We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“intimate riad with charm and lovely staff”
Review of Dar Habiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Habiba
Ranked #375 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
cheshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“intimate riad with charm and lovely staff”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

For riad rookies such as myself and my partner, Dar Habiba offered a charming introduction to this wonderful style of holiday accommodation. It is not the most luxurious of riads on offer; our room, erroneously classed as a suite, was the only one of comfortable size for a couple. The riad is also just a little rough round the edges and some furnishings need updating, but it nevertheless offers the essential flavour of riad living, and its simple decorative treatment works well in harmony with the original architectural character. Guests also have the benefit of excellent cooking (our Moroccan salads and lamb tagine were among the best we found), and there is also a hammam, though I should point out that the bed part of this is very narrow, and due to the heat of the adjoining wall, the space may not be suitable for larger people!
Dar Habiba gave us a very convenient base from which to explore the heart of old Marrakech. Well placed for both kasbah and the main square, it is a short walk from museums, souks, restaurants and other amenities and allows quick connections by taxi, tour bus or caleche (horse-drawn carriage) to anywhere in the city. The concierge service at the riad was almost always attentive and responsive and on occasions, the help given was over and above the call of duty. Their advice and care was as much or as little as you needed and very much tailored to individual requirements.
Despite its close proximity to all the hustle and action, the Dar Habiba's peaceful interior and private rooftop terrace offer utter sanctuary which truly belies its location. One of the best aspects of our stay was being able to step in and out of the contrasting worlds, where the door onto the street signified an almost mysterious interface between these worlds.
For couples, the riad experience has to be far preferable to that offered by a hotel, which simply won't afford you a sense of the true Marrakech.
Of Marrakech itself, I would say that it is not perhaps a city for the faint-hearted traveller. If you seek an exotic mix of ancient Arab history and culture, of Islamic art and artisan creativity, and if you can take the hardcore street hardsell in good humour, then Marrakech has a wealth of treasures and delights to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    25
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
96
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Dar Habiba over new year. Having stayed in top class hotels all over the world I was a little concerned about booking a riad independently. However, I could not be more impressed by the service that Marrakech riad and mostaffa offered. Emails were slick, the pick up welcome, and the concierge service brilliant. On New Year's Eve mostaffa even stayed up to wait for a text from us to the arrange for the taxi to pick us up from the new town. He even advised us on where to buy and what price to pay for our leather goods.

The riad was beautiful, however, I thinks there are a couple of improvements which would make this place 5 star. The Internet either has a very low download limit or we used it all up very quickly! There was a sewerage smell in the bathroom which was masked by jasmine oil, the Hamman whilst good was quite small, and as such a little uncomfortable for a guy.

Would we stay again? probably. Would we recommend this place? Certainly, especially if mostaffa was still there.

However, this being said, variety is the spice of life, so we'd probably stay somewhere else to have comparison. Marrakech is a superb city!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We had a great time in Dar Habiba, staying for a week. The locations is amazing. Very close to the Djamma el Fna, but distant enough to feel like your own personal oasis. Everything from the booking to the arrival went very smoothly. Andrew answered our emails very quickly and was helpful. Arrival in Marrakech and pickup at the airport was also done with ease. We were on two nights served an excellent meal by the lovely ladies in the kitchen.

But the real star of the show at Dar Habiba was Mostafa. He was the perfect concierge - arranging tours for us, giving directions, recommending places to go, sorting our different odds and ends, bringing tea and even gave us strawberries and bananas for a snack on the plane home. And everything done in a friendly and unobtrusive manner. Like a perfect personal concierge service. The visit to Marrakech would not have been as good without him.

I tried the hamam-service, and was scrubbed clean as a baby. Very nice indeed.

The rooms were very clean and more than large enough. They had enough closet space and had very comfortable beds. The only room for improvement was that at times, there was a slight smell of sewage coming form the drain in the bathroom, but this was less of a problem as long as the door was closed.

Also, there was a problem with the local internet connection, but this was excellently remedied by us getting a 3G-dongle to use while we were there. The 3G net in Marrakech was both stable and fast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My partner and I chose Dar Habiba after looking at the positive reviews and because it seemed like good value compared with a lot of the other riad style hotels we saw online.
We were not disappointed. The booking process was super efficient with Andrew replying to our questions by email in under 15 minutes! At the riad hotel (garden courtyard ) we were amazed by the peaceful atmosphere and the beauty of the arabic architecture. Our room was clean and simple with some unexpected touches of luxury such as the wonderful shampoo and soaps that smelt of orange blossom or jasmin. Mustafa was a great host for us. His English was good and he was incredibly helpful-he helped us to arrange onward transport and gave genuinely good advice on where to eat. But I have to say that the best food that we had during our whole time in Marrakech was Fattihah's wonderful Moroccan banquet that she prepared for us and served beautifully on the candlelit roof terrace-what a magical sight. She is such an amazing cook and her smile is wonderful. We felt very well looked after. Thank you mustafa and Fattihah-we will be back.

Room Tip: The Koutoubia suite is quite a bit larger than the other rooms which we liked as it has a nice sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We booked Dar Habiba for 5 nights for a 50th birthday celebration and were very impressed with the service and dedication of the staff, and authentic decor of the Riad. We were picked up from the airport and taken straight to the Riad where a lovely breakfast was waiting for us! The Riad is in a great location and we made many trips to the square and souks and would recommend the Henna Cafe to anyone (the henna in the square is mixed with chemicals so avoid). On our last night they organised a cake and a bellydancer which was lovely and made the trip unforgettable. Many thanks to all who welcomed us and hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: The middle room on the 1st floor has a lovely celling and is nice and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elenias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband, 10 yr old daughter and I stayed in the Koutubia suite at this riad. It was off-season and the middle of Ramadan and we had the place to ourselves. Beautiful, traditional riad. So peaceful, quiet and cool and an oasis from the chaos of the nearby Djma el Fna square. Owners were very helpful in arranging the booking and we were taken very good care of by the lovely staff. We had dinner at the riad on the first night and it was beautifully cooked and presented. The riad was close enough to all the major tourist spots but we chose the horse and carriage option to explore the city, which was also arranged by the riad. The riad has its own hamam which I tried and was scrubbed to within an inch of my life by the lovely local lady. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We moved here for our last night in Marrakech from the Riad Cinnamon and the staff were so helpful in relocating us to the other side of the city that I couldn't help but smile. The riad is perfectly located for visiting the palaces and as it's in the Jewish part of the city the call to prayer is far enough away to not disturb your sleep. The staff were wonderfully helpful, breakfast was delicious and their recommendations definitely worth taking into account. The riad itself is small but the rooms are a good size and if you are looking for the homely feel of riad life then this is a must stay. It is deliciously ornate with painted wooden shutters and doors, a plunge pool and a lovely roof terrace to escape.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaF0579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Tzarra
Riad Tzarra
#180 of 500 in Marrakech
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#36 of 500 in Marrakech
707 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,210 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 500 in Marrakech
1,983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#52 of 500 in Marrakech
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Habiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Habiba

Property: Dar Habiba
Address: Rue Riad Zituon LkDim | Derb Jdid No. 18, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Habiba 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil English speaking Riad in the perfect location for exploring the Medina and Palaces. Search for Dar Habiba on the web and you’ll see everything we have to offer, including a beautiful candlelit hammam, a roof top terrace garden, spacious courtyard and atmospheric rooms. Our hammam experience, traditional food and personal service are genuinely second to none. We really look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Dar Habiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing