you again in Marrakech and proving you we make our best to give you the level of quality you deserve.
Arnaud BAMVENS$
General Manager Hotel & Ryads Naoura Barriere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a real 5 star experience.

The room is spacious and well set out. The mini bar was stocked with free soft drinks and restocked daily, a nice touch. The entertainment system had Bose system, which had a great sound. Included a range of free movies. Minor criticism is there are 74 channels but no English entertainment channels. Very comfortable beds.

Breakfast was of a high standard.

All the staff were extremely polite and helpful.

The hotel was a calm oasis only noise was the praying call!

The hotel is a short walk from the main square.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Valderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImaneHazime, Executive Secretary at Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Madam , Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay in Hotel and Ryads Naoura Barrière , and for having taken the time and trouble to leave these detailed remarks on Tripadvisor.
We truly appreciate your comments.

we look forward to welcoming you again in the near futur!!

Yours sincerely

Arnaud BAMVENS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I am sat on the balcony having spent a week in the Naora Barriere ,this is my last full day and I want to stay! I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and the service has not been has good as I have experienced here.the guys by the pool especially are to be commended,although not necessarily part of their job, they make sure that all your needs are met when sunbathing,ie your drinks or food arrive on time your table is cleared etc etc. The girl waitresses could take note, as the guys always notice if a customer requires anything and will check to make sure,even going to the restaurant to chase up waiting staff and menus etc .Well done pool boys as a face of Naoura Barriere your hotel should be proud!note to customers staying these guys should be tipped more often,they look after customers well!A suggestion for rooms ,is go for delux top floor rooms.re the comment about privacy from another reviewer -that's why you have balcony curtains ! You can leave your doors open and go in the buff if you want,just close the balcony curtains !.how many hotels have those?? The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the Market 15 minutes from the airport.it has ryads within it ,so a choice of accommodation.a lovely easy access pool and fab sun beds. Guaranteed we came at a quiet time ,so no children and not too hot ,you may be fighting for shade in higher temperatures. Room service was excellent with choice of having your breakfast in your room with no extra charge if you wanted.if you are looking for a quite classy place to stay in the thick of marrackech then this is it.oh and tip the pool boys they deserve it ! And to the manager who told the pool boy off (as viewed by me)for turning down the music - he was doing as 2 customers requested and using his initiative to look after his customer needs he should have been given a pat on the back not criticism.they are the ones that spend most time with customers and lookout for their needs

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud B, Directeur général at Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest ,

It was such a pleasure to read these wonderful lines and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
we look forward to welcoming you again to Naoura Barrière in a not too distant future
Yours sincerely ,

Arnaud BAMVENS
Directeur Général
Hôtel & Ryads Naoura Barrière
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed a week in February 2012. From my top floor room overlooking the expansive pool, I sat on the balcony enjoying tea, fruit, nuts and biscuits. Although the nights were cool, I kept the drapes open overnight to awaken to tiny birds singing in my room in the morning. The room was well-designed with every convenience including good TV reception (several English-language channels) and Internet access. A delicious, full breakfast buffet is served poolside. The layout of the hotel ensures a quiet, peaceful stay and the hotel staff were gracious and helpful. Only 10 min walk from the souks and right around the corner from the Artisan craft center (2 floors of shops). My only complaint is that the rate was expensive, and although I prepaid, I found a cheaper rate before I arrived and Prestigia nor the hotel would honor the lower room rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasGILLE, Deputy Manager at Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for writing your last comments about Naoura Barriere Hotel.

Myself and my team are very proud your stay was successfull.
That is exactly what makes our daily job enjoyable when our guests feel confortable with our product and the service we deliver.

We stay at your disposal in order to organize your next trip in Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I was expecting more from this hotel in my opinion not really what you would imagine a Riad to be.
To be honest theposition of the room we had overlooked the pool but also directly at the other 3 floors of rooms which gave us some privacy issues!
Staff attentive and the food good but not exceptiobnal.
Would I stay there again no...we planned to move after 3 nights here to The Villa Des Oranges which is a true Riad and far more what we expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasGILLE, Deputy Manager at Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Mister G.

We apologize for your stay which did not live up to your expectations.
I think that you did not had enough information about the hotel as you expected a Ryad...
The Naoura Barrière is a 85 rooms hotel with 26 private villa called "Ryads".
It's very different that the "Villa des Orangers" who is a "Relais & Chateaux".

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you at the Fouquet's Restaurant during your next trip in Marrakech,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Just returned from a week's stay at Naoura Barriere. On arrival,it was a welcome sight-a cool peaceful and clean respite from a dusty,hot and busy city.We arrived very early, at around 9am,but our room was ready for us after a 20 minute wait so we could make the most of our day and settle in.Our room was a standard room, but it was fantastic-very spacious with a very big comfortable bed.

The food was excellent,without exception.We ate at Fouquets the first night and the food was delicious-the dessert pastries here are particularly good.We ate here on two occasions and had roomservice and everything was great and really good value. Breakfast too is great with a huge variety.The hotel has clearly listened to previous criticism of breakfast being served outside as it is now served inside the restaurant but you still have the option of eating outside. We only had breakfast in our room on the final day as we had an early morning flight but I wish we had done it on a few other mornings as it was great(though it arrived 20 minutes late,which was annoying as we didn't have time to eat it before we left).

Lunch by the pool was good too,with large portions.There was a problem one day with the food we ordered and it was given to us free of charge. The bar did lovely drinks and served them with loads of nibbles which was fab. We had our welcome drink on the last but one evening-the bar didn't seem to know anything about it when I asked about it but a quick chat with reception resolved that.

Staff are lovely -they really can't do enough for you. Sara and Abdullah were two people who deserve a special mention for their service.One poolside attendant would actually lay out our towels on our preferred beds before we had even got to the pool and bring us drinks and our preferred newspaper.The recommendations from reception for dinner were also very good,La Maison Arabe around the corner from the hotel is simply beautiful and the food is incredible.

The location is also great.About ten minutes from the Square and a short walk from the new city(though there really isn't much to see there,it is much more fun in the Medina!).

There are some small teething problems-the gym wasn't in full working order when we were there.The only running machine was broken and the powerplate machine was broken.Not a massive deal as you are on holiday,but if there is a gym it is nice if it is in working order!

My visit to the hairdresser wasn't a particularly luxurious experience,but at £15 for a haircut I don't suppose I can really complain!

Finally,the air conditioning could have been better.On some days it was cooler outside than in our room.

These things are really very minor though and I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jofromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasGILLE, Deputy Manager at Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Madam, Mister

Thank you again for writing your last comments about Naoura Barriere Hotel.

Myself and my team are very proud your stay was successfull.
That is exactly what makes our daily job enjoyable when our guests feel confortable with our product and the service we deliver.
We still have works on service basics to be perfect and your comments will be used for our staff.

We stay at your disposal in order to organize your next trip in Marrakech.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#68 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.0 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#73 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech

Property: Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Address: Rue Djebel Alakhdar | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#83 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Ryads Naoura Barriere
Hotel Ryads Naoura Barriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing