We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful appearance- disappointing attention to details...”
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riad Diana
Ranked #70 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The Riad is beautiful and charming. I give the owners that. But it has serious issues attached. I stayed here over a long-weekend and it seems we fell into the same little street scam others had- when the driver we hired via the riad dropped us 4 blocks away and told us the guy who was there with a little cart would take us to the hotel-affirming he worked for the hotel. When we got to the Riad, the manager was not there, and the staff pretended they did not know the guy with the cart and he insisted he had to be payed. And they gave no explanation on why we were dropped far from the hotel and not accompanied by the driver we hired.
The room was just as in the pictures, but unfortunately the toilet was suffering serious plumbing problems and they were not concerned nor in a rush to find a solution to the smell that invaded our bedroom and we had for all the stay. So much for the romantic atmosphere!
The same evening we arrived we had dinner there and took advantage of the hammam service. Dinner was nice although overpriced for what it was. The hammam was perfect and the lady taking care of us was extremely nice.
That same evening we booked an excursion for the next day and hired a driver to go explore one of the close valleys. We asked twice to confirm the price included excursion, driver and guide. We were told yes. But of course as soon as we got there the next day we were told by the driver it was not included. We had to pay him the fee agreed and hire a guide separately. This led to a very uncomfortable moment and discussion over the phone where the 'manager' finally 'appeared'. In the end the Riad admitted it was their mistake and took charge of the issue but after taking a long and firm act of disapproval on our side.
The next two nights were nice and relaxing. We enjoyed the riad's terrace and open spaces (avoiding the rooms as much as possible due to the smell). The evening before leaving we asked to arrange the payment via credit card. For some reason it did not work, and not much effort was done to resolve it then, and we were told it would be taken care of the next morning. So we woke up early, but they did not take care of the payment immediately. When it was finally dealt with, half an hour beofre our departure, there was once again some problem with the phone connection and the payment not getting through, and since the people from the riad reacted late ( the 'manager' only showed up 10 minutes before our taxi to the airport was due,) we had to run to the other riad belonging to the owner and lost another half an hour where I was given an attitude for demanding them to try my credit card instead of my husband's . The guy in charge insisted in telling me we had no money and this is why it was not going through. I had to insist I had no financial problems and travelled frequently for business, and never had had issues with our cards. In the end he did as he was told, tried again and the payment was processed. After what, he still arrogantly sustained that it was my husband's account which had issues. I could not believe the arrogance and lack of tact of the manager and her employee. It was enough that they were making us late for our flight, but we also had to put up with their attitude?! No apologies were expressed by the way even if none of this would have had happened if the manager had take care of this the evening before our departure. I admit both riads belonging to the owners are very beautiful and well located. It is a shame they do not take better care for their customers, protecting them from street and touristic scams, and by providing an effective and serious professional management. I will not go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaPatiperra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_Diana, Owner at Riad Diana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

First of all, I am really wondering that someone writes a review 4 months after his holidays? So could this review be true?

I don't want to write a comment to every statement, but I just would like to highlight that we always try to give the best service to all our clients. Fortunately, 93% of or clients are very satisfied and happy to stay with us and I would like to thank them all!.

Regarding the airport transfer that we offer to our clients, our driver knows exactly the way and he is always dropping off the clients on the next possible parking. From there, it is a only 80m walk into the Medina and the baggage is carried from a guy who is paid by the Riad and who is free of charge. The client said that he hired a driver, but for sure not with us!

We always ask and strictly recommend our clients to pay the bill the evening before the departure, especially if they are leaving very early and if they whish to pay by credit card. Our credit card machine is always working well, but sometimes there is no telephone connection (we are in Africa!) or there is a problem with the credit card. Like the client wrote, his second card worked, so it was a problem with the first card and not with our machine or the connection. We always find a solution for our clients, but we need there support and it is for sure better to do it before the departure.

To protect our clients from "street scam" (I never heard this word before) is very difficult, because we are a guesthouse and we can not went outside with our clients the whole day. But this is also not necessary, because there is no crime in Marrakech and even if someone is asking you to buy something in his shop, you only have to say "non merci". In Marrakech, NOWBODY will touch you and push you in his shop. I know personally a lot of other countries where the visitors are much more penetrated by the locals.

Marrakech is a nice town in a beautiful country and Riad Diana is the best choice to stay there if you would like to live in a traditional, friendly and high serviced guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed in Marrakech and Riad Diana the first week of our 3 weeks honeymoon trip.
The service was excellent, which started with a pickup from the airport which was not cheap but we would strongly recommend, due to you probably wont't find the Riad yourself.
Which is one of the best things about this Riad. It's located almost in the center of Marrakech, but still quiet as you would stay somewhere outside of the city center. Some of the guests coming back to the Riad during midnight, making a lot of noice on their way to their rooms were louder than any people on the streets. It takes you 5 mins to walk to the big square where Marrakech's biggest action is located.
During our stay the whole staff was unbelievable friendly and helpfully, even during midnight if we needed some hot water for instance. As well we had a great time and a lot of fun with the staff, which mostly speaks English or French.

The rooms and the rest of the Riad were very pretty and lovely decorated in Moroccan style, which gave us a romantic and charming feeling. Unfortunately it seems that whole Marrakech has some serious sewer problem which makes the bathroom stinks if you forget to close the shower's drain. But this problem is manageable in contrast to all the cats bothering you during your breakfast on the rooftop. The breakfast is decent and charming, but a bit boring after few days having the same things.

After all we really loved the lovely and warm Riana with its wonderfull staff and service.
The rooms were very nice and spotless clean as the rest of the Riad.
The location can hardly be any better in the rest of the city.
If the cats on the rooftop during breakfast and some noisy Riad residents during midnight would not had been, we could call it a perfect stay. So the rate should be a fair and good 4.5.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FELISHAandMICHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

beautiful, clean, charming and friendly service, very nice food, great location! we had a real good time at Riad Diana! If Marrakech again, than Riad Diana!
thanks for making our stay so perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This riad is in a great location just 5 minutes from the main square. The staff were friendly and attentive, the rooms clean. Alchohol was expensive at the riad but its the same everywhere in Marrakech. We would recommend the Hammam, very relaxing. The only problem i had with this riad was the noise, staff were often very noisey early in morning, and somtimes at night when new guests were checking in. We could hear the conversations of people on the roof terrace and in the court yard. Occasionaly the drains were a bit smelly but we experienced this elsewhere in marrakech too. A big improvement to this riad would be to clean and up date the roof terrace, the tent and seating area were dirty and looked neglected.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonijess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

we stayed at this riad at the end of May. They collected us from the airport, which was great as we would never find it. However once we got our bearings we were near to the main square. our room was the one on the roof. It was smallish but we managed fine.
It had a raised bed which was very comfortable. We were next to the roof top sitting area. I .was worried that it would not be very private However it did not bother us. Our breakfast and evening meals were served just outside our bedroom door. our evening meals were really good and the riad served beer and wine.
we also had a steam bath and massage on the second day. we were so relaxed we could not be bothered to go out. staff were very attentive. the riad itself was spotlessly clean. very
calm in a hectic city.
some discussion on the smell. we did not notice this problem. Bathroom in the rooftop room
is basic and traditional but was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiecool99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

A lovely welcome awaits you here with traditional morrocan tea, book their taxi service from the airport, you will find it a blessing. Riad Diana situated in a good location for all the regular tourist spots. My partner and I never felt the need to take taxis, we kinda enjoyed finding our own way.
The Riad itself was a cool and welcome respite after all our wonderings. We decided on the Wahid which is the room situated on the patio, may not suit some as could be considered as less private but I liked it. Plenty of hot water and a firm and comfortable King bed. Over all the room was not huge but was perfect for our three night stay. We enjoyed the roof terrace with its comfy seating and sun loungers and a great view over the Marrarkech roof tops and the sounds of the call to prayer.
For our first nights stay we decided to book ahead for our evening meal, it was traditional home made Morrocan fare and our first introduction and very enjoyable. Morrocan wine was nicer than we expected :). Definately book the Hammam and the massage, what a treat and another first for us.
Be prepared for the markets, its another experience if you are not use to haggling but give it ago, just remember to do it all with a smile as the Morrocan people are very friendly and interaction and communication goes a long way.
Many thanks to Younes, Aziza and all the wonderful staff at Riad Diana for a most enjoyable stay. Kind Regards to you all. Maxine and Curt

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyJayne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

A very charming riad in the medina of Marrakech. We feel like home but with all the comfort and service of a hotel with the hospitality and especially maroccaine
Thanks to all the staff at Riad aljazira, good job.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolita022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 501 in Marrakech
947 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#72 of 501 in Marrakech
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 501 in Marrakech
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#71 of 501 in Marrakech
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £46 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing