We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine oasis in the city.”
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Diana
Ranked #85 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

From the moment you pass through the solid wooden door from the small passage you are transformed into the peaceful tranquilty of the riad, with it`s welcoming and friendly staff. The cooling plunge poo is a must after a hot day in the souks. The rooms are sumptiously finished and spotlessly clean with nice finishing touches. Breakfast is traditional and can be taken either on the terrace or on the roof top garden.

We will definately return again in the future.

Don and Rosemary Fathers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

This Riad is very traditional, which is just what we were looking for during our stay in Marrakech.
The location is excellent only a few minutes walk to most of the main tourist attractions.
The area is not spotless, however, this is the real Marrakech! If you are looking for a top notch hotel with all the mod cons, then this traditional Riad is not for you.
Behind the Medina walls and the old streets these beautiful traditional houses are stunning and you will experience a quiet oasis.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderwoman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I stayed here for three nights in early August and we could not have felt more welcome! After a bad flight with Royal Air Maroc (another story!!) we arrived at the riad at 3.30 am to a smiling Porter! He was very welcoming and promptly showed us to our room and helped us with our bags! Our room was beautifully decorated and definitely captured the Moroccan feel. The lovely King size bed was very comfy and I enjoyed a good night’s sleep for the whole of my stay! Our room opened out to the lovely courtyard and pool, which was un used for most of the time, so we felt like it was our own little pool!
We had breakfast on the lovely terrace the first morning and was pleasantly surprised by the mini buffet of food the waiter brought to our table. They were very accommodating and were happy to serve you anything you asked for. On our last night we had dinner at the hotel and it was delicious. It was all freshly bought from the market and prepared for our return from our daytrip. It was a real treat!
The Location of the riad could not have been better- Just a short walk to the main square. Although it was so close, we kept referring to it as our little sanctuary as it was so lovely to come back to the tranquillity of the riad after the madness of the city!
All in all this was a great trip and would definitely recommend it. I hope to return next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwren25413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The pick-up from the airport was great. We were taken down a narrow street to the doorway of the Riad Carina - once inside we felt instantly calm and relaxed. Beautifuly designed riad with authentic individually styled Moroccan rooms. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and caring.

Our room was beautiful, spotlessly clean and tidy and the roof top terrace was lovely and calm after the chaos outside of the Riad. A great escape at the end of each day visiting the souks, with stunning views of the Atlas Mountains from the terrace on a clear day. Highly recommend the massage and hamman during a stay at the Riad.. so blissful and relaxing and a must after the crazyness of the Medina!

The breakfast was plentiful and the mint tea and pastries were a lovely touch. The pool in the main reception was good for dipping your feet into and for cooling down.

Am surprised at the negative reviews on this Riad. I suspect that any reviews on here maybe fake, I just cannot imagine people not liking the Riad Diana. All in all we had a fantastic time and will be recommending this to friends and family. We couldn't recommend it enough and will definitely be going back for another visit. Marrakech is a beautiful and stunning city and Riad Diana is a very special haven to unwind from the hustle and bustle of mystical, exotic Marrakech.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parvati44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The Riad is beautiful and charming. I give the owners that. But it has serious issues attached. I stayed here over a long-weekend and it seems we fell into the same little street scam others had- when the driver we hired via the riad dropped us 4 blocks away and told us the guy who was there with a little cart would take us to the hotel-affirming he worked for the hotel. When we got to the Riad, the manager was not there, and the staff pretended they did not know the guy with the cart and he insisted he had to be payed. And they gave no explanation on why we were dropped far from the hotel and not accompanied by the driver we hired.
The room was just as in the pictures, but unfortunately the toilet was suffering serious plumbing problems and they were not concerned nor in a rush to find a solution to the smell that invaded our bedroom and we had for all the stay. So much for the romantic atmosphere!
The same evening we arrived we had dinner there and took advantage of the hammam service. Dinner was nice although overpriced for what it was. The hammam was perfect and the lady taking care of us was extremely nice.
That same evening we booked an excursion for the next day and hired a driver to go explore one of the close valleys. We asked twice to confirm the price included excursion, driver and guide. We were told yes. But of course as soon as we got there the next day we were told by the driver it was not included. We had to pay him the fee agreed and hire a guide separately. This led to a very uncomfortable moment and discussion over the phone where the 'manager' finally 'appeared'. In the end the Riad admitted it was their mistake and took charge of the issue but after taking a long and firm act of disapproval on our side.
The next two nights were nice and relaxing. We enjoyed the riad's terrace and open spaces (avoiding the rooms as much as possible due to the smell). The evening before leaving we asked to arrange the payment via credit card. For some reason it did not work, and not much effort was done to resolve it then, and we were told it would be taken care of the next morning. So we woke up early, but they did not take care of the payment immediately. When it was finally dealt with, half an hour beofre our departure, there was once again some problem with the phone connection and the payment not getting through, and since the people from the riad reacted late ( the 'manager' only showed up 10 minutes before our taxi to the airport was due,) we had to run to the other riad belonging to the owner and lost another half an hour where I was given an attitude for demanding them to try my credit card instead of my husband's . The guy in charge insisted in telling me we had no money and this is why it was not going through. I had to insist I had no financial problems and travelled frequently for business, and never had had issues with our cards. In the end he did as he was told, tried again and the payment was processed. After what, he still arrogantly sustained that it was my husband's account which had issues. I could not believe the arrogance and lack of tact of the manager and her employee. It was enough that they were making us late for our flight, but we also had to put up with their attitude?! No apologies were expressed by the way even if none of this would have had happened if the manager had take care of this the evening before our departure. I admit both riads belonging to the owners are very beautiful and well located. It is a shame they do not take better care for their customers, protecting them from street and touristic scams, and by providing an effective and serious professional management. I will not go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaPatiperra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riad_Diana, Owner at Riad Diana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

First of all, I am really wondering that someone writes a review 4 months after his holidays? So could this review be true?

I don't want to write a comment to every statement, but I just would like to highlight that we always try to give the best service to all our clients. Fortunately, 93% of or clients are very satisfied and happy to stay with us and I would like to thank them all!.

Regarding the airport transfer that we offer to our clients, our driver knows exactly the way and he is always dropping off the clients on the next possible parking. From there, it is a only 80m walk into the Medina and the baggage is carried from a guy who is paid by the Riad and who is free of charge. The client said that he hired a driver, but for sure not with us!

We always ask and strictly recommend our clients to pay the bill the evening before the departure, especially if they are leaving very early and if they whish to pay by credit card. Our credit card machine is always working well, but sometimes there is no telephone connection (we are in Africa!) or there is a problem with the credit card. Like the client wrote, his second card worked, so it was a problem with the first card and not with our machine or the connection. We always find a solution for our clients, but we need there support and it is for sure better to do it before the departure.

To protect our clients from "street scam" (I never heard this word before) is very difficult, because we are a guesthouse and we can not went outside with our clients the whole day. But this is also not necessary, because there is no crime in Marrakech and even if someone is asking you to buy something in his shop, you only have to say "non merci". In Marrakech, NOWBODY will touch you and push you in his shop. I know personally a lot of other countries where the visitors are much more penetrated by the locals.

Marrakech is a nice town in a beautiful country and Riad Diana is the best choice to stay there if you would like to live in a traditional, friendly and high serviced guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed in Marrakech and Riad Diana the first week of our 3 weeks honeymoon trip.
The service was excellent, which started with a pickup from the airport which was not cheap but we would strongly recommend, due to you probably wont't find the Riad yourself.
Which is one of the best things about this Riad. It's located almost in the center of Marrakech, but still quiet as you would stay somewhere outside of the city center. Some of the guests coming back to the Riad during midnight, making a lot of noice on their way to their rooms were louder than any people on the streets. It takes you 5 mins to walk to the big square where Marrakech's biggest action is located.
During our stay the whole staff was unbelievable friendly and helpfully, even during midnight if we needed some hot water for instance. As well we had a great time and a lot of fun with the staff, which mostly speaks English or French.

The rooms and the rest of the Riad were very pretty and lovely decorated in Moroccan style, which gave us a romantic and charming feeling. Unfortunately it seems that whole Marrakech has some serious sewer problem which makes the bathroom stinks if you forget to close the shower's drain. But this problem is manageable in contrast to all the cats bothering you during your breakfast on the rooftop. The breakfast is decent and charming, but a bit boring after few days having the same things.

After all we really loved the lovely and warm Riana with its wonderfull staff and service.
The rooms were very nice and spotless clean as the rest of the Riad.
The location can hardly be any better in the rest of the city.
If the cats on the rooftop during breakfast and some noisy Riad residents during midnight would not had been, we could call it a perfect stay. So the rate should be a fair and good 4.5.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FELISHAandMICHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

beautiful, clean, charming and friendly service, very nice food, great location! we had a real good time at Riad Diana! If Marrakech again, than Riad Diana!
thanks for making our stay so perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#40 of 500 in Marrakech
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
967 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#61 of 500 in Marrakech
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#81 of 500 in Marrakech
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#52 of 500 in Marrakech
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#74 of 500 in Marrakech
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £48 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing