We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to return to Riad Diana”
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Diana
Ranked #84 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

One year after our first visit to Riad Diana, we return. It is still a haven in the medina and feels like our home in Marrakech. This is more a home than a hotel. Slightly off one of the main routes to the the Jemma el Fna, it is quiet, but right in the thick of things. The private dinner we had on the rooftop was unanimously voted the best food experienced in Morocco by all. The location, the call of the mezzuin, the lovely views across the old town to the Atlas mountains, the simple but stylish clean lines of the tadelakt finishes, the attentive but unobtrusive service, all contribute to a genuine, uncontrived and lovely Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarossaPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

Ideally located in the centre of the Medina but incredibly peaceful. Lovely moroccan interior with really good and helpful service. We felt really welcome and looked after by the staff.

The local Hamman massage at the Riad was very different from what I was used to but I enjoyed it a lot. This is very moroccan and it is worth a try.

Recommend the Ourika valley day trip to the Atlas mountain with Majid as a guide, because of his very good english and knowledge of the area.

If it is your first trip, the taxi pickup saves a lot of hassle as it leaves you in a nearby square and a porter carries your luggage in a trolley to the Riad. Going back to the airport it is then your choice how to go.

Many thanks to the staff of the Riad Diana from both of us.
JJ & Joanne

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanJoseDuroAlamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed only one night in Riad Diana in the top floor terrace room. Its perfect for two people, beautifully decorated and quiet room. The service at Riad Diana was amazing!
We had scheduled an airport pickup prior to coming out but no one was there from Riad Diana to pick us up, so we ended up taking a taxi there ( which that was 2x the cost of the hotel price) The staff was very apolgetic when we got there for the error and more than made up for it with great service. The next day we needed to catch a bus out to Taghazout and they helped us arrange that and found us a cheap taxi to the bus station.
The breakfast included with the price was delicious, espcially the Moroccan mint tea.
Location is excellent, walking distance to main square.
Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend Riad Diana in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb92103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Upon arrival at lovely Riad Diana, over a most welcome pot of Moroccan mint tea, the owner welcomed us by saying, "While you are here in Marrakech we are your family." And they meant it. The kind and attentive staff wiare there to make your Marrakech experience magical and hassle-free, they even helped us get our train tickets to our next stop (Fes). The decore is tasteful, elegant and lovely, rooms are beautifully appointed, and the location perfect (in the heart of the medina, very close to the square but down a quiet alley). And whatever you do make sure you book the cooking class! It was one of my family's favorite memories of Morocco. After we cooked we enjoyed our meal on the rooftop terrace, a wonderful way to end our stay in Marrakech. Highly, highly recommend Riad Diana.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip to Morocco. We arranged transport from the airport through the hotel and the car dropped us off at the edge of the Medina where a guy with a luggage barrow took us the rest of the way to the Riad. We were very glad we did as I think we would have struggled to find it otherwise.

The hotel is well located in relation to the main attractions within the medina and once you've walked to it a couple of times relatively easy to find. The rooms are all located around a lovely central patio where breakfast was served each morning. Inside the Riad is amazingly quiet and peaceful despite the noise and chaos on the streets outside . Our room was very comfortable and clean with effective air conditioning. There is a lovely roof terrace with excellent views across the city particularly at sunset.

Breakfast consisted of coffee, fresh orange juice, bread, cake and a small plate of fruit. What we were given was good but I would have liked the option of tea and maybe some yoghurt or cereal.
On our first night we ate dinner in the Riad and were served an excellent 3 course dinner on the roof terrace for a very reasonable 20 euros each. I would recommend that you eat here at least once during your stay.

Staff within the riad spoke good English,were always friendly and polite and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rand3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at Riad Diana. We were there to celebrate my 50th birtrhday and from the first night when we had a wonderful dinner on the terrace complete with a small special cake to celebrate we were treated with absolute courtesy and charm by the staff. They organised so much for us, dinner, individual guided walking tour, hammam, massage, manicure, pedicures, cookery lesson (best meal followed) and also final transfer, nothing was too much trouble. Always with charm, friendliness and a desire to please by making our stay easy and comfortable. The market trip before our cookery lesson was a key experience where through their help we could talk to stall holders and discover both the best flavours and the best prices for all the exotic spices we needed to bring home to replicate our meal.The Medina is a frantic exciting chaos, its a different world but our quiet haven was Riad Diana, so close to everything but a haven of peace where we could have a glass of wine in the inner cortyard and just unwind at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Plan in time and take one of the rooms on the first floor. Top terrace could possibly be very hot an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlysonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just back from a great week at Riad Diana! They organised for us to be collected at Airport, dinner on our first night when we arrived on the roof terrace, hammam and massage (in the Riad so we didn't even need to go out!), cooking lesson (again in the Riad which was brilliant and we then go to have for dinner on the roof terrace) and they also organised day trips to Atlas Mountains and Essouria - which ended up being a lot cheaper than the organised tours and we had a private driver!

Marrakech is full of hustle and bustle and so it was nice escaping to the Riad to chill out! The side streets to get to the Riad took a little bit of getting used to at first but we all felt very safe. You get the usual banter from the locals but they are harmless. Very close to the main square, which is just chaos at night, but taxis are very cheap so easy to go elsewhere.

Staff at Riad were so friendly and very helpful!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edinburgh767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#39 of 500 in Marrakech
278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#72 of 500 in Marrakech
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#74 of 500 in Marrakech
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#71 of 500 in Marrakech
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#52 of 500 in Marrakech
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £49 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing