We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How could this riad receive Tripadvisor award????”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Mariana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Mariana
Ranked #132 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“How could this riad receive Tripadvisor award????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

First time using Tripadvisor to choose hotel. Very disappointing and could not understand how did it get the award. Also why there were so many praises from other travellers. First and the most important reason (no one spoke of this clearly in other reviews), this Riad was located almost 1 kilometer from the entrance of walking street (900 meters from ClubMed). It might be ok for backpackers. But it was horrible for typical tourists with big luggages. No service from the Riad (non of my business when asking the hotel owner), we had to hire someone on the street to take them on a cart and walk along with us 1 km. into zigzag alleys. Before I booked this Riad, it seemed exciting to walk FEW minutes into the Riad. But it was no fun to walk 2 km. back and forth everytime you wanted to go out and return.

The Riad was located inside community area. Nothing to see. Our local guide told us not to walk outside after 7 pm. So we felt we were caged the whole night.

Room was typical. After all it was just a clean guesthouse, not a hotel. Do not expect any services more than a clean room with air conditioning/heater. No TV! Wifi was not reliable. Hot water in bathroom seemed to be on ration. If first person used hot water too much then no hot water for second person. Had to wait almost one hour for more hot water. Power outage 3-4 times during our 2 nights stay. No telephone, not sure what to do if there was emergency at night.

Breakfast was so grand (for the poorest Moroccan?) as understood by the owner. No egg. Just limited amount of bread, three kinds of fruit jam in small cups, 1pce of cold local bread (pancake?), butter, 1 small glass of orange juice, half glass of plain yoghurt. What else, a small jug of coffee, a cup of milk, some sugar. What more, tea and hot water if you didn't want coffee. When we looked surprising, he went to the kitchen and brought an old fruit cake so dried that we were afraid to eat. All these could be eaten by one thin person and still hungry (unless you went back to your room and drink lot of water but don't drink too much as only one bottle of water per room was given for the whole 3 nights).

Rooftop was open air dining area. But it was just a plain rooftop. NOTHING to view, only sun, sky and walls! The Riad building was not higher than surrounding area. I couldn't understand other reviews about this rooftop area.

No one spoke usable English.
We decided to move out after first night although we paid for 3 nights. Unfortunately, we couldn't make reservation for other hotel so we had to stay 2 nights. Of course, the guesthouse owner declined to talk about refund of any kinds. It was our mistake to trust reviews here too much. We cancelled 5 stars hotel reservation to book this guesthouse. Hoping to learn some about living Moroccan style. We paid this guesthouse much more than the 5 stars hotel. Even if we could pay one third of what we had paid we wouldn't stay here again.

So...don't trust good and praised reviews here too much. Also read the bad reviews too. One bad review is valueable than a hundred good reviews. There was google translation you could use to read other language reviews. I should have read all these bad reviews before booking. It described exactly what we felt. Anyway, who would believe these few bad reviews versus tons of praised reviews and recent award by Tripadvisor? I don't know how much did these reviewers paid per night. If it was same as what I paid and they still were happy then perhaps you should try it and make your own judgement. Good luck!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pairoj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Very surprised by so much anger on your part, you never talk or hello or goodbye or thank you when the staff took care of you -
you traveled with an agency in Casablanca, we saw the refund with them - you never asked for it -
The only thing you asked , they are eggs , we have served them to be please
The guide 85 year old who accompanied you ,gave you bad information and wanted to take you elsewhere to earn a commission -
You say just two things : we are a guest house, which is valued as such by our customers and we are 900 m from Club Med ( what a reference from you ? ) - the guide should have to park 20 m from Riad , as all our drivers , but he did not know Marrakech ( guide from Fez)
For the rest, the television Riad captures all encrypted channels ( Canal + , Canal Satellite , Being Sport, Tps , AlJazzerera , Sky ... ) , hot water , wifi work .We have upgraded you, because you were our first customers fromTahïland and we feel that you put your feelings of your 15-day trip to Morocco (the agency complained of your incessant calls during these two weeks ) on this review - you keep talking about money, but the culture must be acquired, it can not be bought - Our goal is to make our guests feel good, we are sorry for you- regards - Philippe and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    33
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
116
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a typical Riad, the rooms are a good size and the shower is one of the best in Morocco. As with most Riads they can be noisy but just like being in someone's home.

The staff were most helpful, we stayed three nights and they even had breakfast ready at 6am on our last day as we needed to catch an early flight. Breakfast is good and dinner in the Riad on our first night was welcome and up to par with Riad food.

I must say that food was the only downside on what has been a fantastic tour around Morocco. Just bland although cheap and well cooked.

This Riad is located a few minutes walk from " the Square" which was where we spent a lot of time and from here you can visit the Mosque, the markets, many restaurants, shops and the like. I could not fault the location. It is also just a short walk with our luggage from where our driver could park the vehicle.

As we had many bags we chose a ground floor room, but the higher rooms are bigger and quieter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JA_travel_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for the review and for your visit,you're ever welcome -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in November. I booked one of the better rooms (sorry I cant recall the name now). Its a good location, just 20 minutes walk down into the heart of Marrakech, but just out of the way enough to be quiet although the early morning call to prayer could be heard if you happened to be awake that early. I had a a warming log fire each evening lit by the ever helpful Abdul. The owner, Philippe was charming easy going and very helpful, including recommending and booking a restaurant for me. Breakfast was taken on the roof terrace which was really great when the sun shone. I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Hotel Mariana and would highly recommend

Room Tip: Its a small Riad. I took an upgrade to a larger room with fireplace and truly huge bath. Philippe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you Stephen for your visit and for your kind comments - Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Right place to stay, exquisite food from Fatima, and nice spot in the medina close to everything but quiet in the same time, competent and kind personal, wonderful cat, nice terrace and rooms, what can I say, I hope you will enjoy the place as much as I enjoy it. I already miss it, and I will come back Inch’Allah.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you Vincent , glad to have some guests so happy ...See you soon ,inchallah - Philippe and all the team from Riad Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Inside the very plain exterior is an oasis of calm. The roof terrace is a lovely place to take tea and refresh after a busy day at the souks. Philippe went out of his way to be helpful, providing us (two ladies of a certain age) with an escort to a wonderful restaurant (Pepe Nero) which he booked for us. He also booked us a day trip into the country and the return taxi to the airport. It can get cold at night but there is a welcome fire in the sitting room.

Room Tip: If you don't like cats don't leave your bedroom door open! If you do, expect a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MubGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Gwen , thank you for your opinion and for your visit - best regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed in this Riad for 5 nights. It is situated about 5 minutes from place Djamaâ El Fna, the big square. The Riad is beautiful and eating breakfast at the roof terrace is amazing. It is such a peaceful place in a very busy city. The staff is very friendly and especially the owner of the Riad. His English is also very well (which is not always the case in Marrakech) and he gave us a lot of useful tips. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious. We would absolutely recommend this Riad! I think I'll send my parents to this superb place, when they are visiting Marrakech in may next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you Tessa to recommend Riad Mariana to your friends and ypur family, it is very nice . We hope to see you soon . Best regards . Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Riad Mariana is the perfect find for a relaxing break from the bussling medinas in Marrakech. The owner and staff were incredibly friendly with a talent for providing excellent service. The owner met me at my cab upon arrival and welcomed me with delicious mint tea. The location is great, tucked away from the noisy streets and walking distance to seeing the sights and dining out. Though I would reccommend dining in and eating on the Riad's beautiful terrace. The home cooked Moroccan dinner I ordered there was superb and better than anything I'd eaten in a restaurant. The breakfasts were also fresh and delicious.

The room was beautiful, the perfect place to relax with a big comfortable bed and sparkling clean bath tub. Wonderfully decorated, clean, and airy. I had an excellent hamman scrub down and massage for a very reasonable price. It's a great place to relax and rejuvenate, almost like a home away from home!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spence_spotted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victortrip, Propriétaire at Riad Mariana, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thanks for your nice feeling .To seem like at home is very important for us - Kind regards - Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#96 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#75 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#159 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Tahili & Spa
Riad Tahili & Spa
#129 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#110 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#119 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mariana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mariana

Property: Riad Mariana
Address: 13 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houta, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mariana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad in the heart of Marrakech, easy access, close to tourist attractions pool, steam room, air conditioning, airport transfers, restaurant, tours, restaurant on-site service hotel, rooms cleaned every day, towels, bathrobes and bed linen changed daily - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Mariana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing