We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful riad and perfect service”
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Diana
Ranked #63 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Excellent stay! Riad Diana is a typical and very well located riad in the hearth of old town, 5 minutes walking from the square Jemaa el Fnaa. Charming rooms, delicious breakfast and excellent customer service by Mr. Boyemoue who organize and negotiate for us the transfer from the hotel to the rail station and who gives us a perfect service all the time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Versys Travel
Thank Gabriella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

We spent 10 days in the heart of Marrakech in this charming Riad Diana owned by a german, managed by a local morrocan - a real nice guy who took care of our vacation in any cases e.g. reservation for golf teetime, restaurants, transfers, booking day trips to the atlas and essaouria, serving daily beers etc.

The riad itself is a cosy, very clean and a decent place to stay. Even if it is in the heart of the medina it is a hidden small guest house that is still very quite with a conveniant rooftop terrace.

Thanks to the manager and all his colleagues for the comfortable stay we had with you.

All the best, Frank & Vanessa

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Really a home from home with attentive care from all the staff. Almost everywhere you want to go is within walking distance including many restaurants.
Everything worked perfectly, from the airport pick-up, transfer from taxi to hotel (essential and readily arranged). Booking of trips and excursions to simple needs of tea and coffee at any time perfectly accommodated.
Highly recommended for a short or long break in Marrakech, hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

From the time the door was opened to the time of our departure the staff at Riad Diana could not do enough for us! We had a very interesting and quaint room which was situated on the roof of the Riad itself but this led us to easy access to enjoy the fantastic views of the snow covered Atlas mountains. On our first night there we decided to pre-book the evening meal with the Riad, which as we did not arrive until late in the day was ideal. The meal was excellent and extremley good value for money and the wine was well priced. Another benefit was that it was within an easy 5 minute walk to the main square to watch and enjoy all the evening activities. For us a great Winters break.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed in the Arba suite at Riad Diana for a week in December 2012. The hotel is very nice and Boujamaa and his staff are really friendly and helpful. This is a small and peaceful hotel, located about five-six minutes walk from the square, Jemaa el Fna. The breakfast was good and it was nice to spend time at the roof top terrace.

We booked an excursion to the Atlas mountains through the hotel and it was very good. But if you do that, chose another restaurant than the one the driver will suggest. It was rather expensive and made us feel a bit fooled in the end. It feels like the driver has some kind of agreement with the restaurant, but just chose another one.

The cleaning of the rooms are the least good about Riad Diana. For example the toilet wasn't cleaned when we arrived the first night and the doors to the bath room were dusty. But if you are not satisfied with something, just talk to the staff and they will do their best to help you. Some of them speak English, some only French. Shampoo, shower gel and hair dryer are availible on request.

If you go to Marrakech, I recommend you to stay at Riad Diana.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We booked this particular Riad after reading the tripadvisor reviews. We arranged for a private collection from the airport via the hotel, this proved really beneficial as my husband left his phone in the taxi which was returned later that day.
Boujamma greeted us with mint tea and a map of the area, letting us know where the places of interest were in the city. We felt at home immediately. I had booked the booked the cookery class for me and the hubby and it was an excellent experience with Soraya. From the shopping in the market that morning for the ingredients to the lesson itself and then eating the delicious end product that evening. The communication before and during our 5 day stay was perfect and so personal, we were a group of two couples.
Our rooms was clean, we had fresh towels daily. Our friends had the room on the roof terrace which was very romantic and we had a large three person room on the first floor. It is amazing peaceful the Riad is considering its proximity to the main square and crazy Marrakech life all around it.
Breakfast was of a continental style and was more than adequate.

We booked a private taxi to take us to the Atlas mountains through the Riad and we were collected by the driver and spent the day exploring waterfalls, our driver was really nice and the only thing that spoilt the day was the fact that it seemed as though the restaurant we were to have lunch at was chosen for us. However after a little spat with the waiter at the 'chosen' restaurant we did take ourselves off to another establishment further up the street. Lunch was very good but there did seem to bit a little of an atmosphere between us and the driver on the way back.
We found Marrakech to be an amazing city to visit and 5 days is not long enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBondSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Booked this after reading the tripadvisor reviews, arranged collection from the airport via the hotel, the taxi drops you at the bottom of riad zitoune, Riad Diana is less than a minutes walk, at the drop off point there are guys with carts waiting to take your luggage for you and take you to the Riad. We weren't sure what we had to pay for this, we ended up paying 50 dirham and found out after the going rate is 20 dirham (you could walk with your luggage too but not knowing where we were going was good to get the help)
Boujamma greeted us with mint tea and a map of the area, highlighting places to visit, we booked the hamam / massage experience along with the cooking class and one of the excursions and can't rate all experiences highly enough. The communication before and during our 5 day stay was perfect and so personal, all of the staff are friendly and most speak some English between that and our limited French and very limited Arabic we got by!
Our room was clean, we had fresh towels daily and slept so well every night, it's amazing how peaceful the riad is considering its proximity to the main square and bustling Marrakech life all around it.
Breakfast was croissant, pancake, yoghurt, fresh juice, jams, bread & soft cheese and coffee, all plentiful and enjoyable.
Our cooking class was fantastic, Soraya the house cook was lovely and showed us a number of salads, lamb tagine and the orange & cinnamon desert, you have a choice of lamb, chicken or fish to cook with along with a variety of veg you go and buy with her. You also get a tagine cook book after the class and in the evening you get to eat what you've made!
The hamam is located in the Riad and is smaller than ones we've been in in Turkey, but it did the job! We were scrubbed and washed before we had our massage (which is done on the roof terrace in a small treatment room), the massage was fantastic and so relaxing.
Our trip to the Ourika Valley was also booked through the Riad and we were collected by the driver and spent the day exploring the valley and waterfalls, our driver was so knowledgable and friendly which really made the drive a pleasure, our guide to the waterfalls was also great and really made this day one of the highlights of our trip.
We found Marrakech to be a bit of a culture shock and once we got over the 'uncomfortable' need to say NO a lot when outside of the Riad, the Riad itself was a complete sanctuary which we really can't praise enough!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 502 in Marrakech
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#77 of 502 in Marrakech
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#40 of 502 in Marrakech
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 502 in Marrakech
472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#70 of 502 in Marrakech
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £48 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing